We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
126 Thames Street, Oamaru 9400 New Zealand
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (47)
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 25/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Poshtel
Updated 25/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Oamaru
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Conveniently located in the heart of Oamaru, a short walk to cafes, bars, the historic precinct, Steam Punk HQ and the Alps to Ocean Cycle Trail, Oamaru Poshtel is a newly created Boutique Hotel for the discerning traveller looking for good value but also a sophisticated and unique place to stay. We offer 15 rooms with a mix of suites, superior king and deluxe rooms, providing various combinations with adjoining rooms for groups or families. All rooms have their own bathroom with shower, and guests have access to a shared dining space. The perfect hotel from which to explore Oamaru and the surrounding area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Shared kitchen
Self-serve laundry
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
72Reviews2Q+A8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 57
  • 6
  • 6
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Titanguy wrote a review Jul 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
The place itself is very well appointed. Don't stay in the double room out the back unless you like the sound of forklifts from the Countdown loading bay early in the morning. The emergency exit sign was blaring in my eyes all night. The shower door needs to be inside the shower as a seal is missing or you will be swimming out of the bathroom. Cold floor in winter. No onsite parking. Our car was on the street. Not good enough. If you want service when out in the communal lounge area don't bother ringing the bell on the desk. I did this twice and then eventually had to telephone the owners to get them to come out and serve us. I said I rang the bell twice to be told by the lady she was deaf and anyway, was in the middle of their dinner! Sorry to be an inconvenience to them. Maybe they should choose another career than hospitality. Tea bags not replaced. No milk for the second night. Just my 2 cents.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley McGonigle, General Manager at Poshtel
Responded 1 week ago
You were bad tempered from the moment you stepped into the hotel. I apologised profusely that I didn't hear the bell and explained I was going deaf and we were preparing dinner. You were nasty and obviously my light hearted explanation annoyed you because we should have been at the desk 24/7. We have been in hospitality all of our lives but when faced with nasty people like yourself, we always turn the cheek. But in your case I am not going to.
Read more
JTn wrote a review Jul 2022
83 contributions16 helpful votes
Very friendly team and a beautiful building - we really enjoyed our stay. Visited the little blue penguins and had a beer at Scott’s. The steam punk museum was a bit of fun as well. The hotel is well located and easy to find with parking around the back in the countdown carpark. We had a great nights sleep and carried on the next day.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley McGonigle, General Manager at Poshtel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay Jason. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that we see you here at Poshtel again one day. Kind Regards
Read more
andimckinney wrote a review May 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand117 contributions69 helpful votes
+1
Beautiful renovated building, quirky and luxurious at the same time. Friendly hosts Comfortable beds, warm, all the amenities to make for a lovely stay. Surprise breakfast included which was simple but great. Highly recommend everything about this place
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley McGonigle, General Manager at Poshtel
Responded 14 May 2022
Many thanks for reviewing your stay at Poshtel, So glad you have highly recommended Poshtel, it was our pleasure hosting your stay. Kind Regards
Read more
Nicholas C wrote a review Apr 2022
Blenheim, New Zealand3 contributions
I stayed for a couple of nights a week ago. The art and collections were great and unique. The room was clean and beautifully furnished with a great bathroom. Unfortunately there was no air-conditioning and the noise from the main road is deafening when opening the windows. My suggestion to the owner is to install airconditioning and retrofit double glazing and you will have an amazing venue.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley McGonigle, General Manager at Poshtel
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Thank you for your review and for your comments on the art and collections we do love it when guests appreciate the memorabilia. We do have air-conditioning installation scheduled mid-year.
Read more
Susan R wrote a review Mar 2022
6 contributions4 helpful votes
Hotel is eclectic with themed rooms. Hosts also very friendly. Unfortunately we had sleepless night as room very hot with no airflow. There was double glazed window which could slide open to the original windows, but these didn't open!! Light in bathroom also turned on the fan which stayed on for 5 minutes after light was turned off. This didn't help when trying to get back to sleep. Also lots of road noise.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley McGonigle, General Manager at Poshtel
Responded 2 Apr 2022
Hi Susan many thanks for your review of Poshtel. As the hotel is on the main road we do have hush glass installed in the rooms, however, in order to keep the integrity of the building, the original windows behind the hush glass do open so that our guests can get some fresh air if they would like - I am unsure what may have happened in your room for that not to have been the case but please accept our apologies. We are very sorry that you didn't get a better sleep as it is always a priority for us that guests have the best stay possible. I do hope that we may be able to welcome you to Poshtel again in the future.
Read more
Ross and Shez wrote a review Jan 2022
Dunedin, New Zealand1 contribution
Our room was on the first level and next to the main road, was like a sauna and when we opened the windows we got all the noise...couldn't win! With only a fan on high to cool us down, we still cooked... the only downside of our stay. Loved the quirky bedside lights, toilet roll holder and the birds hanging in the foyer. Art Gallery was also good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Being on the main road I think all rooms would be noisy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley McGonigle, General Manager at Poshtel
Responded 17 Jan 2022
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Read more
R0KSTA87 wrote a review Jan 2022
Queenstown, New Zealand13 contributions1 helpful vote
Decided to support local and head up to Oamaru to stay at Poshtel. Check in was a breeze. Very quirky place but well presented and tidy. Rooms very well appointed but we’re a few scuff marks on the wall that should be taken care of. Room was super hot and the only cooling available was a somewhat decent fan or windows open. Otherwise a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley McGonigle, General Manager at Poshtel
Responded 17 Jan 2022
Thanks for your review
Read more
LittleBear500 wrote a review Nov 2021
2 contributions
From the moment we walked through the door, this hotel is like entering an eclectic favourite relatives home, in the best way. Shelley and Aidan are brilliant hosts - so welcoming and the foyer! -a shared comfortable place were guests can gather and enjoy the space and amazing array of keepsakes. Our room was immaculate, so comfy and, despite facing the main road, wasn't overly noisy. Gorgeous art work and loads of interesting pieces dispersed throughout the hotel. Our only regret is we couldn't stay two nights or more.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley McGonigle, General Manager at Poshtel
Responded 7 Nov 2021
Thanks for your wonderful, descriptive review! We love hosting people who appreciate our uniqueness, location and comfort. Please stay with us next time you choose to make Oamaru your destination!
Read more
BryceandKelly wrote a review Aug 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand40 contributions8 helpful votes
Location was great, rooms were cool, staff were amazing, continental breakfast was a bonus, but oh my goodness soooo noisy! We were in room 4. Heard the cars, then early hours we heard the trucks arriving for Countdown next door, then the beep beep beep of the forklifts, then the birds started singing. Worst sleep of our entire trip because of noise and the bed. 2 singles joined together.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley McGonigle, General Manager at Poshtel
Responded 7 Sep 2021
Thanks for your review. We apologise on behalf of the supermarket and have had a word with their Manager. We are sorry but we cannot do much about the birds and their singing. If they stop, I think we all have a big problem.
Read more
Tracy B wrote a review Jul 2021
13 contributions
So regret only having 1 night to spend here. We had booked the premier room through their website and on arrival got upgraded to the suite and WOW. We were in the Farmers Suite with an amazing collection of old farming memorabilia. Incredibly comfortable super king bed with an immaculate ensuite with a walk in shower. Big room with a lovely leather couch, old recycled table and large flat screen smart tv. Room rate included breakfast. Great host who was full of knowledge on things to see and do plus the all of the restaurants and bars. Will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the suites!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Shelley McGonigle, General Manager at Poshtel
Responded 31 Jul 2021
Thanks Tracy for staying at Poshtel. So glad you enjoyed the Farming Suite and everything that Oamaru has to offer. Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$90 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionOamaru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Poshtel
Which popular attractions are close to Poshtel?
Nearby attractions include Oamaru Public Gardens (1.1 km), Whitestone City (0.8 km), and Oamaru's Victorian Precinct (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Poshtel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Poshtel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Poshtel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Poshtel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Poshtel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cucina, Scotts Brewing Co, and Star and Garter.
Is Poshtel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Oamaru.
Are there any historical sites close to Poshtel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Totara Estate (3.5 km).
Does Poshtel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is Poshtel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.