We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palazzo Motor Lodge

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$122*
US$118*
US$122*
US$122*
US$118*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Palazzo Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

534 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 520: English reviews
Start your review of Palazzo Motor Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice facility, excellent staff, conveniently located to the centre of town. We enjoyed the Easter candy in Easter morning. The hotel is undergoing upgrades and the room we had will have a heat pump installed next week. This will make this facility even better! The staff is so nice and helpful, they make you feel welcome from the minute you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hope S
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments we really appreciate them. As you say we are close to the city centre so an easy stroll to the shops and many restaurants Nelson has to offer. We are looking forward to the heat pumps going into the few rooms that don't have them at the moment, followed soon after by the new...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful modern and clean units. Fantastic hosts Jenny and Murray nothing was any trouble ... stored our suitcases whilst we disappeared for 3 days on Wilsons Abel Tasman tour and found Easter Eggs on our bed Easter Sunday when we returned ...a lovely touch! Our taxi van booking to dinner that evening at The Boatshed was running late and unable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B2898GUjennyh
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us it is very much appreciated. As you say the location is great being so close to many of Nelsons top restaurants and cafes. Our aim is for our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us and it is often the little things that make all the difference....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent place to stay in Nelson , we stayed one night before we went into the Able Tasman Park and one night when we came out, our hosts kept our main luggage while we were away for a couple of nights which was convenient. On our 2nd night our taxi for 6 didn't arrive in time for our dinner reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kev & Natalie, thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was our pleasure to get you to your dinner booking on time. Often when you are on holiday it's the little things that make a difference to the enjoyment of your holiday. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope we...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Throuout the process of booking and staying in the Palazzo Motor lodge we were pleasantly surprised by Jenny and Murray's friendliness, flexibility, and helpfulness. We were a group of 6 people (3 married couples 64 to 69 yrs) holidaying in the Tasman /Nelson area. From the outset we found our choice of accommodation of a high quality and more than...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grahamrbaker1952
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It was great to have you all stay with us and we are really pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We have an excellent team of girls who come in each day to clean our units and we will pass your comments on to them. Our aim is for everyone to leave having had a pleasurable...

Cromwell, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful hosts very friendly and helpful as also had to park a large boat. Could not have been more helpful. Really nice comfortable rooms with excellent free wifi ,multiple sky channels. Rooms serviced every day. Booked for two nights but stayed for five.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 948paul
PalazzoMotorLodge, Manager at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your taking the time to review your stay with us. We really appreciate your comments and are pleased to hear the room was to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again when you are back in Nelson. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Hong Kong
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were so pleasantly surprised by our stay here. In all honesty we'd booked it as a stopover before we went into Abel Tasman (ie with no particular expectations) but everything about our stay was brilliant. It's friendly, furnished with plenty of personality, clean and just feels like home. Couldn't recommend this enough to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barneyinkaz
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We really appreciate your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as our aim is for everyone to go away happy. We hope to see you again if you are back in Nelson sometime. Kind regards Jenny & Murray

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent 5 nights at the Palazzo while attending a conference in Nelson. Upon arrival I found the hosts to be charming and very helpful. They even helped carry my bags and soggy fishing gear to my room! The room itself was beautifully presented, functional and very clean. The spa bath was an added bonus. The best feature however was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philrav73
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - especially the bed. As you say it is a great location being so close to the CBD and the Conference Centre. Just an easy stroll to many of Nelsons top restaurants and shops. We appreciate you taking the time to review your...

Brampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only stayed one night at this motel and our room was not only spacious but very well equipped plus a nice balcony. All fittings were modern including a dishwasher. Spa bath with excellent shower. Lady on reception (Jenny) was absolutely excellent. Location is also really good allowing us to easily walk into the best part of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterLeggett
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say it is a great location being so close to the City centre with its great choice of restaurants and shops. We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again if you are...

Sydney
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Palazzo as part of a touting holiday of the South Island. We received a very warm welcome, great advice on local dining and tourist opportunities, and the use of an excellent room. The standard of cleanliness and quality of the room facilities was high. Although the Palazzo is on one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elliot_Paspalt
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Nelson and the room was to your liking. We have a great location being so close to the City centre and lots of great restaurants. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us and hope to see you back in...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Called to advise that I would be late and was told to get to the hotel as soon as possible. Was there within ten minutes. Arrived to an angry and hostile man who lectured me about how rude it was to wake him up. I admit it was eleven thirty at night and it mustn't have been nice to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Francis Christo... H
PalazzoMotorLodge, Owner at Palazzo Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Our office closes at 9.00pm as is the case with most NZ motels. We tried to phone you at dinner time to check your arrival time. We got no reply so left a message saying our offices closes at 9.00pm and asking you to contact us if you were arriving after that time to arrange a late check in. Having...

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.2 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
646 reviews
0.2 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.0 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
458 reviews
5.9 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.1 km away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Palazzo Motor Lodge offers 16 stylish apartments, each an individual expression of luxury living. Our central Nelson location is ideal for Company Representatives, Business Travelers and we are close to Conference facilities. You can choose from studios, one bedroom apartments and executive apartments. Celebrating a wedding, anniversary or just feel like spoiling yourself? Then come and experience our 'Presidential' or 'Ambassador' suites. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palazzo Motor Lodge

Address: 159 Rutherford Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Price Range: $164 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Motor Hotel Nelson
Palazzo Hotel Nelson
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palazzo Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Two Bedroom Suite is at the back of the lodge and off of the street - very quiet”
HolladayTraveler, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on 1st floor.”
18WendyS, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Presidential suites are top quality spoil yourself and pay the extra.”
sukcir, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“upstairs room the only way to go unless you check that the room you are getting is not going to be affected by noisy drainage.”
mariahU9264UM, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms on par - possibly those at rear my be quieter.”
morswazza, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$118*
View Deal
Booking.comUS$122
Expedia.comUS$118
TripAdvisorUS$118
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates