Airport Travelair Motor Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Airport Travelair Motor Inn

15 McKenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2022 New Zealand
ห้องน้ำ
Traveller (17)
room
Room & Suite (53)
Kitchen
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

2.5
#20 of 22 hotels in Mangere
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value

If you’re looking for a budget friendly hotel in Mangere, look no further than Airport Travelair Motor Inn.

Given the close proximity to Kiwi Esplanade Walkway (1.3 mi), guests of Airport Travelair Motor Inn can easily experience one of Mangere's most popular landmarks.

Mangere Best Western offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV, a kitchenette, and a refrigerator, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available.

The hotel offers 24 hour front desk, express check-in and check-out, and baggage storage, to make your visit even more pleasant. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Szimpla Gastro Bar, which is a pub that is popular with locals and out-of-towners alike.

The staff at Airport Travelair Motor Inn looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Vending machine
Golf course
Table tennis
Babysitting
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Desk
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Korean
153Reviews3Q+A36Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 31
  • 35
  • 27
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Maddi_In_Aus wrote a review Feb 2013
Adelaide, Australia6 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Decided to stay here for the last night of a family trip around North Island due to the proximity to Auckland airport & free morning shuttle to the terminal (as we had an early flight out). As I was traveling with my husband & his parents I booked us 2 separate double rooms via Agoda; the price seemed reasonable and I was soon to discover why...

On arrival we were told that "by mistake" we had been booked into one large "family unit" but assured it had 2 double bedrooms and we were offered a $30 refund if took the room. Having no choice (as apparently all other rooms were full) we accepted and were shown to an essentially one-bedroom apartment with a double bed in what should be the living area - not ideal for a family of adults who value their privacy and space.

The bathroom was so basic that there was not even soap provided, the shower screen did not fit the bath so the floor flooded and there was no bin. The kitchennette area (which of course also served as a bedroom / lounge) was not very clean, the fridge had clearly been switched off long ago and the door left shut and smelled mouldy, the ancient microwave was propped up at an awkward angle balanced on 2 large phone books (my father-in-law, a retired engineer, said "For God's sake nobody use that microwave or we'll all burn in our beds!") and in the communal area (which of course was also our bedroom) there were no bedside lights just a full-glare beam with the switch at the other side of the room by the door.

In the interests of fairness I will say this place was a lot cheaper than other options near the airport and I suppose we got what we paid for. Just be prepared for somewhere very basic if you decide to book here. Ultimately the sheets were clean, the beds comfortable, the water hot and we got a 630am ride to the airport without any fuss. However had I personally known what it would be like prior to booking I would have paid more for a better standard of accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Phone and send an email prior to your trip to make sure you are actually given the room(s) you...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Raewyn7150 wrote a review May 2012
Otago Region, New Zealand227 contributions42 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked the Airport Travel Air Motor Inn via www.check-in.co.nz and chose it because it was supposedly close to the airport. My husband and I were overnighting in Auckland and didn't want to travel too far between our evening and early morning flights.

On arrival I called to be picked up by their free shuttle. I could not understand the person on the phone. It took several repeats to understand where he wanted us to wait. We waited 10mins for him to arrive.

It was dark, cold and raining. We drove for a lot longer than the 6mins they advertise. He was very non-communicative during the 10plus minute drive despite us trying to talk to him. When we arrived, he parked at the office, let us take our bags out of the van, went into the office and made sure I signed the paper, gave me a key and said your room is across there, as he pointed across the wet dark courtyard!
Very welcoming - not!

As it was after 6:30pm, and we had travelled from Melbourne we were rather hungry. I realized I had made a big mistake when booking as I thought a Motor Inn would be more like a hotel - this place is definitely a motel.
I asked where we could find dinner. He gave me a photo copied menu of a place that we could phone and have meals delivered. It appeared to be a Greek style menu. He never suggested any other options.

I phoned an order through - a meal for my husband and a light entree and wedges for myself as I had been vomiting the night before we left Melbourne and my stomach was still very tender. The meal arrived about half an hour later. I had paid for it over the phone but never thought to check it when it was delivered. I was very upset to find that the entree was not there but they had sent and charged me for a Caesar Salad, I abhor Ceasar Salads! I called them up and they said they would see what they could do. They called back a few moments later and said their driver had gone home. I was totally over it so said to forget it and my husband ate the salad.

The actual 'motel' was clean, the bed comfortable, the shower was very good except that it is about a foot above the bathroom floor, the kitchen appeared to be reasonably supplied but we did not make use of it. The advertised Wireless internet never worked. I called the office and was given the password by a child who didn't speak a lot of English either. I tried many times to get it to work but as it was raining and dark I didn't traipse over to the office.

The TV signal went down quite a few times but that could've been due to the thunder storms hitting Auckland that night. We went to sleep around 9:30pm with the room next door's TV sounding through the wall. I was woken suddenly at 10:30pm by a car boot slamming down hard and loud talking outside. I got up to see what was happening and saw the man/owner had parked a car at the unit next to us and was walking over to the office. Oblivious to the fact that guests were sleeping :-(

The next morning as we were leaving I mentioned to the man that the internet didn't work and he blamed it on the fact that I never came to the office and that there were so many different computer systems!!!

The unit might have been clean and tidy but the PR was certainly missing big time. I could put it down to a cultural difference but I won;t as I do have many Chinese friends who are very friendly and pleasant. These people were just plain rude. I will not be recommending this place to anyone and in future would prefer to pay more to stay in a place closer to the airport with a restaurant attached and with people that can at least speak English and be pleasant!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book somewhere else!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tyrell Govindasamy wrote a review Oct 2016
Aguas Calientes, Peru49 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel itself is a bit dated on the outside. They have tried to update the rooms and walls. This was fine for a nights stay as we left the following morning on our road trip. the Wi-Fi works great and the place seems safe with a large metal gate to get in and out of. no issues from the owners and we found the accommodation basic and value for money. If you looking for more than a nights stay, then I would recommend elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Trail14688 wrote a review Jan 2004
Canberra, ACT1 contribution13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here for one night in Jan 2004. During the night, theives entered our room and stole most of our bags, including all our money, cards and passports. We were not the only ones. The security in the motel was terrible. We noticed the next monring that we were able to open locked doors easily. Whilst the staff were helpful, the owner was not and wanted nothing to do with us. I will never stay in this area (or motel again), and recommending others to do likewise.
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Unimpressed178 wrote a review Dec 2014
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
- 7 of us stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment over night.
- Another 2 of our travelling party stayed in a separate room.
- The room was tidy and of a reasonable standard
...BUT...
- The host(if that's what you'd call him) was an utter shocker on the ride from the domestic terminal to the motel. His attitude was just plain rude.
- On arrival at the motel, our room only had 2 towels for 7 people. When we asked for more(politely might I add) the tone of the reply from the host was again plain rude & unacceptable.
- When we went to take our room key to him the next morning, we said "good morning" to him and he didn't even reply or acknowledge us and just looked at us as if to say "who are you"???
- He made an issue out of nothing about how many people can fit in his courtesy van, even though we told him some of us will go in the 1st trip and the rest in the 2nd trip.
- And lastly, he drove the courtesy van one handed as the other hand was bandaged up. Putting us and other road users at risk.

TO THE HOST:
- It's a pity you have a negative and poor attitude because the motel room was of an acceptable standard.
- Our first impressions of you faded in the first few seconds of meeting you, and you made our whole experience a very awkward and uncomfortable one.
- We will NOT be staying at your motel EVER again, we would prefer to give our money to someone who deserves it.
- You seriously need to take some customer service courses not only for your benefit, but also for the benefit of your customers who are the ones who keep your motel running.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cosmopolitan12688 wrote a review Jan 2006
Papamoa, New Zealand1 contribution7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in a one bedroom family unit at this motel for one night. We had read advertisements and seen pictures in Jasons Accommodation Directory and the AA Accommodation Guide. Both were most misleading. These books state the motel has an excellent in-house restaurant - there is no restaurant!! The pictures showed modern attractive decor. Our room was disgusting. The bedspreads did not cover the beds properly so shabby bases were exposed. The springs were exposed in one bed in the lounge and the mattress was partially covered with a foam squab that was only half length. One of the dining chairs had no springs, and just a piece of board underneath to prevent the cushion from falling through. The dish cloth in the kitchen was filthy and the pot scrubbing part was totally worn. The bathroom was mouldy. Skirting boards in the lounge were rotten. The glass door into the lounge had a venetian blind halfway down, the rest was all broken so at night the outside lights intruded. The lawns were unkempt and at the side of the unit were about 12 inches high, and at the rear about 6 inches high. The charges for this motel are similar to other places but the quality is not there. We do not recommend this motel at all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2006
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LizaMelbourne wrote a review Jun 2013
Melbourne3 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was freezing cold. Windows were all wide open on arrival on a chilly evening. Room smelled strongly of smoke even though we had asked for a non smoking room. Stainless steel floor in shower was horrible. I could not put any water in the electric jug in the wee small hours to make a coffee before leaving for the airport. I tried to put the spout of the jug under the wash basin tap but it was impossible!Terrible experience which was made even worse by the surly, bullying attitude of the person who drove the shuttle bus to the airport. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Flo_Hamburgo wrote a review Feb 2015
Hamburg, Germany58 contributions73 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a room at this "hotel" almost one year ago and sent 5 days before our stay an e-mail to book the airport shuttle. Within this mail I let the staff know about flight number, arrival time etc.
The staff confirmed my request and gave some instructions how to proceed after arrival.
Once we arrived in Auckland (22:00 as planned)I called the hotel to let them know we landed and that we are waiting for the shuttle.

