We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tasman Bay Backpackers

Save
Share
10 Weka Street, Nelson 7010 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$52
View deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 51 Speciality lodging in Nelson
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The fire is roaring, the atmosphere's relaxed, the hostel's warm, spacious yet homely. Just like your favourite café - great music, friendly, genuine people. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Inner sprung mattresses throughout the hostel. Free All you can eat Winter Breakfast (May to November). Free Wireless internet (April to November). Free use of bikes for exploring. Off-street parking. Central but quiet location.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bicycles available
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German
282Reviews2Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 195
  • 66
  • 12
  • 7
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
myrnanikita wrote a review Mar 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand5 contributions
I only stayed here for one night. Adding one person to the double room so everyone had a bed to sleep on was no problem at all. The hostel has a nice, spacious sitting room and kitchen. Everything is nice and clean and there is good, free WiFi available. The only downside was the number of toilets and showers. There were not enough on the ground floor (only 2 toilet/shower rooms).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from TasmanBayBP, Owner at Tasman Bay Backpackers
Responded 23 Apr 2018
Hi there myrnanikita, Thxs for your review. We're very gald you found us accommodating re your sleeping arrangements and enjoyed most others things about our hostel. Re the number of showers/toilets downstairs I'm not sure I've ever heard this so I'm sorry to hear that was your experience. From your feedback we will put a little sign to let guests know that there are lots more showers/toilets upstairs for those times when there are many people wanting a shower at the same time - I'm guessing this will solve the problem if/when it arises again. Enjoy the rest of your travels. --- The TBB Team
Read more
Deep1122 wrote a review Feb 2018
Playa del Carmen, Mexico71 contributions14 helpful votes
This hostel is very clean & well-run with nice rooms & good facilities. The lounges & patios are spacious & encourage mingling amongst guests! The guy at the front desk was friendly & knowledgeable & the hostel is located in a quiet neighbourhood.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Helpful
Share
JRamsey0 wrote a review Feb 2018
England, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed here about 2 weeks ago and the hostel is in an okay location and the staff were very nice, but unfortunately it was way to hot and we had to go to the local shop to buy ourselves some fans as the hostel didn’t provide any. The bed sheets were so dirty and stained we had to sleep in our sleeping bags. It’s very loud with all the other guests so you won’t get a great sleep and during that night the fire alarm went off at 4am. The bonus from this hostel is that they give you free bikes to travel around.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TasmanBayBP, Manager at Tasman Bay Backpackers
Responded 11 Feb 2018
Hi there JRamsey, Thank you for the time to review our hostel. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay. As you might have heard, Nelson has had the hottest January ever since records started. That has led to many people enjoying sitting outside longer than they should have had. Sorry about that. However, we would like to point out that our hostel does have a fan available on request at reception, just not one in every room since this is not normally necessary if temperatures are what they are normally are. We are shocked to hear that you found your sheets not clean, that should not happen and we are not sure how this could have happened since we wash them upon every checkout. If you told us at the time, we would of course have changed them for you straight away. That the fire alarm went off is something that you will understand we have no control over, as this gets set off by someone activating the smoke detectors. Again, please accept our apologies if you haven't enjoyed your stay and we wish you a safe journey through New Zealand.
Read more
sonnykumar wrote a review Feb 2018
Surfers Paradise, Australia52 contributions44 helpful votes
Tasman Bay Backpackers is perfect for young travellers on a budget. It has all the usual amenities, very clean and well maintained. They serve up a free chocolate pudding and ice cream in the evening which is a real treat! And it is not too far from the city, which offers plenty of great eating and drinking options.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Aldous D wrote a review Jan 2018
Whenuapai, New Zealand184 contributions76 helpful votes
I will preface this review with, on the face of it, this place looks pretty good. The communal areas are clean & tidy and reasonably well-appointed. However, we had the absolute worst night's sleep here in anywhere we have stayed around the world. We were in one of the double rooms, but immediately outside the window was a communal seating area and this was used solidly by various groups from 8pm until 5am. The rules listed in the room says not to use this area (and to use the area behind the backpackers, near the kitchen) after 10pm, but obviously these rules are not displayed or enforced. There were multiple groups using the seats, talking (loudly, mostly in German and French) and smoking until 0500. Also, the walls between the rooms are genuinely paper-thin. Nothing like
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from TasmanBayBP, Owner at Tasman Bay Backpackers
Responded 2 Feb 2018
Thank you Aldous D for your feedback - though not our usual good feedback we do really appreciate it and will make changes based on it. Firstly I apologise sincerely that you had a bad night's sleep at our hostel. We take a lot of pride in making our hostel one of the best and trying to ensure that everyone has a good stay. Most feedback we get acknowledges this, guests do enjoy it and do sleep well so it was a real shock to read your comments. Here's some of my thoughts. It has been the hottest January on record which has created some issues for us. At times people are staying out in the cool instead of being inside which as you say, can be very irritating to others. Also at times the rooms have been very warm which is again so unusual for Nelson - usually the temperature drops at night time making it a really pleasant climate but not this last month. Same with the fridge space - usually this is not a problem but with it being so warm guests are wanting to store much more of their food in the fridge creating a higher demand. Thankfully the temperature has dropped so many of these problems will fix themselves. Re other noise you mention we will look into this and will take extra care to try to ensure people do not make so much noise in those areas you mention. Again sincere apologies. Georgina (Owner)
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$36 - US$48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
tasman bay backpackers hotel nelson
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandNelson-Tasman RegionNelson
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing