Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel

144 McKenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022 New Zealand
Traveller (121)
Modern Kitchens
Room & Suite (28)
ホテル内レストラン
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
$99
Get rewarded with One Key
$99
$90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

2.5
#16 of 22 hotels in Mangere
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome! We're delighted you are considering a stay at the Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel. You'll be pleased you did - Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel located within 5 km to Auckland Airport and 17 km to Auckland City. Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel is the perfect choice for your accommodation needs to catch that early flight, stay after a long flight or visit friends or relatives near Auckland Airport and Manukau.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Restaurant
Vending machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

144 McKenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022 New Zealand
453Reviews8Q+A82Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 115
  • 121
  • 71
  • 114
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Bernard R wrote a review Jan 2020
Whangarei, New Zealand1,043 contribution183 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Like most of the similar airport lodging places around Auckland airport this place provides an adequate service at very reasonable rates. The rooms were clean and big enough whilst not being plush as you would expect. They offer free airport transfers and very reasonable parking charges if you want to leave your car. As good as you can hope for and at least on a par with competing establishments nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShalendP, Guest Relations Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear BernardR792 I thank you for taking the time to share the experience during your last stay. Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are in Auckland. Warm Regards, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arlene and Paul R wrote a review Jan 2023
Perth, Australia87 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Totally disappointed in our two night stay here.
This premise also goes under the name 'Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel' and Auckland Airport Kiwi Backpackers', the Backpackers has now been turned into what is called 'Premier studio apartments'.'.
When we arrived the lady at reception stated that she had only debited our card for the first night, we were to pay for our second night when checking out.
Our 'Premier Studio Apartment' was clearly an ex backpacker room, our lawn view was 2 mtrs of unmown grass which looked straight into the rooms across from us.
The room was clean enough but extremely under equipped.
We had booked for 3 people, we had 2 towels, 2 facecloths, no hand towel, no tea towel or dish cloth. After the 3rd ask for these items we finally received two extra facecloths to be used as a tea towel and dishcloth, eww!
The kitchen had 1 fork, 1 teaspoon, 3 knives and large spoons, 1 glass, no wine glasses.
Odd cups and plates of various sizes. There was a microwave and hotplates but no other utensils at all besides the bits and pieces mentioned. No Ice tray.
No coathangers. The bathroom light flickered constantly, there was rubbish under the beds, and on further inspection, the fire alarm did not contain a battery. (illegal)
On checking out was told that our account had been settled. Inspection of bank account showed that our 2nd night had been deducted two hours after we had checked in and an extra $4.50 had been taken. Asked on their chat window (which is how we booked our stay due to no one answering the phone, ever) and was emailed back, them stating that this extra cost was due to paying by Visa. No mention of this throughout our booking or on their website.
Would not stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't get room 403. $180 per night and not worth it.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SpicksandSpecks wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia98 contributions82 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We needed a place for a late night check in, close the airport and chose this hotel. The room had enough beds for our family of 4, however only 3 towels were provided. The bathroom looked like it needed a fresh coat of paint, even though the shower and basin looked new. The door handle to the bathroom also needed fixing.
Due to our 1am check in, we were given a later check out of 11am and there were no problems.
It would be ok for a stopping point for a late arrival, but probably wouldn't stay for longer.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShalendP, Guest Relations Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Dear SpicksandSpecks Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. Warm Regards, Guest Relations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lenc1489 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
if there was a rating of 0! i would select 0. The cleaners are fine but whoever is in charge specifically during lockdown level 4 is completely rude with no professionalism. When I ask a question, there is no empathy (lack of) and he comes across so entitled that he made my stay in room 504 the worst ever!!! i've been to this motel before and it was fine but I guess i've never been to this side of the motel. The WiFi is terrible (no security so likelihood of cyber scams) and when I asked whoever the fruit was on the other end if it was possible to move rooms closer to where the WiFi router is as I'm working remotely he reassured me it should be ok from the following day after 10am. Some context, i asked the reception guy when i initially checked in that i'll be working remotely (pre-lockdown) and if the WiFi is ok to use for work. He assured me it will be ok and all I needed to do was connect to the shared WiFi and I won't have any issues. Well you see, the problem is, rooms 500 onwards is not within reach to have strong connectivity to work from home so it will keep dropping off. The idiot on the other end is incompetent where he told me (30 mins before relocating to another room) that I should be packed and ready to move. Mind you, he told me the day before that it was ok so my expectation was high hopes i get to do my work with no network connection issues. You see, if I was told 2 hours before (minimum) I wouldn't be kicking up a fuss but the inconvenience of half an hour notice and he confirmed he knew there were 2 staff working well in advance so nothing had changed but the reason i couldn't be moved is because there was not enough resource or capacity to clean my room etc.... well, you should have told me this the day before, you knew there were 2 staff working so you shouldn't have set the expectation that it will be fine. I also didn't appreciate your tone coming across defensive for your own incompetence. Disgusting!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Service was disgusting specifically whoever was taking enquiries during lockdown.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shalend Prasad, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Responded 26 Aug 2021
