We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Palms Nelson

5 Paru Paru Road Cnr Halifax and Rutherford Sts., Nelson 7010 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (25)
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#8 of 23 motels in Nelson
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled in the heart of Nelson, New Zealand.The Palms Motel offers you modern, luxury apartments, with a choice of studio, executive or family suite accommodation.Set in landscaped grounds and located close to all local amenities, the Palms Motel gives the holidaymaker or business person the ideal home away from home. 28 Luxury Units/Apartments22 x Studio units: Floor area - 29 sq. metres each4 x 1 Bedroom luxury suites: Floor area - 36 sq. metres each2 x 2 Bedroom family units: Floor area - 73 sq. metres each Room Amenities:• Spa Baths (in 1 bdrm & 2 bdrm suites) • Sky TV • Kitchens in all Units • King & Queen size beds • Electric Blankets • Iron/ironing boards in all units • Satin-jet showers with massage • Hair dryers • Double glazed windows • Direct dial phones with modem access. Wireless internet available throughout complex • Recliner chairs and large flat screen LCD TVs in all units (in the lounge and for your convenience a smaller flat screen TV is located the bedroom)The fully fenced salt-swimming-pool is solar heated in summer and features a safe toddler’s pool. Also in the pool area is a large electric barbecue and dining area to use at your leisure. There is a guest laundry, plenty of off road parking and we are adjacent to many recreational facilities, for example there is a Supermarket directly across the street, along with Nelson Public Library and the famous Nelson Saturday Market is just 2 minutes walking distance. We are located just 100m from Nelson’s central shopping area with an abundance of choice for cafes restaurants and shopping. Tahuna Beach is just 5 minutes’ drive away.Your Host Cheryl has more than 20 years’ experience in the hospitality industry and understands travel and holiday needs intimately. Her aim is to make your stay comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Tennis court
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Modern
Languages Spoken
English
238Reviews0Q+A42Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 135
  • 79
  • 12
  • 6
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
AucklandRose wrote a review Dec 2023
auckland619 contributions99 helpful votes
Excellent service right from booking to stay. We had a family group of seven adults and Robyn organised two side by side units which perfectly suited our situation. All admin staff very friendly and helpful. The units were extremely clean and well appointed for our needs. With a supermarket across the road and a walk of ten minutes into town this was a great position. Highly recommend and would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Hakamix wrote a review Nov 2023
Helsinki, Finland116 contributions66 helpful votes
Two nights at this very good Palms Nelson Motel. We had first floor studio twin room. Clean, quiet and comfortable room. Kitchen was well equipped, nice bathroom. Location was very good, too. Supermarket is across the street. Trafalgar Street, cafes and restaurants within walking distance. There is nice walking and/or jogging walkway along the river. Big plus was friendly service.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Steve Gardiner, General Manager at Palms Nelson
Responded 26 Nov 2023
Thank you for your kind review Hakamix. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future :) Thanks heaps, Brooke & Gardy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alicia G wrote a review Jul 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Terrible one nite yeh ok otherwise don’t waste your money no microwave no toaster I got a family deluxe room and there was absolutely nothing deluxe about it apparently sleeps 5 lucky we only had 3 5 people would have been ridiculous no staff on site no clean towels or linen on stays wouldn’t recommend to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cheryl Brundell, General Manager at Palms Nelson
Responded 12 Jul 2023
You have obviously reviewed the wrong motel. #1 we don't have family deluxe rooms...... we have 2 bedroom apartments. #2 all our rooms have everything you need in a kitchen including toasters and microwaves. #3 the 2 bedroom apartments have a queen bed in the main bedroom, 2 single beds in the second bedroom and a single bed in the lounge. (sleeps 5) #4 There is staff on site, We have cleaning staff that work everyday of the year. rooms are serviced daily which includes clean towels etc. Regards Robyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
serene23539 wrote a review May 2023
Wellington, New Zealand42 contributions7 helpful votes
Lots of nice little touches: room sanitizer spray, bedside lamps, kitchen hot plate, milk in glass bottles; bathroom had leg-shaving footstool in shower, grooming mirror, toiletries in refillable pump bottles, paper bin bag (eco friendly). Sky TV. Everything clean and comfortable. Good location, easy 5-10 mins walking distance from town centre, Countdown supermarket across the road. Receptionist (maybe owner?) was nice and friendly
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
humbleperfection wrote a review Feb 2023
Perth31 contributions7 helpful votes
This is a spotless place with excellent amenities. Robyn, the manager is very accommodating. It is well positioned at the edge of the commercial area. Only little issue was the wifi needing to be logged in all the time, but that is only a first world problem, or just me. Would certainly stay here if we came this way again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jen D wrote a review Jan 2023
Palmerston North, New Zealand53 contributions27 helpful votes
Awesome motel in the heart of Nelson. Easy walk to the city. Great accommodation and having a pool was a plus. The rooms were very comfortable - we booked a studio upstairs and had our own balcony. Opposite to Countdown supermarket - so bought breakfast supplies there. Would highly recommend this accommodation!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: We enjoyed the upstairs rooms with balcony
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Robert Fisk wrote a review Dec 2022
Mosgiel, New Zealand130 contributions54 helpful votes
We took an upstairs room for four nights. The room had a lounge, a bedroom and a bathroom. It was beautifully designed and suited us for our four-night stay. The parking was more than adequate. The motel is right in the city on a quiet street, Reception was excellent. There is no restaurant but a wide selection of food is available nearby. A supermarket is across the road.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: We liked being upstairs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ann m wrote a review Dec 2022
7 contributions
Very good motel. Had 2 bed apartment. Best we stayed in over our 3 weeks in NZ. Nice little pool. Parking. Nearby supermarket. Spotlessly clean. Great shower. Comfy beds. Good sized kitchenette with lots of equipment. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Craig and Tressa wrote a review Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The room was very clean, and the bed is very comfortable. Would stay here again. The room has a big TV with sky. So, there is a lot to watch. I never heard any noise through the walls, from the adjacent rooms. This is a positive future, Great motel and hosts would stay again. Lisa and Matt went over and above to help me. Highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
G0ldie66 wrote a review Jan 2022
Auckland, New Zealand87 contributions45 helpful votes
Another faultless stay at Palms Motel, very clean comfortable rooms, great location in the centre of town, short walk to shops/eateries, fabulous amenities especially the generous toiletries and wonderful hosts - thanks again Cheryl & Robyn
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nelson area.
PRICE RANGE
$174 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
palms hotel nelson
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandNelson-Tasman RegionNelson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PALMS NELSON - Now $174 (Was $̶1̶9̶3̶) - UPDATED 2023 Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Palms Nelson
Which popular attractions are close to Palms Nelson?
Nearby attractions include Nelson Saturday Market (0.4 km), Craft Beer Depot (0.1 km), and Wall To Wall Art Nelson (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Palms Nelson?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Palms Nelson?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Palms Nelson?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Palms Nelson?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palms Nelson?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nysa Turkish Restaurant, Tides Bar and Eatery, and Hardy St Eatery.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Palms Nelson?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Palms Nelson located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Nelson.
Are any cleaning services offered at Palms Nelson?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Palms Nelson?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Provincial Museum (0.5 km).
Is Palms Nelson accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.