Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel

150 Mckenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2010 New Zealand
Tiny blood stain
Traveller (166)
Room
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (30)

View prices for your travel dates

$112
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#18 of 22 hotels in Mangere
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel is a 52 room 3 star hotel that is located within a 5 minute drive to Auckland Domestic and International Airport. The hotel specialises in looking after guests by offering clean, great value accommodation with little value added free extras such as:* Free Parking for 10 days* Free Shuttle pick ups ONLY from the airport* Airport drop offs $2.00 per person. Free Light Continental breakfast per person on particular room types per night of stay. We are your perfect choice for a night before a flight out, or just the start of your journey within New Zealand.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

150 Mckenzie Road, Mangere, Auckland 2010 New Zealand
631Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 155
  • 157
  • 127
  • 142
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
M J wrote a review Jan 2020
Chattanooga, Tennessee36 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in this hotel on our way to Nelson and back as a layover for our international flights.

Both times the staff weer very friendly the rooms and bathrooms were clean and the beds comfortable,

The yellow bus to and from the airport is a big plus. The bus is free when you show the bus driver your booking confirmation.

We had dinner at the onsite restaurant the food was good and to have a restaurant on site was very convenient.

All in all we were satisfied with the room and will use this hotel again on our next trip.

Here is a tip. To turn the main lights on in the room push the key down in the little key holder located next to the door when you enter the room.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are inside. I felt very safe in the hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShalendP, Guest Relations Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Responded 14 Jan 2020
Hi 324MJ Thanks for taking out your precious time to comment on your recent stay with us. Your kind comments about the team are much appreciated and we are all thrilled to hear that you liked our room and services along with our restaurant cuisines. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Auckland. With Thanks
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason S wrote a review Mar 2020
Melbourne, Australia2,023 contributions638 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel only about 5 - 10 minutes by taxi or you can use the hotel shuttle bus it’s very cheap but stops at a few hotels on the way.

They offer free airport shuttle back to airport on the bus but as mentioned it makes serval other stops so allow 25 minutes to get to airport.

Room it self was good value for the price and checkin quick and easy.

Only issue I had with room is the blinds for the window is was not a thick one and very light so lights from the front of hotel shined in room for the whole night making the room not very dark.

Otherwise a good option when you have a early morning flight.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShalendP, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Hey Jason S Thanks for taking out your precious time to comment on your recent stay with us and giving us 5 Star rating We are glad to see that you were able to take advantage for our free airport transfers and room rate. In regards to issue you encountered with the blinds we will definitely address this with the department of head. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Auckland. Kind Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
danis luke wrote a review Jun 2020
Singapore18 contributions35 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed recently at this hotel because firstly. It was closed to the airport and most importantly we wanted a transfer s to the airport.On the website of the hotel states no charge in transfer to and from airport.
Fortunately it was not available for us guest.That was important for me cos the most airport transfer allows only 24 kg per head and our s was 30kg each.The additional u need to pay again.
Secondly I was at the lounge area and I was told that I had to move out before 6 pm because there was going to be a meeting there.The the lounge area has a restaurant cum bar too.I am a paying guest ...They were not very helpful in giving you information of traveling and what to see .We ask Ms Doreen to how to get a bus Stand. here to the nearest town and she answered I don't know because I don't take a bus.. wow!!
We went outside to ask around and believe me the it was just on beside their hotel...
Anyway the consolation was the mattress is comfortable.Rooms above average.A hotel only for transit passengers and maybe if u having a meeting around the airport for a day or two max.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shalend Prasad, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Responded 24 Aug 2020
Hi Danisluken, Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for your stay experience with our hotel. Am very sorry that my staff was unable to provide information as requested which is my biggest concern despite of huge resource and training invested on staff. Unfortunately, due to COVID-19, our airport transfer bus company closed there service whereon we were unable to get another company on board. We did mention about no airport transfer in all our sites. Your feedback is very important for me to drive my product and property to my guest expectations. I request you to give us another chance on your next trip to Auckland and I can assure you will be surprise with our friendly staff with perfect services. With Thanks Shalend Prasad
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anthea H wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at the Kiwi hotel over the last few years - I won't stay anywhere else in the airport district - and during that time its standards have got higher and higher. It is a pleasure to see my occasional suggestions immediately implemented, so that now I can honestly give the Kiwi a FIVE STAR RATING! The rooms have everything one could desire. They are spotlessly clean and the bed linen is a pure joy to sleep on. Bathrooms have recently been upgraded, so the whole experience means that one wakes refreshed, ready for a fine breakfast in the spacious, adjacent restaurant. Who could ask for more?
This hotel provides everything and at a price, even for the premium rooms which I stay in, with their french doors onto the garden, are well within anyone's budget. I cannot praise highly enough, the work of the manager, housekeeper and staff who maintain these exceptional standards. Well done to them all!! I am looking forward to my next visit soon.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Premium rooms are on the ground floor, with French windows, giving and extra dimension to your...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShalendP, Front Office Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Passport745936 Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us with a five star review. It is great to see that you found the hotel location to be very helpful for your travel plans with good quality rooms and facilities.We are happy to hear that we have met your expectations. Look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Auckland soon. With Thanks Dorine
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jason L wrote a review Feb 2020
Darwin, Australia126 contributions71 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Found the staff very rude. Wanted to buy a coffee for breakfast and was told I had to purchase the full $15 Continental breakfast, when stated that I just wanted a coffee, staff stated it was too bad.
Needed to return a hire car and asked if we could use the phone to book a taxi and was told we couldn't and was made to walk 30 minutes in the rain after dropping the car of to get back to the hotel.
Even-though Airport is in the name of this hotel, don't be fooled it is not near the Airport and is not a hotel, more a motel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Choose elsewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShalendP, Guest Relations Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Responded 9 Feb 2020
Hey Jason L Thanks for taking your time and reviewing our hotel. This is great to see that you had enjoyed the room facilities. We will address the issues you had with restaurant to the head of department. To be noted we are located 5 km from the airport and all our rooms consist of telephone for the convenience for every guest. Looking forward to welcome you in future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edrick C wrote a review Nov 2022
42 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is an absolute dump. We paid over $400 for this, thinking we were going to get a reasonable quality hotel compare to what we’ve been getting in Europe for the last three months. Breakfast was included. We had a welcoming committee of cockroaches in the bedroom. The place is tired and rundown. We went for breakfast this morning which had the cheapest ingredients you could possibly imagine. This is compared with the breakfasts we have been getting at hotels throughout Europe similar rated hotels which have been like gourmet meals by comparison. You have to pay for a hot breakfast which is always included in hotels throughout Europe no extra cost.. The cleanliness of the rooms was very much in question I’ve added some photos. There’s some shoddy reparations that make the place look very shabby. Don’t be fooled by the photos in the advertising. This is the proverbial phrase mutton dressed up as lamb.I shudder it to think what tourists arriving in New Zealand from overseas would feel arriving at a place like this at advertises it self as a Kiwi hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel or if you do stay bring cockroach spray. Don’t pay for the breakfast wait till...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shalend Prasad, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2022
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking your time out and providing us with your feedback. It’s a disappointment that you have not enjoyed your stay with us, and we are sorry that you didn’t receive what you expected. This is not how we are. we are very particular when it comes to our guest needs, the issue that you arise has been passed to our housekeeping team. Looking forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel and we promise you won’t be disappointed this time. Kind regards Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keegan F wrote a review Nov 2022
6 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
A sorry excuse for a hotel. Rooms very tired, not the tidy fresh rooms you see in the photos. Very unclean too, hairs all throughout the bathroom, stains on the walls and floor, and a leaky shower which soaks into the bedroom floor. To make matters worse, the smoke alarm had no battery, and was 8 years expired. The lack of interest by staff was appalling, they clearly do no care for their guests. The manager himself did not take my complaints seriously, and a follow up after my stay had no response. Clearly cutting corners at the guests’ expense. Avoid this place at all costs, along with any other VR hotel properties.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shalend Prasad, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2022
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking your time out and providing us with your feedback. It’s a disappointment that you have not enjoyed your stay with us, and we are sorry that you didn’t receive what you expected. This is not how we are. we are very particular when it comes to our guest needs, the issue that you arise has been passed to our housekeeping team. Looking forward to welcoming you again to our Hotel and we promise you won’t be disappointed this time. Kind regards Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barneythedog9012 wrote a review Dec 2022
Dunedin, New Zealand11 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What an outdated dump mould and damp in the walls scruffy furniture poor value. In this day and age it isn’t hard to provide decent clean accommodation this is not the case here. At least the transfer too and from the airport works well
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Shalend Prasad, General Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Kia Ora, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us but am happy to inform you that we have undergone a massive refurbishment and our facilities/amenities have all been given a makeover. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
trailerparkk wrote a review Mar 2020
Belleville, Canada206 contributions70 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was large and clean and staff were friendly upon arrival and departure. The dinner in the restaurant was good as we enjoyed Fish & Chips and a Salad.
Biggest complaint was the continuous noise from outside throughout the night which meant not much sleep. The other problem was no elevator which meant lugging your large suitcases up/down the stairs.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stay on main floor and get room off main road.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShalendP, Public Relations Manager at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Dear trailerparkk Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Warm regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark wrote a review Jun 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand2 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hi we had the misfortune to stay the night at this hotel Friday 24 June 2022 That was a mistake never to be made again BE Warned this is possibly a self rated Hotel Our room was on the second floor of the Hotel block. Our room was first indication ok it will do how ever as the stay went on things deteriorated here is a list of what was wrong.
Broken toilet
Mould on furniture
No heating
Dirty
Broken phone
Floor/ carpet wet that in turn wet suitcases and cloths
Drapes wet and Mouldy.
And to top this off at 2 am the couple in the room next door in gauged in loud well leave that for people to fill in the blank.
By this point and not wanting to disturb room next door I tried to ring reception to find phone not working so started to get dressed to go to reception only to find that my cloths and suitcase to be wet. Night porter was very nice. We have asked for a refund not heard a word
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Warning warning warning read all recent reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ANNIE5118 asked a question Jan 2024
Gawler, Australia1 contribution1 helpful vote
Is there a grabrail bathroom ensuite? How much for Taxi to airport?
Mike C asked a question Oct 2017
Makawao, Hawaii14 contributions4 helpful votes
Is it possible to do laundry at this hotel? They say they have laundry service.
Answer from Arbor253
Napier, New Zealand134 contributions22 helpful votes
We did not use laundry service but i am sure that if you spoke nicely to them, they would organise it for a price!
Answer from Fravett
Dimboola, Australia173 contributions52 helpful votes
Not sure if they will make breakfast that early
Te Ala H wrote a tip 16 May
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose another hotel. There is also no lift to go upstairs, bags have to be carried up"
Read full review
zsuzsanna C wrote a tip Apr 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is free so you don’t have to pay."
Read full review
dave wrote a tip Jan 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else "
Read full review
Edrick C wrote a tip Nov 2022
42 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the hotel or if you do stay bring cockroach spray. Don’t pay for the breakfast wait till you get To a decent coffee bar."
Read full review
HospoDr wrote a tip Jul 2022
30 contributions18 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont, you wont get one."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mangere area.
PRICE RANGE
$85 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandMangere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AUCKLAND AIRPORT KIWI HOTEL - Now $92 (Was $̶1̶1̶5̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Mangere, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Strawberry Farm, Indian Express, and Vapor Restaurant.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Howick Historical Village (12.2 km), Parnell (12.9 km), and Eden Garden (9.9 km).
Is Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Mangere HotelsMangere Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MangereHotels near Auckland Airport Kiwi Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire