We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura

Save
Share
239 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300 New Zealand
eDreams
Agoda.com
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Priceline
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 28/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Updated 28/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 19 in Kaikoura
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Facing towards the magnificent Kaikoura Mountains our modern complex is the ideal stopover for your Kaikoura experience. Our 13 nonsmoking, double glazed self-contained units are tastefully decorated and provide the comforts required, while experiencing some of nature’s most exquisite adventures. The restaurants, town center and Kaikoura attractions are only 5 minutes’ drive away. Coming from the north, we are the first motel on the right, coming from the south, we are the last motel on the left. We look after our guests and your comfort, is our priority.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Sofa
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
111Reviews0Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 38
  • 25
  • 5
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gary wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution
The accommodation is excellent. Comfortable bed, great shower and all the amenities you could possibly need. Good fish and chips over the road and close to town. It's the host (Kim) that makes it a must stay with her helpful friendliness and attention to detail. I highly recommend this motel. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Juliette wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
We had a very nice one night stay here, chosen as we had our fur baby with us and they were very happy to host us. I from the conversations I know that the room was well cleaned with pet friendly products. The room was comfortable, a good size and had the standard amenities. What stood out was the service and welcome from the owner, who is wonderful. We would happily stay here again and if you have a dog they will be welcomed. There is a park over the road for easy walking. While the road was a bit noisy, we didn't really notice it much and earplugs were provided.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Hawkins, Owner at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Responded 28 Jan 2021
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review! We will continue to try and support our guests and your feedback is so valuable for us being able to do that. Mediterranean Motel Management
Read more
1954CJW wrote a review Nov 2020
Ashburton, New Zealand33 contributions9 helpful votes
Our welcome was outstanding. Our host was aware of who she was expecting and was friendly and welcoming. If we wanted something, a word to the owner sufficed, and appeared (including getting the TV to work for a couple of old techno-dunces). And a sweet little note welcoming us personally. Both days. The owners moved just as lockdown happened. Before that, the complex had been empty and neglected for some years. And it shows. There are a few things to change and some parts still look neglected. But some of the touches already show that there will be a delightful place, when the reno is finished. For example, I loved the fish theme on the walls, that carried through to the coffee mugs. (There's a thought ... the koura unit, the kahawai unit, the kina unit ... ) We travel rarely. But the welcome from this motelier would draw me back to her business if I was to be there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Ally P wrote a review Nov 2020
10 contributions
Lovely wee motel. Yep it’s on the main drag so a bit of road noise but not an issue at night. Very clean and tidy. friendly staff with a warm welcome. Great value for money. In the process of being upgraded.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Hawkins, Owner at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Responded 28 Jan 2021
Thanks so much for this review! We hope you loved Kaikoura as much as we do :) Mediterranean Motel Management
Read more
gunnfam wrote a review Nov 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand178 contributions77 helpful votes
This motel has poor wifi, no bedside tables and we'd really have appreciated more than two spoons etc - no other tools other than our two sets of cutlery. A bread knife and a can opener would have been good. The manager was very welcoming and friendly! Left a personal note welcoming us and our dog. The road being so close ensured we heard all the trucks trundling passed! Mediterranean motel was tidy and clean, if not spartan on some essentials. A coffee plunger but no coffee.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kimberly Hawkins, Owner at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Responded 20 Nov 2020
Thanks for your review Sandy! We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the Mediterranean, we appreciate your feedback and hope you made some great memories on your adventures around Kaikoura! Mediterranean Motel Management
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
comfort inn kaikoura mediterranean hotel kaikoura, kaikoura comfort inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Comfort Inn Kaikoura Mediterranean
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionKaikoura
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Which popular attractions are close to Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura?
Nearby attractions include Kaikoura Peninsula Walkway (2.9 km), Ohau Point Seal Colony (3.9 km), and Peninsula Seal Colony (5.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, laundry service, and free internet access.
Which room amenities are available at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura?
Conveniently located restaurants include Black Rabbit Pizza, Zephyr Restaurant, and Kaikoura Indian Restaurant&Cafe.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura?
Yes, laundry service and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fyffe House (4.9 km).
Is Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.