We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
50 High Street, Greymouth 7805 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$83
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/06/22
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#10 of 20 in Greymouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Aachen Place Motel - Friendly Greymouth Accommodation Aachen Place Motel, Greymouth is a centrally-located motel offering comfortable, peaceful, and attractive accommodation for families, business travellers, groups, sports teams, individuals - anyone visiting the beautiful West Coast. Hosted by Barry and Michelle, we provide friendly West Coast hospitality and go the extra distance to ensure you have an enjoyable stay in Greymouth. We are centrally located, close to Aquatic Centre, Westland Sports Stadium and Hockey Turf, making Aachen the perfect location. Also, it’s only 100 metres to a restaurant, bar where we offer meal chargebacks, and close to a supermarket, and 2kms to the town centre. We’re only 2.3 kms from the train station, and offer pick up from the train station on request. Please be aware, we require all guests to provide their vaccination pass upon arrival
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Self-serve laundry
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English
136Reviews0Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 58
  • 56
  • 15
  • 3
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
k2LoFlyaNZ wrote a review Apr 2022
Lower Hutt, New Zealand402 contributions168 helpful votes
Nicely- located close to the Greymouth CBD. Great hosts who were very helpful and allowed us to leave our car there why we did the Wilderness Trail. Internet connection was very good. The kitchen was well-appointed with a stove top if required.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Martin R wrote a review Apr 2022
32 contributions45 helpful votes
Stayed 2 nights and comfortable and clean. Had a very nice outdoor communal eating area…picnic table and umbrella and in a nicely landscaped area. Had Sky sport and m9vies and internet that seemed to last longer than normal.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Daniele R wrote a review Jun 2021
1 contribution
Cold night. No heating on. We couldn’t get the electric heater to work. The lady in charge couln’t either as she visibly had no idea how it worked. Pretended it worked, which it clearly didn’t. Became rude when advised we would have to change accomodation. Who needs this ? We did get our money back, but after 45 minutes of this, at an already late hour, that is still a very long way from an apology. When asked where we should go she just said: you’re going to have to look for another pplace. Guess what. We did !
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Firstly, we always have our heating on for those that have pre booked a room so it is lovely and warm when our guests arrive. Not our empty rooms at 8.45pm at night. Secondly, the heater as you called it, is a newly installed Heat Pump which works perfectly well. However if you push every button on the remote over and over the Heat Pump would need to be re-set. Once the re-set button on the Heat Pump is pushed, it does take a few minutes for it to re-set. If you don't give it time to re-set, and start pushing buttons again - you would need to re-set it again which is what happened. By the time you put your bags back into your vehicle and returned to reception the Heat Pump was going fine. Thirdly, We did not advise you change accommodation, this was your decision, and you are right "Who needs this", we don't at 9pm at night!
Read more
cfma2000 wrote a review Jun 2021
Melbourne, Australia134 contributions77 helpful votes
A one night stop after arriving from Christchurch. Lovely 2 bedroom unit. Clean, comfortable unit with a well-equipped kitchen including full oven and stovetop. Walking distance to restaurants and supermarket.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Read more
Nigpat wrote a review May 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand499 contributions23 helpful votes
Perfectly located and even though you are on a main road you don't hear traffic. The suite we had was spacious with a large bathroom, good sized bedroom and perfect lounge/kitchenette. The rooms were clean and very well presented. The bed was very comfortable and plenty of pillows were supplied. The kitchenette had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful. A great place to stay at a reasonable price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Michelle Twist, Owner at Aachen Place Motel
Responded 2 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your review, pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$81 - US$90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aachen place hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionGreymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Aachen Place Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Aachen Place Motel?
Nearby attractions include West Coast Wilderness Trail (1.1 km), Westland Recreation Centre (0.2 km), and Dixon Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aachen Place Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Aachen Place Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Aachen Place Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Aachen Place Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aachen Place Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buccleugh's on High, Priya Indian Restaurant, and Santa Fe Milk Bar.
Are there any historical sites close to Aachen Place Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Shantytown Heritage Park (8.4 km).
Is Aachen Place Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.