We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Aachen Place Motel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (10)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#7 of 11 motels in Greymouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
"Welcome to Aachen Place Motel - Friendly Greymouth Accommodation Aachen Place Motel, Greymouth is a centrally-located motel offering comfortable, peaceful, and attractive accommodation for families, business travelers, groups, sports teams, individuals - anyone visiting the beautiful West Coast. Hosted by Barry and Michelle, we provide friendly West Coast hospitality and go the extra distance to ensure you have an enjoyable stay in Greymouth. We are centrally located, close to Aquatic Centre, Westland Sports Stadium and Hockey Turf, making Aachen the perfect location. Also, it’s only 100 metres to a restaurant, bar where we offer meal chargebacks, and close to a supermarket, and 2kms to the town Centre. We’re only 2.3 kms from the train station, and offer pick up from the train station on request."
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Desk
Dining area
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English
140Reviews0Q+A20Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 61
  • 56
  • 16
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
DaveMalvern wrote a review Mar 2024
Great Malvern, United Kingdom85 contributions60 helpful votes
Very easy to find, conveniently situated on the main road through Greymouth. Spotlessly clean room, cooking facilities with a breakfast bar with stools. There’s a New World supermarket just down the road, plus they have menus from several nearby pubs and restaurants if you want to eat out which is most useful. You have to wonder why more places don’t offer it. Very comfortable bed, great shower. Would visit again and recommend to all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lee G wrote a review Oct 2023
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam2 contributions2 helpful votes
I have nothing but the highest praise for the incredible service and hospitality we all received at Aalchen Place Hotel. Michelle, the manager, went beyond the call of duty to help us with our transportation challenges. She was unbelievably accommodating and willing to do whatever she could to ensure that our stay was a very pleasant and comfortable one. The beds were so very comfortable with the rooms, themselves, impeccably clean and beautifully presented. Thank you, Michelle, for all you did for us. Lee (one of the 5 ‘mad’ Aussies).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t bother staying anywhere else! Michelle (owner/manager) has a wealth of information about...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
springbanktraveller wrote a review Oct 2023
Callgary872 contributions133 helpful votes
+1
Very friendly owners and most helpful. The garden was full of flowering roses. The room was excellent, fairly spacious, internet and WiFi and a kitchenette with fridge, crockery and microwavve. However there was no desk to use with a lack of plug ins to use a computer and it was a tight fit in the kitchen to do so. The bathroom is small but adequate and nice amenities It is a 10 minute drive to the central business area, station and bus terminal. I was given a discount card for the nearby pub/restaurant. Not far along the road, a 5 minute walk is a large grocery store.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Easy drive or taxi from the train station or bus terminal
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Duncan wrote a review Feb 2023
Greenock, United Kingdom38 contributions3 helpful votes
We stayed for one night as part of our two day trip to Greymouth on the Trans Alpine Train. The Hotel offers a collection service from/to the Railway station which we used and this added to our enjoyable stay at the Motel. Room was spacious and comfortable and we ate at the nearby Buccleughs restaurant which was excellent. After we had checked out, I discovered that I had left my hat at the Motel - they messaged me to let me know and they happily drove into town to meet me and return the hat. Superb service !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John Sheehan wrote a review Apr 2022
Lower Hutt, New Zealand447 contributions199 helpful votes
Nicely- located close to the Greymouth CBD. Great hosts who were very helpful and allowed us to leave our car there why we did the Wilderness Trail. Internet connection was very good. The kitchen was well-appointed with a stove top if required.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Martin R wrote a review Apr 2022
33 contributions46 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights and comfortable and clean. Had a very nice outdoor communal eating area…picnic table and umbrella and in a nicely landscaped area. Had Sky sport and m9vies and internet that seemed to last longer than normal.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Daniele R wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Cold night. No heating on. We couldn’t get the electric heater to work. The lady in charge couln’t either as she visibly had no idea how it worked. Pretended it worked, which it clearly didn’t. Became rude when advised we would have to change accomodation. Who needs this ? We did get our money back, but after 45 minutes of this, at an already late hour, that is still a very long way from an apology. When asked where we should go she just said: you’re going to have to look for another pplace. Guess what. We did !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Firstly, we always have our heating on for those that have pre booked a room so it is lovely and warm when our guests arrive. Not our empty rooms at 8.45pm at night. Secondly, the heater as you called it, is a newly installed Heat Pump which works perfectly well. However if you push every button on the remote over and over the Heat Pump would need to be re-set. Once the re-set button on the Heat Pump is pushed, it does take a few minutes for it to re-set. If you don't give it time to re-set, and start pushing buttons again - you would need to re-set it again which is what happened. By the time you put your bags back into your vehicle and returned to reception the Heat Pump was going fine. Thirdly, We did not advise you change accommodation, this was your decision, and you are right "Who needs this", we don't at 9pm at night!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cfma2000 wrote a review Jun 2021
Melbourne, Australia144 contributions83 helpful votes
A one night stop after arriving from Christchurch. Lovely 2 bedroom unit. Clean, comfortable unit with a well-equipped kitchen including full oven and stovetop. Walking distance to restaurants and supermarket.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nigpat wrote a review May 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand528 contributions31 helpful votes
Perfectly located and even though you are on a main road you don't hear traffic. The suite we had was spacious with a large bathroom, good sized bedroom and perfect lounge/kitchenette. The rooms were clean and very well presented. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of pillows were supplied. The kitchenette had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. A great place to stay at a reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your review, pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Danny T wrote a review Apr 2021
Rotorua, New Zealand51 contributions5 helpful votes
I rang rather than booking online and got a better deal. Our room was spotless and the bed comfy. A heatpump kept us cozy as the weather was wet and cold. Would not hesitate to stay here again. A short drive into town.is a plus.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Glad you enjoyed our recently refurbished studio's. Thank you for your review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Greymouth area.
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aachen place hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionGreymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AACHEN PLACE MOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Greymouth) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aachen Place Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Aachen Place Motel?
Nearby attractions include West Coast Wilderness Trail (1.1 km), Westland Recreation Centre (0.2 km), and Dixon Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aachen Place Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Aachen Place Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Aachen Place Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Aachen Place Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aachen Place Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buccleugh's on High, Jimmy Cook's Kiwi Kitchen Greymouth, and Priya Indian Restaurant.
Are there any historical sites close to Aachen Place Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shantytown Heritage Park (8.4 km).
Is Aachen Place Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.