We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ascot Motel Oamaru

Save
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (19)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Ratings and reviews
Ratings
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers talk about
“heat pump”(5 reviews)
“the main road”(6 reviews)
“queen bed”(2 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Room Service
Suites
Bar/Lounge
Kitchenette
Spa
Accessible rooms
Business Centre
Self-Serve Laundry
3 Star Hotel
One of Oamaru's largest motels - 27 units FREE WIFI and 50 plus SKY TV Channels. New local owners in on 1st July 2016, new name to go with the major overhaul happening at the moment. All rooms painted, day-core upgraded. A variety of options from standard studios suitable for...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
500A Thames Highway, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
10 restaurants are within a 2 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
5
20
9
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
5
20
9
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheat pumpthe main roadqueen bedstay there againroomytownchristchurchpillowssupermarketkitchen
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Rung up got a good deal. 2 singles and a queen bed. Handy location, electric blankets, tempermental heatpump, no sky movies, good bath, leaky toilet, moths in light fixture, electric blanket on queen bed doesn't work, not too bad for the price. Would stay again...More

Thank Travis B
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We had booked this motel months in advance for the Steampunk Festival, we run a business and have a stall at the Steampunk market so this is a very important weekend for us. We received a call from booking.com at 5pm telling us that there...More

2  Thank Jade W
Response from Marjorie F, Manager at Ascot Motel OamaruResponded 4 weeks ago

I am very sorry for the experience you have had. I am one of the people who does the desk when Richard isn't there. I know how very frustrating it can be. We don't actually put the bookings on the computer. When you go thru...More

Reviewed 1 June 2018

Indeed the motel does not look that great from the outside. It is old. Now I got a unit at the back when I asked if there were some rooms at the back. Very quiet and unfortunately I am very noise sensitive. A great stay....More

Thank ErickW
Response from Marjorie F, Manager at Ascot Motel OamaruResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Erick, thank you for reviewing out Motel, so glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again. All the Best.

Reviewed 21 February 2018

This motel is undoubtedly one of the worst we have every stayed in in NZ! Whilst the reception staff were friendly enough the room we had was absolutely terrible. No window (other than the front door out onto the general first floor balcony & casual...More

Thank Chris C
Response from Marjorie F, Manager at Ascot Motel OamaruResponded 23 February 2018

Sorry you feel that way , you did get one of the oldest rooms. We have recently taken over the motel and have renovated 5 rooms to the highest professional standard possible. TIKI TANE stayed here and could not say enough about how happy he...More

Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Ascot Oamaru Motel for a week in February. The rooms are quite comfortable. The bathroom is a little bit dated but roomy. Staff are very friendly. There is a restaurant next door which has some nice meals (see my Galleon restaurant review)....More

Thank Pete_Mish1
Response from Marjorie F, Manager at Ascot Motel OamaruResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for commenting on your stay. All the best, hope to see you again. kind regards,

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Room Service
Meeting Rooms
Business Centre with Internet Access
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Casino and Gambling
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Price range
US$76 - US$103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$76 - US$103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (19)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ascot Motel Oamaru staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"If you must stay here check your room before paying! Ours had no windows & was extremely noisy all night!"
Read review
"We had 22 which was upstairs which i hate. There were similar rooms downstairs. We only needed a queen but..."
Read review
"Look first"
Read review
"Back rooms further from main road so quieter."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing