We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Avenue Motel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 14 motels in Oamaru
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Avenue Motel offers 10 immaculate units at very reasonable rates. You have a choice of studio, 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom units. The accommodation complex of two main blocks has been designed so that all units are on ground floor for convenience with parking at your door and all units are away from the main road for privacy and quietness.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
75Reviews0Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 28
  • 21
  • 6
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Heather P wrote a review Dec 2019
Christchurch, New Zealand9 contributions2 helpful votes
Thank you for making our weekend so rememberable! Your rooms are beautifully presented, clean and the location couldn’t be better! I feel your price is to cheap! But thank you we sure will recommend to all our friends and family 😊
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Woe1 wrote a review Dec 2019
Dunedin, New Zealand14 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed at the Avenue motel on our way back from Christchurch What a wonderful welcome we got the from the manager She was so kind & couldn’t do enough for our family especially after traveling I have rated it a 5 star & would certainly recommend because of the service that was given to us ,we didn’t find anything wrong with the units thought they were great for a family & great price would highly recommend we will be back thank you 😊 Great fish & chip shop a few steps away
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Terikennedy wrote a review Dec 2019
Alexandra, New Zealand3 contributions3 helpful votes
Family of four have just left the motel, extremely disappointed!!!! it’s only a backpackers accomodation and that’s being generous! The shower was so pathetic it took only a quarter of the back of my head at a time.... we are very honest farming people and we would like to warn people! Robyn
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from AvenueMotel, Owner at Avenue Motel
Responded 25 Dec 2019
Thank You for your review . This is a 3.5 star motel which is clearly stated on the website when you chose where to stay we have compfortable large units not at all like a backpackers.The unit you were in has two seperate bedrooms a seperate lounge, kitchen, and bathroom.The water pressure is not as great as maybe it should be with other people using their showers at the same time.We have replaced all showers in our block units and will start on the back units in the new year.I was not available when you checked out but rang you to appologise .We have some great backpackers in Oamaru but for $30 per head you would be in a 6 bunk dorm sharing bathrooms and kitchens.So am at a loss as to how you make that comparison. Regards Rhonda.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DJW20 wrote a review Nov 2019
163 contributions24 helpful votes
Although it's on the main road into Oamaru the units are set back off the road and traffic noise isnt an issue. We had the 2 bedroom unit with kitchen which was separate from the other units so nice and quiet. The unit backs onto a playing field which was nice. Although older units it had everything you needed. The owner was very helpful for a couple of minor issues we had.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Linda Forbes wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
Stayed 4 nights, looked, smelt & was clean. Great service that went the extra mile. Best night sleep ever!!!Would absolutely stay again & would recommend it to my friends & family.Room had just been freshly painted & there was even freshly baked muffins that were delicious, only complaint would be a few more would have been great lol
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Nick F wrote a review Aug 2019
Gillingham, United Kingdom44 contributions13 helpful votes
Great little find on our travels , cosy unit had everything we needed lady was ever so helpful , when travelling Getting a nice place and a good sleep is on the agenda after calling in to another cheaper motel and The receptionist was rude and unwelcomeing we came here a smile and friendly hello sealed the deal . Plenty of hot water
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Just get a room there all ok
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from rhondac579, Manager at Avenue Motel
Responded 25 Aug 2019
Thank You so much for your lovely review its always nice to welcome nice people
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Frederick S wrote a review Mar 2019
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom119 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
We came to what has to be one of the best places to stay the room was first class and the owner was brilliant I would say to anyone travelling south on south island this makes the perfect stopping point the town has some wonderful sights to walk around and in the evening you can go and watch the penguins.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Shaelah Youngman wrote a review Feb 2019
Christchurch, New Zealand47 contributions6 helpful votes
WARNING!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!! .From the moment we arrived to the moment we left (checked out earlier than expected as it was that bad).We arrived to a note on the door telling us where our rooms were (this was fine as we had requested an hour earlier check in) - walked in to find our room smelt moldy, the kitchen and bathroom was very outdated - pictures shown on booking.com are not at all what it looks like. As we were in a rush we only had time to shower before we had to leave again. Turned on the shower to find the shower head had been taped on and the water was squirting from all angles. Opened the cupboard next to the shower to find that the hot water cylinder almost looked like it had its own tap it was leaking that bad. The owner wasn't due back to the property until later that evening so our complaint couldn't be dealt with. Our friends had the room next to us and found they had a smell as well. They were offered a nights discount because of the smell. When it was our turn to speak to the owner about all the issues in our room her response was "its unfortunate, there is nothing i can do about it, times are tough". We advised this was unacceptable to charge a rate of $130 per night for facilities that aren't up to standard - no discount was offered - instead told to go find elsewhere. Again we had to leave quickly (had tried looking for alternative accommodation as soon as we checked in - nothing available). Explained this to the owner and again she refused any sort of discount or apology. We returned back to our room to find a plumber in there at no notice - hot water cylinder had been drained leaving us with no hot water and no shower. Again when we tried to tell the owner this wasn't acceptable - she stormed out with her hands in the air saying "its out of my control". This caused us even more disappointment. We decided to check out and leave Oamaru early as we were not prepared to pay another $130 for facilities that could not provide the basics ie hot water
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ainslie M wrote a review Dec 2018
Christchurch, New Zealand94 contributions19 helpful votes
We stayed here on Saturday night for one night. It was clean and comfortable but the unit really needs an upgrade as quite old, ie bathroom and kitchenette. I felt it was over priced for the condition, but the staff were nice and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Emma_and1_Cornelius wrote a review Mar 2018
Abcoude, The Netherlands135 contributions39 helpful votes
Friendly staff and always time for a talk.. Quick check in and the room was already at 13.00 available. Large clean room with a comfortable bed. Nice shower and separate toilet. Clean. Value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Oamaru area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionOamaru
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AVENUE MOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Oamaru) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Avenue Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Avenue Motel?
Nearby attractions include Rainbow Confectionery (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Avenue Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Avenue Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Avenue Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avenue Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant 1861, Northstar Restaurant, and Taste Cafe.
Are pets allowed at Avenue Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Avenue Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Totara Estate (8.3 km).