We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park

4464 State Highway 73 Jackson's, Greymouth 7840 New Zealand
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson's Holiday Park is the only Camping/RV Park on the Great Alpine Highway 73 linking Christchurch on the East Coast with the ever changing and diverse West Coast. Set on fifteen acres of beautifully terraced powered, non powered and tent sites allowing stunning views of the mighty Taramakau River, snow capped mountains of the Southern Alps, waterfalls and of course our own stunning NZ native rain forest. We boast accommodation for all budgets, from our cosy cabins, self-contained units and camp sites that are large, private and set amongst native bush providing a peaceful, relaxing, eco-friendly environment for your complete enjoyment. Unique to New Zealand are our innovative covered large barns each with private bays, fresh water, power and a panoramic window to take in the alpine & river views while of course keeping you dry or shaded from the beautifully unpredictable West Coast Rain Forest weather. Camp facilities for your enjoyment include a modern self-catering kitchen complete with pots, pan, cutlery and crockery, comfortable lounge and dining area complete with TV and log fire, beautifully appointed spacious heated bathrooms with exceptional free showers. We also boast a large access facility, coin operated laundry facilities, washing line & Peg's free BBQ, free adult bike hire, baby bath, high chair, WIFI hot spot & internet station, DVD hire and on site dump station. Visit our pantry for your basic or not so basic camping requirements, order fresh home made bread, our own free range eggs and also from our own tunnel house seasonal veggies. Jackson's are extremely proud of our awards, we welcome and thank you in advance for your comments and views: Qualmark 5 Star, Enviro Gold, Ranker's Supreme Winner - Voted by Travellers like you, Lonely Planet "Superb Facilities, Exceptional & Stacks of Excellence", Trip Advisor "Award of Excellence", Reverse Group "Award for Innovation" 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 Jackson's Holiday Park is located 33 km's West of Arthurs Pass, 800mtrs West of The Historic Jackson Tavern (ideal for that much required Pub Meal) and 33 kms due South of the Township Moana & the locally famous Lake Brunner which is full of the best kept secret - Trout on your doorstep. Jackson's Holiday Park is where your Tramping, Hiking, Fishing, Skiing, Kayaking or just Chilling Out Alpine Camping Holiday starts. We have our own walking tracks to either The Spectacular "Glow Worm" Waterfall or to see an Old Quartz Mine and relics, paddle in the crystal clear steams or take a dip in the waterfalls natural swimming hole and don't forget to see our very own Glow Worm Dells throughout the park. Don't just spend a night, enjoy our facilities for as long as your able, get to know the locals - the very inquisitive and cheeky resident Weka's. NZ Native Kereru (Wood Pigeon), listen to the courus of Bellbirds & Tui's and if your extremely fortunate our onsite Kiwi's may take a peek at you from under the cover of darkness and a Kea or two might fly over your campsite! Owners, Darren and Toni welcome you and are here to help you plan your extended stay, day trip or advise on local attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Paid Wifi
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Paid Internet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Hokitika Airport43 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
152
10
3
0
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
152
10
3
0
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glow worms arthur's pass goat holiday park pizza oven homemade bread south island the kitchen the owner forest walk beautiful waterfall satellite internet wood fire one night fresh eggs camper van star quality
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

owners very very rude. always spying on camera and if you do sometime they will immediate come up and tell you off. also checked with other campers same opinion about the owners.only wise people will go there. I will never recommend to my enemies even...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Prakash R
Response from Darren I, Owner at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday ParkResponded 3 days ago

Unfortunately we did not meet your expectations. Cameras are for the security of our guests and also our property, you were taken to task regarding your groups actions for this we will not apologize.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Spending our first night in NZ, and Jackson’s Retreat made it good. With hungry tummies, we fixed our dinner rather quickly in our barn, thanks to the well equipped kitchen and BBQ facilities. We sought solace in the comfy beds, to get over the jet...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank PiggySue2014
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This honestly was the best camping we have stayed at. It was clean, the kitchen was very spacious and the showers are nothing like a camping shower! (In a good way) You can also see glowworms if you want, wich my husband did enjoy. If...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank MH9013
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Even i travel a lot... I am very slack to write reviews... but i felt i should write the review about this property... Located in wonderful location... Outstanding Amenities.... very clean and toilets and bathroom... standard of five star hotels.... friendly owner... lovely garden... overall...More

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank 356anandkumark
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This site is just the best place to visit if you are thinking of Arthur’s Pass or not, much appreciated friendly welcome with helpful very local walks. It is definitely a retreat in the middle of the alpine area. Highly recommend a night stop over...More

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank V2847GNjanetm
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ShaneA476
9 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Darren I | Property representative |
Good morning, yes we are pooch friendly with normal responsible pooch ownership camp rules. When booking through our website please note that you will be bringing your dog, regards Toni
0
Votes
KiwiSanj
22 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Darren I | Property representative |
For this enquiry I suggest you call as there are other factors regarding long term storage that need to be considered before a annual rate is provided, please note that we are also able to offer undercover storage, thanks... More
1
Vote
KiwiSanj
22 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Darren I | Property representative |
Hello, Lake Brunner is the locals best kept secret for Trout fishing, local fishing guide is Brent Beadle based in Moana, there are no Salmon fishing guides in the area but the Taramakau River is Salmon grounds.
1
Vote
Room Tips
"The retro camper van is the coolest!"
aaronsJ580ZD
4 Apr 2018
Read review
"Not hotel but campsite"
barrettg41
5 Jan 2018
Read review
"We were in a campervan"
nicholashgay
10 Dec 2017
Read review
"All sites offer great views, lower sites get the last of the evening sun"
jamesrR9296KI
1 Nov 2017
Read review
Show More 
PRICE RANGE
US$30 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionGreymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing