Mid City Motor Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mid City Motor Lodge

218 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010 New Zealand
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#41 of 41 hotels in Nelson
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
• We commit providing quality accommodation at reasonable price • You can find us right at the centre of Nelson city. We are just in front of the famous Nelson Saturday Market, a few hundreds of meters from the Nelson Cathedral Church, NMIT, and supermarkets. • Each studio unit is generously up to 35 m2 with a kitchenette. All units are ensuites.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Room service
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Vietnamese

Location

218 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010 New Zealand
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 98 out of 100
98
Nelson Airport
Blenheim Airport
56.1 km
See all flights
29Reviews0Q+A4Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 5
  • 3
  • 10
  • 4
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
robyn94 wrote a review Mar 2020
Wellington, NZ41 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This place costs $99 a night and I’m here because I couldn’t get a single room in the YHA. I’ve been on a 5 day tramp and need a hot shower and a comfortable bed. This place has these things, and a TV and an iron, which the YHA would not. But it’s very tatty and kind of weird. No one on reception.... instructions to ring a number-but the phone doesn’t work .. the window in my room is at least 5 foot from the floor. The single fluorescent light bulb is flickering. There is a hole in the carpet, the paint work is chipped. But the room is large, the bed linen is good, and it’s clean. I guess it’s all you can expect for $99.00.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jane wrote a review Dec 2020
Kerikeri, New Zealand203 contributions79 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location in the heart of pretty Nelson. Motel not great, rooms were reasonable size but not very clean, and the kitchen area was very poor. Beds were quite comfortable but very low down as no legs or feet on them. Luckily we only stayed one night. Won't be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anne Anderson wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room had mould on windows, room smelt of urine. Dishes dirty, no teatowel or dishcloth to clean them with. No flannels supplied. Linnen stained on single bedding. I won't be back. Would not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JoeyBizwiz wrote a review Jan 2018
Colchester, United Kingdom71 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The second worst hotel I have stayed in during my life!!
Motor is a misnomer as there is no car park
Very tatty and dirty and when we arrived around 1800 reception was locked and barred and a tatty note had been left with a key with an illegible number
Had they not already taken payment (!) we would have turned tail and left at once!!
Room was horrible - bit like a flop house
Avoid it like the plague
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Happy2510, General Manager at Mid City Motor Lodge
Responded 4 Feb 2018
Dear JoeyBizwiz, Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our motel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are sorry that we are not at the front desk at 6 pm but leaving keys and the instructions to you. We do have a phone number and a two-way interactive doorbell to contact us at the entrance door and at the reception so that you may call us if you need our help. But perhaps you did not see them. In addition, besides the 5-minute walk free parking we offered you, we have several options for car parks which are nearer such as Montgomery carparks or Buxton car parks but because we did not have a chance see you, we could not discuss them with you. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the room that need updating. It is a pleasure to announce that we will be implementing many of these upgrades to the property within the next couple of months. Our rooms will be getting new carpeting, in-room accessories, and much more! In taking great care of our motel, our main priority is to be able to offer a very well-maintained and comfortable atmosphere. We hope that we can discuss with you further about your ideas. Please reach out to us directly at happyseednz@gmail.com. With much appreciation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
No one at reception just a grill and filthy chair! Bell to ring which after 6 rings gave in and rang them. 15 minutes later someone finally appears. Stayed in L2, room 8. Beds so old need replacing. No hot water. Glass missing above door way. Freezing room. Door that couldn’t be closed. Extremely high ceilings which doesn’t help with heating. Complained, moved rooms. Went to L1, room 2 which is the one they use in their ad. Inadequate heating and fan heater that didn’t work! Had to take duvet off spare bed to get warm enough. Mould on window frames and some door frames. More terrible beds. A generator starts up at 4.14 am and shuts off at 5.15 am. Left after one night. Place should be pulled down. Also a lift that makes shocking noise when moves. Doubt it is compliant. I should have looked at Trip Advisor, as wouldn’t have stayed. Don’t want anyone else having to put up with that. If it was a rental property it would totally fail.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: There isn’t one!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aqua23 wrote a review Apr 2019
Franz Josef, New Zealand41 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
we have 2rooms which is room 1 & 2, room 2 was fine but the the beds are uncomfortable, and its to hot in the room plus its noisy by 4am on the other building but this is the worst one don't ever stay in room 1 first when we arrive there was a dirty tissue in beside the bed, second the carpet was not really clean, third the exhaust fan was not working, lastly most of the cups and glasses are dirty. and the last one the mirror in the toilet was dirty im not how they clean the room. I gave you 2stars because the price and place was not bad but you need to renovate your room. I think its just only 1 person working here. sorry but will not definitely come back to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
girlmetboy wrote a review Apr 2019
Nelson, New Zealand6 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi we arrived at 4pm and room had dirty linen in doorway kitchen not clean and table not clean with rubbish in both areas Single bed looked like it had been pulled up so went to tell them and was sorry by a wee Asian lady said room clean 👎not by any standard and reception had dirty old cobwebs everywhere never ever stay here they try to tell us that $5 was a $2 coin when getting money back 😂😂👎👎👎
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mack51Kent wrote a review Feb 2020
Staplehurst, United Kingdom183 contributions89 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
To be honest, we were a bit shocked when we opened the door to our room - it looked so basic and dated. However, we have to say that the room was clean and comfortable and had sufficient storage space etc. The single beds (1 double and 2 singles in the room) reminded us of old style hospital beds, they were that dated! There were plenty of sockets for charging phones etc and a dressing table with mirror.

The bathroom facilities were fine - a small shower but lots of hot water available.

We didn't really use the kitchen other than to make a cup of tea each day but there were some basic cooking facilities and a toaster.

The thing about this motel is its location, right in the centre of Trafalgar Street - just step out of the building into the city. Also free parking, albeit a couple of streets away.

You get what you pay for and we only paid around £45 per night but with its central location we reckon that's a bargain. Don't judge a book by its cover - it really was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bre wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Disgusting. Went for a family holiday with daughter who is only one, the room had not been cleaned black mould growing everywhere, all the dishes had grim and the beds looked like they had just been pulled up and not made at all!! Rubbish everywhere talked to the little Asian lady about it and she did not care at all . Was very rude when asking her to clean it so left a day early as it was unhygienic and should definitely be shut down! Refused to give our money back and very rude staff AVIOD AT ALL COST!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mei C wrote a review Feb 2018
Sydney, Australia23 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Right in middle of nelson CBD, room is very spacious for two of us. Kitchen is clean too. Owner kindly helped us pick up gas that we ordered online from the shop Torpedo7, this meant a lot for us otherwise we would be eating dehydrated food in cold water, we really appreciated it. It is a very quiet hotel and we all had nice sleep to start our hike. Will definitely stay there again if go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Chris wrote a tip Jun 2019
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There isn’t one!"
Read full review
HKinsey wrote a tip Mar 2019
Paraparaumu, New Zealand707 contributions231 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooftop room"
Read full review
yehudi2014 wrote a tip Dec 2018
Hastings, New Zealand66 contributions36 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your own stretcher or mattress!"
Read full review
jaredtwidle55 wrote a tip Jan 2018
Blenheim, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nelson area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandNelson-Tasman RegionNelson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MID CITY MOTOR LODGE - Hotel Reviews (Nelson) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mid City Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Mid City Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Queen's Gardens (0.2 km), Nelson Saturday Market (0.1 km), and Nelson Provincial Museum (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mid City Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and room service.
Is parking available at Mid City Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mid City Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nysa Turkish Restaurant, Babagatto, and Hopgoods & Co.
Is Mid City Motor Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.10 km away from the centre of Nelson.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mid City Motor Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Vietnamese.
Are there any historical sites close to Mid City Motor Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Nelson Provincial Museum (0.1 km).
Is Mid City Motor Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Nelson HotelsNelson Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in NelsonHotels near Mid City Motor Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire