We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park

Save
Share
4464 State Highway 73 Jackson's, Greymouth 7840 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Booking.com
Agoda.com
US$22
View deal
Priceline
FindHotelUS$22
EtripUS$22
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (152)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#3 of 18 Specialty lodging in Greymouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Jackson's Holiday Park is the only Camping/RV Park on the Great Alpine Highway 73 linking Christchurch on the East Coast with the ever changing and diverse West Coast. Set on fifteen acres of beautifully terraced powered, non powered and tent sites allowing stunning views of the mighty Taramakau River, snow capped mountains of the Southern Alps, waterfalls and of course our own stunning NZ native rain forest. We boast accommodation for all budgets, from our cosy cabins, self-contained units and camp sites that are large, private and set amongst native bush providing a peaceful, relaxing, eco-friendly environment for your complete enjoyment. Unique to New Zealand are our innovative covered large barns each with private bays, fresh water, power and a panoramic window to take in the alpine & river views while of course keeping you dry or shaded from the beautifully unpredictable West Coast Rain Forest weather. Camp facilities for your enjoyment include a modern self-catering kitchen complete with pots, pan, cutlery and crockery, comfortable lounge and dining area complete with TV and log fire, beautifully appointed spacious heated bathrooms with exceptional free showers. We also boast a large access facility, coin operated laundry facilities, washing line & Peg's free BBQ, free adult bike hire, baby bath, high chair, WIFI hot spot & internet station, DVD hire and on site dump station. Visit our pantry for your basic or not so basic camping requirements, order fresh home made bread, our own free range eggs and also from our own tunnel house seasonal veggies. Jackson's are extremely proud of our awards, we welcome and thank you in advance for your comments and views: Qualmark 5 Star, Enviro Gold, Ranker's Supreme Winner - Voted by Travellers like you, Lonely Planet "Superb Facilities, Exceptional & Stacks of Excellence", Trip Advisor "Award of Excellence", Reverse Group "Award for Innovation" 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 Jackson's Holiday Park is located 33 km's West of Arthurs Pass, 800mtrs West of The Historic Jackson Tavern (ideal for that much required Pub Meal) and 33 kms due South of the Township Moana & the locally famous Lake Brunner which is full of the best kept secret - Trout on your doorstep. Jackson's Holiday Park is where your Tramping, Hiking, Fishing, Skiing, Kayaking or just Chilling Out Alpine Camping Holiday starts. We have our own walking tracks to either The Spectacular "Glow Worm" Waterfall or to see an Old Quartz Mine and relics, paddle in the crystal clear steams or take a dip in the waterfalls natural swimming hole and don't forget to see our very own Glow Worm Dells throughout the park. Don't just spend a night, enjoy our facilities for as long as your able, get to know the locals - the very inquisitive and cheeky resident Weka's. NZ Native Kereru (Wood Pigeon), listen to the courus of Bellbirds & Tui's and if your extremely fortunate our onsite Kiwi's may take a peek at you from under the cover of darkness and a Kea or two might fly over your campsite! Owner, Max welcomes you and we are here to help you plan your extended stay, day trip or advise on local attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Paid wifi
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family

Location

Full view
Contact
4464 State Highway 73 Jackson's, Greymouth 7840 New Zealand
Getting there
Hokitika Airport43 kmSee all flights
Christchurch Intl Airport117 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
240Reviews5Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 206
  • 16
  • 6
  • 0
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Paula M wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Loved the location, waterfall and fresh mountain water. Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere, clean facilities and everything u need or might have forgotten to bring available in kitchen. Stayed 2 nights in tent... only gripe was ground very rocky so bent some of our tent pegs. Nearly got lost trekking to the old quartz mine so hope the way gets cleared or better marked before others venture there. Will definitely be back sometime!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Nz Family wrote a review Dec 2021
4 contributions
What a beautiful location, far enough off the road so no road noise. And the bird song! Beautiful landscaping. Facilities have everything you need. A surprise was the camp store, we bought honey which was very well priced and eggs which were huge. Thank you Chris for your warm welcome and helpfulness, we will come again for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxim Vassiliev, Owner at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Responded 23 Dec 2021
Excellent!!! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. The Glow Worms were a real treat last night after all the rain had stopped. We love our yummy honey too :)
Read more
Shel H wrote a review Jul 2021
4 contributions2 helpful votes
Second time we have stayed here in a camper van. The park is beautifully laid out, with nice firm gravelled sites that are level and give you a good amount of space. Lovely natural surroundings with lots of native bush and bird life around. The facilities are fantastic, especially the bathrooms. A really good place to stay before heading off further into the West Coast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxim Vassiliev, Owner at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Thanks for staying at our park, we appreciate your patronage.
Read more
Frankly Frank wrote a review Jul 2021
Ohope, New Zealand20 contributions4 helpful votes
It’s a shame we only stayed one night. The site was well structured nestled in the mountain valley. A perfect place to rest after Arthur’s Pass The main dining area was well provisioned with a welcoming log fire and comfy chairs to relax into the chilly night with a nice cup of hot chocolate. We explored the glow worms and the nearby waterfall. I would definitely make this a stopping point for any journey in the area. It is a little expensive, but given the remote location I can understand why
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxim Vassiliev, Owner at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Responded 14 Dec 2021
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience. The Glow Worms are are definitely majestic!
Read more
Ingrid C wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution
We were unable to stay as arrived without food. There was no pantry nor the foods stated in the information and the Tavern 800metres away closed in 2016. We lost $155.00 as we booked thru booking.com. We travelled onto Arthur’s Pass in our Motor Home, a further 40 minutes drive and to avoid back tracking as we were travelling from Greymouth to Christchurch, we found accommodation and food. The owner was apologetic. Retreat info needs updating. We are unable to have our review accepted on booking.com
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxim Vassiliev, Owner at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Responded 19 Jul 2021
Hi Ingrid, Sorry to hear, but you will be happy to know that we have new managers who have removed the info about the tavern as well as other outdated info on the website so no-one else has the same problem. We would love to see you back in the future. Jacksons Retreat Management Team
Read more
Sandra R wrote a review Feb 2021
Leeston, New Zealand51 contributions6 helpful votes
What a pleasure it was to come here! Friendly service, and a beautifully clean and well maintained property. Dog friendly; which is wonderful. Lots of little walks into the Bush where in the evenings you could see glow worms. They even provided red cellophane so the torch light didn't scare them! One beautiful small waterfall, and a larger one on DOC land (about 30min walk). Will stay there again! Kitchen and ablutions block were well stocked and clean. You can even put your tent up under cover!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxim Vassiliev, Owner at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Thank you for such a fantastic review, we are trying to make this a beautiful spot for everyone to enjoy each time they stay with us.
Read more
Keiron wrote a review Feb 2021
Kinloch, New Zealand71 contributions46 helpful votes
Gorgeous spot, in the middle of nowhere (or that’s what it felt like), so peaceful. Great security, excellent facilities and a bush walk with glow worms if you feel like getting outdoors. Showers were good and everything was very clean and tidy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxim Vassiliev, Owner at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Thank you for staying with us, we really enjoy our customers and the infectious joy that they bring to our motor park & campground.
Read more
vcoopz wrote a review Oct 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand27 contributions1 helpful vote
Our wee family of 3 (2 adults, 1 child) stayed here for 2 nights over Labour Weekend 2020 in our campervan at a powered site. The first day we arrived the weather was glorious, and then unfortunately the following 36 hours were actually the wettest on record in the country! (sigh, just our luck.) However, despite the weather, we had an incredible time. The grounds are gorgeous, with amazing birds like Tui's, Bellbirds, Kereru (wood pigeons), and Wekas galore! We did a walk up to the waterfall which was incredible, and experienced an amazing glow worm dell on the first night which was so magical. The facilities are fantastic, with the kitchens and bathrooms being super clean (not to mention the free showers!) We absolutely loved our stay and will certainly be back again, with hopefully nicer weather next time!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxim Vassiliev, Owner at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Thank you for your stay, we think we have a very special spot in this part of an otherwise amazing country.
Read more
mhfoodie2016 wrote a review Oct 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand12 contributions1 helpful vote
Amazing facilities. Friendly engaging host. Short walk to stunning waterfall and glow worms on this property. Cleanist showers and toilets I've seen in a long while. Relax and enjoy. This is a must do. Loved it 😍
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxim Vassiliev, Owner at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Responded 14 Dec 2021
So glad you got to stay with us.
Read more
Sarah W wrote a review Oct 2020
Wellington, New Zealand22 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed here in the middle of a terrible storm and it was still absolutely awesome. We basically had it to ourselves. The communal areas are incredible and spotlessly clean. The owners are so lovely and accommodating. The glow Worms are amazing too. Definitely worth a visit and deserving of the great reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Maxim Vassiliev, Owner at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Thanks for your review, our West Coast storms are definitely something to behold!!!!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$21 - US$26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionGreymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park
What are some of the property amenities at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and internet access.
What food & drink options are available at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are pets allowed at Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Jackson's Retreat Alpine Holiday Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.