The answer was:
During the day they tried to charge my credit card and had some problems with that. Since I did not show up till 18:00 (big surprise, since our plane landed at 22:00 - what they knew from my e-mail) they canceled my reservation and sold the room to other people.
Then the lady on the phone screemed at me that it is all my fault...

After that I had to find a much more expensive alternative by myself.

Thank you very much for this warm welcome to New Zealand!!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JessicaG1233 wrote a review Jan 2015
1 contribution5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I phoned to let the manager know that their hotel shuttle was carrying two extra people than their van legally could carry, got told I couldn't speak to a manager as he was out buying food ( must be a manager there at all times) so phoned back this morning and spoke to a duty manager, when explained the situation again, got asked what I expected them to do about it. I thought this was horrible service considering he didn't care at all that what the driver had done was illegal, he then told me there was no other duty manager to speak to, next thing he put me on the phone to a lady. She refused to give me her name, yet questioned why I was calling her! I was calling to let them know nicely but all 3 staff members I spoke to on the phone didn't care whatsoever. She then told me to email her, I said how can I when I don't even know who she was, she then yelled her email at me and hung up!! I called back as I didn't even hear her email, and they straight hung up on me again. This is horrible service and I know I will never ever stay there as people in customer service should actually care about potential guests. Would never recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travellersz-review wrote a review Aug 2013
1 contribution5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We asked to view the room. As we were in the room and had decided to take it I sat on the bed. Just as my partner was on his way to reception to make payment for it. The owner came in and started screaming at us to leave as I tried to explain that we were taking the room and my partner was on his way to pay the owner replied get out get out all I could gather was he was upset because I sat on the bed? I find that absolutely silly and lack of customer service over expensive and utterly rude the motel room was not even worth what he said he would charge but at that time most other motels rooms where sold out. After this experience I would recommend spend a little more and stay somewhere else at least you wont have to deal with idiotic behaviour.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FoxyLoxy025 wrote a tip Oct 2017
Nelson128 contributions36 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room downstairs if you have luggage. There was also no hairdryer"
Read full review
Shane B wrote a tip Jul 2017
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else."
Read full review
Lee L wrote a tip May 2017
Kawerau, New Zealand79 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upstairs (stairs opp office) and 2 or 3 along. That room was good - noisy neighbours but good."
Read full review
Brook R wrote a tip Dec 2016
Sydney, Australia210 contributions96 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ground floor room would have avoided lugging cases up the stairs and along an exposed walkway"
Read full review
TAB224 wrote a tip Dec 2016
New Zealand6 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"IF YOU STAY, and have heaps of luggage, ask for a ground floor room."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mangere area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
airport travelair motor hotel mangere, airport travelair hotel, mangere best western
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandMangere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AIRPORT TRAVELAIR MOTOR INN - Hotel Reviews (Mangere) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Airport Travelair Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Airport Travelair Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Cornwall Park (5.5 km), One Tree Hill (Maungakiekie) (5.6 km), and Butterfly Creek (4.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Airport Travelair Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Airport Travelair Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Airport Travelair Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Airport Travelair Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include One Tree Grill, Little Jimmy, and Szimpla Gastro Bar.
Does Airport Travelair Motor Inn have airport transportation?
Yes, Airport Travelair Motor Inn offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Airport Travelair Motor Inn?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Airport Travelair Motor Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to Airport Travelair Motor Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Howick Historical Village (11.4 km), Parnell (11.9 km), and Eden Garden (9.0 km).
All Mangere HotelsMangere Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MangereHotels near Airport Travelair Motor Inn
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire