We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Mountain Jade Backpackers

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#9 of 11 hotels in Hokitika
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Here at Mountain Jade Backpackers it is our aim to make your stay with us as relaxing as possible.We are only a few minutes walk from the beach and river.Plus the local craft stores and cafe's/Restaurants are only a short walk from us.We are situated at the clock tower corner above the Jade Factory.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Iron
Kitchenette
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
110Reviews0Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 34
  • 11
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sightseer00578982878 wrote a review Mar 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
Booked a while back but then discovered that this backpackers actually closed permanently in Sept 2022 so is no longer available for accommodation. The building still has backpackers sign up and there is nothing on front door to tell you it is closed but this is the case.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Arohanuitraveller wrote a review Jun 2021
20 contributions3 helpful votes
Loved the location and the staff were really friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Room was great and as described. Had a nice lounge area to hang out in and the free toast in the morning was a nice bonus. Not flashy but very cozy. Would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jill O wrote a review Nov 2020
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand37 contributions13 helpful votes
Our large group of 26 was very well accommodated at Mountain Jade Backpackers. The owners couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, and went to the extra mile to adjust to some last minute changes we requested. There was plenty of hot water for the many showers, and we had comfortable beds, plenty of room for communal relaxation, and a good basic breakfast. The location is excellent for easy access to some great eating places in Hokitika, and the generous vehicle parking and safe bike storage is a bonus. I heartily recommend this backpackers for a very affordable and pleasant stay in Hokitika.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Since we occupied most of the rooms there was no issue for quietness etc and even on a Saturday...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Renegadebotanicals wrote a review Jan 2020
Gualala, California52 contributions24 helpful votes
The place is right in the center of things, owner was friendly and the place was clean. Good prices. I really want to give this place five stars. I just simply can’t, because the bed was literally the worst I’ve slept on my entire life. Like, if there had been room I would have chosen the floor instead. It was this thick squishy, foam thing that, when sat or lied on, flattened into a sort of taco-like shape where your bum was hitting the frame but shoulders and back were folded up. My head hit the metal bar all night. Also, I was on the top bunk, so trying to climb into this thing with nothing to grab was like mounting a marshmallow. Even an worn old spring mattress would have been preferable. Nothing against the staff, I just can’t recommend anyone stay here for this reason.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Susan R wrote a review Jan 2020
Ottawa, Canada158 contributions21 helpful votes
We rented a room with a comfortable bunk (single up top, 3/4 down below. Upper bunk access easy for those over 50. Sufficient floor space for luggage and bags. Parking is down the stairs out back. The property was sparsely occupied during our stay due to road washouts in the area during the month of our visit, which made time in the kitchen and showers rather private and unhurried. Roomy, secure showers with good hair dryer. The kitchen is well stocked with the essentials. The wifi is excellent. Definitely recommended for an affordable, comfortable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
WomanOfTheWorld09 wrote a review Dec 2019
Moscow, Russia580 contributions238 helpful votes
The worst place I have ever seen - not recommended to anyone. The room is shittty - booking.com pic didn’t convey the poor reality. There was no info that all bathrooms are shared and close at 11 pm for guests. We had to lose money and move to another place for overnight stay as this one can only be taken if u r totally desperate. John, the owner, is a very unpleasant person that treats his guests in a rude way. I don’t recommend anyone to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from VIS2407, Owner at Mountain Jade Backpackers
Responded 24 Jan 2020
This person and companion arrived late at night , clearly very travel weary and became disgruntled when she realized she had made a mistake and booked a private room with shared facility , demanding a refund ($61) . She insisted dot .com had incorrectly described the room which is simply rubbish . She became very intimidating ,bulling and my wife became very upset at her demeanor , and in the the end , she was asked to leave the building. Her behavior was simply unacceptable in this (most) countries . Woman of the World Grow Up
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lynda c wrote a review Oct 2019
21 contributions
Very friendly homely hostel . Would have happily stayed longer. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Very clean and spacious rooms and great free breakfast. Amazing value for money . Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Coastal583983 wrote a review May 2019
16 contributions2 helpful votes
This hostel was brilliant, very clean, cosy and friendly. The manager (Viviane) was great and made such an effort with the hostel as well as being fun and chatty with all the guests. She even took us in her car to see the glow worms when it was pouring with rain. There is a free breakfast here as well which is a great bonus if you're backpacking on a budget. I would definitely recommend this hostel!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tamara D wrote a review Apr 2019
Buenos Aires, Argentina32 contributions1 helpful vote
Located on top of a Jade-crafting store near the town centre. It has a nice view, it’s near the beach and Hokitika sunsets are a must. Nice well-equipped kitchen and dining room. We arrived after 6 and they had left everything ready for us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bayjb wrote a review Apr 2019
Milwaukee, Wisconsin336 contributions185 helpful votes
This is the best hostel WiFi I’ve had in NZ. Honestly. It’s super fast and reliable. Hostel is attached to a jade store and coffee shop, next to the clock tower. Parking is available on the street or in the lot behind the building. Don’t worry if it says P60 or other numbers, cars can stay there overnight. Hostel is also cozy and relaxing. Big common area with tons of tables and couches, nice kitchen, shower room and bedrooms. Beds are comfy and it’s quiet outside at night. Huge power strip for charging too in each room. Manager lives on site and is very nice and helpful. It’s 40-ish minutes to Greymouth and 1.25 hours to Pancake rocks, both good day trips. Would recommend this place and would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hokitika area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionHokitika
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MOUNTAIN JADE BACKPACKERS - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Hokitika) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Mountain Jade Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Mountain Jade Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Wilderness Gallery (0.2 km), Hokitika Beach (0.3 km), and Bonz 'N Stonz Carving Studio (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mountain Jade Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Is parking available at Mountain Jade Backpackers?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mountain Jade Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Hokitika Sandwich Company, Fat Pipi Pizzas, and Stumpers Bar and Cafe.
Does Mountain Jade Backpackers have airport transportation?
Yes, Mountain Jade Backpackers offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Mountain Jade Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Hokitika.