We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waitaki Waters Holiday Park

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waitaki Waters Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Start your review of Waitaki Waters Holiday Park
 Click to rate
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as a quick overnite rest on our south island road trip. We had just got off a flight from Sydney in Christchurch at around 7pm and had to drive the 3 or so hours to get here. After getting lost we made it to a simple but delightful little campground where we were met by the manager...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
Karen L, Owner at Waitaki Waters Holiday Park, responded to this review

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you back :-)

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We are travelling in a car with a small tent, we usually opt for the quieter sites with good flat grass to pitch the tent on. We checked out the 2 sites in Oamuru and decided they were not for us to big or busy so drove on and found Waitaki Waters which suited us down to the ground, lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katyguest2016
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Quite small caravan park on the outskirts of Oamuru. Very clean with all the facilities needed. We booked a cabin with a toilet, the toilet is situated outside the cabin, which does defeat the purpose of getting one to start with. The rooms are freezing. Neither of us could sleep at all, even with the bar heater. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Young_and_Free_85
Karen L, Owner at Waitaki Waters Holiday Park, responded to this review

sorry to hear you were cold, we do supply extra blankets and would have been happy to hire you one, the toilet with the cabin means you don't have to walk to the toilet and shower blocks, having it separate right outside the door afforded some level of privacy

Reviewed 1 February 2017

Ripoff WiFi, the wifi provider had metered the data to run out quickly, and the holiday park manager had been trained up to blame the devices you used. One bar of 3G cell coverage no data there ever. Don't believe the 12min from Oamaru, you would have to be well over the speed limit to do that in 12mins. Probably...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl D
Karen L, Owner at Waitaki Waters Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi Carl, I am sorry you had problems with your wifi, we understand how important wifi is to our guests hence we have sourced the best available wifi for the rural area we live in for our guests, we however cannot be expected to know how you use your wifi once it is purchased (I believe it was $3) and...

Tampere, Finland
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Lovely place 15mins drive from Oamaru. Stayed for two nights with our two year old daughter in a cabin. Warm and clean cabin and had own toilet beside which was handy. Shared facilities tidy and washing machine is free to use. Showers very spacious and hot water doesn't run out. Kitchen fully equipped and bbq outside. Sheltered eating areas also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eeva V
Karen L, Owner at Waitaki Waters Holiday Park, responded to this review

thank you I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, come back soon :-)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2017

When I booked this camp site online I didn't really check the location, so thought it was in Oamaru. It's not - it's quite a way outside the town and off the beaten track. Do give it a try. The owner was lovely and I suspect had waited around for me to show up (late!) which I had not expected....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila H
Karen L, Owner at Waitaki Waters Holiday Park, responded to this review

thanks for your review of our park, we love being a little way from Oamaru and all the crowds! Lots of room on our country block :-)

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Nice wee campsite out of oamaru. The new owner was really lovely and helpful. Had plenty room to pitch our tent with plenty of space from anyone else in the area. The showers were amazing, unlimited hot water with fantastic pressure! Quiet spot close enough to oamaru which is perfect. Really recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hana H
Karen L, Owner at Waitaki Waters Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thankyou I am glad you enjoyed your stay :-)

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We had a great nights stay here. Plenty of space, nice and quiet too. Lovely owner, makes you feel really welcome and has a friendly dog. Great, free hot showers. Kitchen to use, tv area and free washing machine. Good location, not far from the beach and Oamaru centre.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caz281988
Karen L, Owner at Waitaki Waters Holiday Park, responded to this review

I am so pleased ot hear you enjoyed your stay have a great trip :-) Karen

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Stayed in one of the little units was very good. The owner was super helpful, and provided very good advice. The park is a couple of minutes walk from the beach and river. We saw a dolphin when we walked along the beach.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nglenjarman
Karen L, Owner at Waitaki Waters Holiday Park, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, seeing a dolphin must have been an added bonus! Wishing you happy and safe travels :-)

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 December 2016

Can highly recommend this Holiday Park .....If you are wanting g to get away from the Big Commercial Holiday Parks , and stay in a Privately owned smaller Resting place ...this is it , it is one of the cleanest I have seen , quiet, well maintained and friendly . It is surrounded by tall thick hedges, so very sheltered...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenni D
Karen L, Owner at Waitaki Waters Holiday Park, responded to this review

thanks for your review I am so pleased you had a great time here :-) Karen

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oamaru
43.5 km away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
35 reviews
21.8 km away
Oamaru Top 10 Holiday Park
3.7 km away
Glenavys Waitaki River Motor Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.2 km away
Riverside Haven Lodge & Holiday Park
19.1 km away
Chillawhile Backpackers Art Gallery
19.3 km away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cheap, cheerful and clean holiday park in a great location with excellent facilities, and the beach and river only a short walk away. Immaculate facilities, 50 + powered sites, 50 + tent sites, 8 cabins sleeping 1 to 8 people (free Wi-Fi in cabins). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waitaki Waters Holiday Park

Address: 305 Kaik Road | Waitaki, Oamaru 9493, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Price Range: $47 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waitaki Waters Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Waitaki Waters Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waitaki Waters Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabins and campsites”
carld226, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
1 of 1