Dear Lenc1489, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience and I was not given the opportunity during your time in Motel to rectify your areas of concern. It is disappointed us that our service did not meet your expectation. It seems that the miscommunication between you and the staff has created the unpleasant situation. We would like to apologize for the issue and wish this would not happened. This issue will be considered and brought up to the management to prevent it from happening again in the future. About the room cleaning, due to level 4 lockdown, we have Skelton staff for certain hours as we conduct elaborate sanitising between stays to keep our patrons safe. Apologies if it caused you inconvienced, we do not want to take shortcuts with health and safety of our guest and our teams & not able to assist you according to the time of request. I greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of our internet system and sorry to hear that it was not up to standard. We will update our internet system once we are out of lockdown for Motel, so there shouldn't be speed or signal loss in future. Hope we will have a chance to restore our relationship and welcome you back to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Facility Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AngeR wrote a review Dec 2020
16 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Motel was easy enough to find, the view from our room was bleh we looked down onto a smokers area.
The room was clean and tidy, beds were comfortable. We booked two rooms and requested they be close together as our twin daughters were staying in the 2nd room, so we were disappointed they didn’t accommodate us.
Parking at the property was terrible, we ended up parking next door, which was better as we could see our vehicle and the whole car park was well lit.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shalend Prasad, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Responded 17 Dec 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. I have passed on your feedback to the relevant department heads to address. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fourthmushroom wrote a review Apr 2022
New Zealand33 contributions10 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible. The worst reception ever from the night reception person. The disagreeable conversation finished with the disagreeable man telling me to "fxxk off" I did. Gladly
This was at 11pm He obviously thought it was funny. I did find good agreeable accommodation shortly after so no problem Avoid places like Airport Kiwi Motel where they don't like you and stay where people are welcoming
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shalend Prasad, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Responded 8 Apr 2022
Dear Fourthmushroom, We are sorry to read your feedback however on this occasion our team were precise to follow our check-in policies and procedures as they asked for your photo ID and you refused to produce it. The hotel must act in accordance with local regulations & hotel policy to ensure the accuracy of the reservation and identification used for all guests for safety reasons. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FarAway60750354675 wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
the only thing good about this hotel , was the beds. that’s it. Our shower was TAPED together, our fridge was leaking and the Wifi did not even work. we then went to the restaurant attached to the hotel and I had asked for vegetarian food and I got meat 3 TIMES. they told me that it was vegetarian when bacon was sticking out then I got random pasta with so much oil. not enjoyable. the family room is so close together and the shower isn’t great at all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Danii H wrote a review Aug 2022
7 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Was very disappointed with the stay, there was mould on the roof, the heater didn’t work, the room smelt fun at and to top it off there was no smoke detector fitted in the room. I emailed to tell them about my stay and have had no follow up whatsoever. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shalend Prasad, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Responded 23 Aug 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience and I was not given the opportunity during your time in Motel to rectify your areas of concern. It is disappointed us that our service did not meet your expectation. It seems that the miscommunication between you and the staff has created the unpleasant situation. We would like to apologize for the issue and wish this would not happened. This issue will be considered and brought up to the management to prevent it from happening again in the future. Hope we will have a chance to restore our relationship and welcome you back to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark H wrote a review Jul 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Shocking that a property like this can exist in NZ!! Holes in the walls, broken glass light shade hanging loose ready to fall, dirty, wall paper held up with sticky tape, cheap cheap cheap fittings and buildings, being used as emergency housing for the homeless and all that this brings to what should be a peaceful quiet stay prior to flying out. The owner actually said it had just been renovated!! After the shock and anguish suffered on check in, I did need a good laugh.
Seriously, move on, dont even think of booking this awful place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go to a different motel, anywhere, but here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shalend Prasad, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Responded 18 Jul 2021
Dear Mark, Thanks for taking out your time on commenting on your recent stay in our motel. We are very sorry to hear that we were unable to meet with your expectation. Unfortunately a group stayed with us on your checked in room for two weeks so some room damages were over looked by our Head Housekeeper before your check-in. However upon your complaint to my front office staff, they had shifted you to our newly renovated room wherein you confirmed my staff that you liked this room. We would like to inform you that we do not accommodate emergency housing. We do not know about the background of our guests as they booked online. We apologies for your experience and request you to give us another chance on your next trip to Auckland. With Thanks Hotel Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex S wrote a review Sept 2022
5 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I checked in here prior to a flight, thinking it would be a basic but comfortable way to stay close to the airport. The check in process was fine, but the room STANK of a combination of tobacco and chlorine. The odor was so bad that I tried to spray fragrance around to combat it, but it stayed.

The bed itself was comfortable and clean, but the room was dirty and rusty. The bedside lamp didn’t turn on and the shower water pressure was barely more than a trickle.

The rooms need to be gutted and renovated. I don’t mind dated accommodation but the smell was terrible. I told the staff on check out but I got offered little more than an apology.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shalend Prasad, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Responded 10 Sept 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay, I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable experience and I was not given the opportunity during your time in Motel to rectify your areas of concern. It is disappointed us that our service did not meet your expectation. We would like to apologize for the issue and wish this would not happened. This issue will be considered and brought up to the management to prevent it from happening again in the future. Hope we will have a chance to restore our relationship and welcome you back to stay with us again in the future. Kind Regards Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Shalend
Auckland, New Zealand
Hi Nicole, Yes our airport shuttle transfer is free of charge if you booked with us. Please hop in bus and show your booking confirmation to the driver for free ride. Bus runs every 20 minutes. Look forward to welcome you at our motel on your coming stay.
Answer from Shalend
Auckland, New Zealand
Dear Benjamin Thank you for choosing us for your stay. Motel reception will close at 9.30pm but after hours you can check in from Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel which is just beside our property which operates 24 hours. For the pick up from the airport you need to call us upon arrival via free phone 0800 991 885 or by using free i-site centre phone by dialling # 03. We will advise you where to wait for the transport Thanks Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Answer from Shalend
Auckland, New Zealand
Dear June Unfortunately Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel does not provide car storage facility at the motel Thanks Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Answer from Shalend
Auckland, New Zealand
Thank you for your enquiry. Kindly note the restaurant provides buffet breakfast which includes tea, coffee, juice, bread, cereal, fruits, yogurt and muffin. Breakfast starts from $10 per person. For further enquiry please do not hesitate to contact us.
Denise M wrote a tip Mar 2024
5 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't go there"
Read full review
Arlene and Paul R wrote a tip Jan 2023
Perth, Australia87 contributions19 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't get room 403. $180 per night and not worth it."
Read full review
Hayden B wrote a tip Aug 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand9 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spent an extra $10 and stay somewhere else."
Read full review
Lenc1489 wrote a tip Aug 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Service was disgusting specifically whoever was taking enquiries during lockdown."
Read full review
Mark H wrote a tip Jul 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to a different motel, anywhere, but here"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mangere area.
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auckland airport kiwi hotel mangere, kiwi international airport mangere, hotel kiwi international airport
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandMangere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AUCKLAND AIRPORT KIWI MOTEL - Now $85 (Was $̶1̶0̶5̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Mangere, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
What are some of the property amenities at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Strawberry Farm, Indian Express, and Vapor Restaurant.
Are any cleaning services offered at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Howick Historical Village (12.2 km), Parnell (12.9 km), and Eden Garden (10.0 km).
Is Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Mangere HotelsMangere Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MangereHotels near Auckland Airport Kiwi Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire