We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tasman Bay Backpackers

Save
Share
10 Weka Street, Nelson 7010 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 51 Speciality lodging in Nelson
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The fire is roaring, the atmosphere's relaxed, the hostel's warm, spacious yet homely. Just like your favourite café - great music, friendly, genuine people. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Inner sprung mattresses throughout the hostel. Free All you can eat Winter Breakfast (May to November). Free Wireless internet (April to November). Free use of bikes for exploring. Off-street parking. Central but quiet location.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bicycles available
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German
282Reviews2Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 195
  • 66
  • 12
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
getdihere wrote a review Nov 2019
Kerikeri, New Zealand608 contributions62 helpful votes
+1
Excellent place to stay. Everything about this place is outstanding. From the moment we arrived with a warm welcome everything was never any bother. Large kitchen, comfortable beds clean bathrooms, nice outdoor area to relax. Owners helped every way they can with advice and support plus suggestions. Top place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Kevin S wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom39 contributions25 helpful votes
Traditional backpackers with really friendly and kind staff. We felt very welcomed. There were a lot of people staying there at the time and about 50% seemed to have guitars and were keen to play them, all the time. Maybe this is your kind of thing but it’s not mine
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
simpleas1992 wrote a review Aug 2019
Wellington, New Zealand13 contributions14 helpful votes
I have been contemplating whether to leave this review or not, but after thinking it through I am still frustrated. My partner and I booked her for 2 nights. We were traveling down by car on the ferry. My partner was in a crash so we had to cancel. I called and canceled the reservation as well as canceled through Booking.com. Few days later received an email advising of no show and I had been charged for 1 night? I called the property and was told 2 bookings were made, I advised the manager of our situation and he said to call Booking.com. Booking.com advised that the booking had glitches and processed 2 times on different dates but as the property had charged they couldn’t refund. They called the property and told them what had happened. The manager refused to refund and
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TasmanBayBP, Manager at Tasman Bay Backpackers
Responded 21 Aug 2019
Hi Frances! There seems to be a misunderstanding here. When you called 2 weeks after you noticed that you were charged, you never mentioned that you called the property directly beforehand to make a cancellation. If you would kindly supply a call log from your phone that shows this, we would of course have cancelled the reservation free of charge. As it is, we got 2 reservations from you through booking.com for different dates. One was cancelled online free of charge, but the second booking for a different date was never cancelled by you. If there was a glitch at booking.com, they have certainly never advised us of that glitch. Again could you please provide proof of the statement that booking.com has said there was a software glitch please.Lastly, when you called we tried to explain that because we held your reservation for that night, no one else could have booked this room, which left us with an empty and unsold room for that night and therefore lost income.For this we charged according to our cancellation policy. At no time did we say we were fully booked. Feel free to email us directly if you have further questions.Thanks and kind regards
Read more
Alli Kat H wrote a review Aug 2019
Dunedin, New Zealand21 contributions3 helpful votes
It was a nice friendly and clean place to stay on a budget. Being close to town it was convenient but quiet. They do a bonus of a chocolate pudding every night and although I didn’t get to try it it smelt great.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Coastal583983 wrote a review May 2019
16 contributions
This is an absolutely lovely hostel! I stayed here either side of a hike in Abel Tasman and it was so nice to come back to a familiar, homely place after my hike. They also offer free luggage storage which was very helpful! The hostel is very clean with lots of space indoors and outdoors. There is also (delicious) free chocolate pudding and ice cream every night which was such a treat. Loved this hostel!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from georgiep10, Owner at Tasman Bay Backpackers
Responded 14 May 2019
Yay so happy you enjoyed all these things and had a great time at our hostel. It's a priority for us that people feel welcome and that it is 'homely' so great to hear that you found this. Happy onward travels.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$36 - US$48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tasman bay backpackers hotel nelson
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandNelson-Tasman RegionNelson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing