Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park

Spotless kitchen at the Russell Top 10 Holiday Park
Traveller (121)
Kitchen Cabin/ no toilet or shower.
Room & Suite (84)
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

$276
Go to your Happy Price
$276
$276
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 2 campsites in Russell
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park is an award-winning holiday park offering great value accommodation for everyone. It is also NZ's first SMOKE-FREE holiday park and the only park centrally located in Russell, New Zealand's first capital and European settlement. You'll discover fascinating history at every turn, along with significant heritage buildings and historic sites. Russell and the beautiful Bay of Islands is a holiday paradise unequalled in New Zealand for recreational activities and scenic beauty, with a warm welcoming climate.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Boating
Diving
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's playground
BBQ facilities
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Hiking
Snorkelling
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer: Check Availability and Book Direct Now for Preferred Rates!

Location

1 James Street, Russell 0202 New Zealand
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 82 out of 100
82
Kerikeri Airport
16.6 km
See all flights
Whangarei Airport
60.9 km
See all flights
385Reviews1Q+A62Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 281
  • 74
  • 23
  • 5
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Christine P wrote a review Apr 2023
Vancouver, Canada306 contributions210 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Beautiful scenery from the RV sites. The tropical location is really parent with abundant bird life, flowers and tropical plants. The facility was exceptionally clean with great amenities. The staff were some of 5e fireflies t and most hospital le people we have ever met. The short 5 minute walk into town was lovely. The park was quiet and lush. Highly recommend! Beautiful!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Amanda Chapman, General Manager at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 11 May 2023
Thankyou for your amazing review - We as a tem here think we are so lucky to live in such amzing part of NZ, Bird life fish walks restuarnts close to town. We do hope your travels from here were just as good and hopefully see you again one day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katherine d wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
3 generation family staying for a long weekend in a 2 bedroom unit. We have stayed here previously and were pleased to find the usual standard of cleanliness, and comfort. The separate gate to the road is an added bonus so you can head out towards Long Beach without going all the way round the campground to the main exit. The staff had organised a treasure hunt which kept adults and children occupied for 2 hours, and gave us a very thorough look at areas of the ground we hadn't explored before. Beds were clean and comfortable and a portacot provided for the use of the baby. Fridge is a good size and the layout of the unit works well for 3 generations. When making our final arrangements the staff responded quickly, clearly and courteously to our emails.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: This is a camp ground so questions for a hotel don't always apply. There should be an option...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Tilton, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 3 May 2021
Hello Katherine for your review of the park. We're pleased your expectations have been consistently met and that you continue to enjoy making memories with us. We hope to see you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NMH wrote a review May 2022
Liverpool6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After an awful stay at another Top10 Holiday Park earlier in the year, we were reluctant to try another one. However, Top 10 Russell was lovely. We stayed in a kitchen cabin which although basic, was clean and had everything we needed. The grounds, bathroom and kitchen facilities were immaculate. The location is excellent, being walking distance to Russell village and a short ( 5 minute) drive over the hill to Long Beach. The cabins are located on a hill with beautiful views across to Paihia. Thank you Lorraine and Gary for putting our faith back into the Top 10 brand.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Russell TOP, General Manager at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 3 May 2022
Thanks for your 5 star rating - we are really lucky to have staff who are invested in the park as we are. We are always looking to improve - and we look forward to your return maybe oneday.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ByrenAndHarper wrote a review Jan 2021
Sydney12 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My family recently stayed in a tent on a powered site.
We chose this Top10 specifically because it was Pet Friendly for our dog to come along. While the sites are a good size which is our positive - the feedback I have is mostly bad.

The one amenities block and kitchen is based at the top of a very steep hill & set of stairs for the entire holiday park.
This meant that I couldn’t take my baby with me in a pram to use the kitchen, bathroom or laundry.
It became quite a hassle and inconvenience.
I was on my own through the day so I couldn’t use the bathroom at the holiday park. This is not listed anywhere on the website that it isn’t suitable for prams or wheelchairs and I really think this should be updated ASAP.

I asked at a reception what I could do, and what people in a wheelchair do and they said I could walk the long way around the holiday park to get there. Possibly taking 20mins. And that they have never had anyone make the same comment.
There is one bathroom they only give people keys to who are in a wheelchair but I did not qualify for that.
Not good enough.

The laundry I could only use was next to the main reception which is called the Public Laundry.
2 out of 6 washing machines only working. And only 1 dryer was working also. This is peak summer season - possibly worth putting money into necessary appliances for your guests.

The vending machine was empty.

If you do stay - beware ; The bathroom floors are extremely slippery. So much so that I slipped, hit my head and hurt my back. I wasn’t even running. I also mentioned this to reception and the response was they are non slip floors.

It is a great location if you’re wanting to launch your boat or jet ski etc but otherwise I wouldn’t stay here again. And I have no idea how they have a ‘Superior’ status.

I’ve stayed at many Holiday Parks and I found this just didn’t have any of the little extras many other places do.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Tilton, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 21 Jan 2021
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We're very sorry you didn't have a good experience and agree that the service you received does not meet our high standard. I would like to discuss this with you further but was unable to reach you on the number provided. I hope you will respond to my email with your best contact number, so we can work to rectify the issues you have raised.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carl wrote a review Jan 2021
19 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The unit that we stayed in was a bit dated. Other than the refurbished bathroom the unit was in need of a refurb. The couch and carpet needs to be replaced. The kitchen can do with an update too (especially the fridge and stove top). The park also has no pool and a very small play area for kids.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Tilton, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 11 Jan 2021
Thank you Carl for your review. I have sent your comments regarding the couch to the park manager and also your feedback regarding the need for a new fridge and stovetop. We appreciate you putting your thoughts down in writing and for sharing your experience at the park. Wishing you safe and happy future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kim_andrews107 wrote a review Mar 2021
New Zealand42 contributions36 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The recent Tsunami warning and call to higher ground was a situation that highlighted the superb customer service ethos. Staff looked after us all so well= calm friendly organization= ice blocks in the heat, sunscreen, water, updates, care of older people, chatty and fun with children. They opened up all the top cabins for us, provided marmite bread and butter and even a beer. Praise where deserved. Well done team. and thankyou
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Tilton, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 14 Mar 2021
Dear kim_andrews107, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it! We read every review and use both positive feedback and constructive criticism to shape the future of Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park. We hope you have the opportunity to return to experience the park in a less intense environment and we thank you again for this amazing feedback. Regards, Einnee Park Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa V wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A fabulous place to take the kids on a Northland adventure with a large playground and spacious grounds, a selection of beautiful nearby beaches, walks and restaurants, the whole family was happy. We stayed in a standard cabin that was perfect for our family of 5. The holiday park was clean and well looked after. We stayed over Easter Weekend and the staff went the extra mile to cater for young families with a huge blow up water slide, Easter egg hunt and colouring competition. We will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Tilton, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 28 Apr 2021
Dear V5742UUmelissav, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it! We read every review and use both positive feedback and constructive criticism to shape the future of Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park. Regards, Einnee Park Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aviatordeluxe wrote a review Oct 2022
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom15 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite living in England we have been able to visit New Zealand several times. We have twice been to this park and it cannot be beaten; our second visit was planned around it. The view, especially from the top rows, over Russell and across to Paihia is great and the facilities are as good as anywhere. The park is an easy few hundred yards walk from the restaurants in Russell and the wharf with ferries and boats operating trips out into the Bay of Islands. Top 10 parks are of differing standards but this is the very best we have encountered.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Russell TOP, General Manager at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 29 Oct 2022
Thankyou aviatordeluxe, We are so pleased of your return, we do hope you have seen the upgrades for you to enjoy your stay more. We live in an amazing place but we also have a really amazing team working here. If it wasn't for them oour park would not function with such high standards, Thanks for your amazing review and look forward to another return one day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BrentAux wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a powered site, the lot area was too small. Thus, the tents were really close to each other. We need to whisper to each other so our neighbor could not hear our conversation. Imagine we were only given 2 lots for 9 adults and 2 kids (2 families plus 5 adults). Unlike the others, a lot is designated per family. I don't know how it was allocated but unlike in Rotorua top 10 holiday park, we were given twice as big as in Russell. Nice and clean amenities but the kitchen and toilet is on a very steep hill. The place is not something commendable for the elderly.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Tilton, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 4 Feb 2021
Sincerest apologies for the sites booked not accommodating you all comfortably during your recent stay at our park. We are quite pleased to offer additional sites so that you and your family have more space to enjoy your camping experience next time. We appreciate you writing this review and sharing your experience with us. Safe and happy future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vanessa C wrote a review Oct 2020
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand12 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed Friday night of Labour Weekend 2020 with 4 other families in campervans. We loved the camping ground - clean and tidy, great facilities for the kids including trampoline and playground, a short stroll to the restaurants and shops and free hot showers which was a bonus I wasn't expecting. Friendly staff as well. We wish we had been able to stay longer but there is always next time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Daniel Tilton, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Responded 28 Oct 2020
Hello Vanessa and thank you for taking the time to write your review of the park. We sincerely hope you come back one day and spend some more time with us and have the chance to explore some more. Until then safe and happy travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from NextGenHP_Manager
Russell, New Zealand7 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, as this weekend is a long weekend we actually have a 2 night minimum stay. We have a range of accommodation to choose from, however due to the long weekend only our 2 bedroom motels are available. They are priced at $220 per night ($440 total for the stay). If you are interested in camping we have unpowered sites for $45 per night and powered sites for $50 per night. If you want to chat further about your stay you can call us on 0800 148 671.
Pete wrote a tip Nov 2023
Paraparaumu, New Zealand124 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay!!"
Read full review
Camper56816180007 wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you stay here. The facilities and staff were fantastic. "
Read full review
Antonia M wrote a tip Jan 2022
Wellington, New Zealand14 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Noisy over summer holidays. Minimum 7 nights bookings required. Great location for walking to town. Clean facilities."
Read full review
Rowan wrote a tip Aug 2021
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Recommend the motor-home deluxe park up area"
Read full review
Katherine d wrote a tip Apr 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is a camp ground so questions for a hotel don't always apply. There should be an option for not applicable."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Russell area.
PRICE RANGE
$268 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionBay of IslandsRussell
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RUSSELL TOP 10 HOLIDAY PARK - Campground Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Christ Church (0.4 km), Russell Museum (0.5 km), and The Strand Beach (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free internet access, reduced mobility rooms, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a view of a nearby landmark.
What food & drink options are available at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hone's Garden, The Gables Osteria & Enoteca, and Duke of Marlborough.
Is Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Russell.
Are any cleaning services offered at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Pompallier Mission and Printery (0.7 km), Waitangi Treaty Grounds (4.1 km), and Flagstaff Hill (0.7 km).
Does Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Russell HotelsRussell Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RussellHotels near Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire