We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Cheviot Park Motor Lodge

Corner SH 1, Western Hills Dr. & Cheviot St., Whangarei 0110 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (30)
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 17 motels in Whangarei
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The best place to stay in Whangarei, Cheviot Park Motor Lodge and Conference Center is situated in Whangarei, just 2 hour's drive from Auckland and less than 1 hour from the Bay of Islands. It is conveniently located on State Highway 1, only 1km from Whangarei city center, 650m from Whangarei Hospital and close to most sporting venues. All accommodation is on the ground floor with free secure parking outside the units. All of the Motel rooms are Air Conditioned and have MySky Guest Select 50+ with my sky enabled. We also have EV Chargers for Tesla and other Makes of Electric Vehicle.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Electric vehicle charging station
Car park
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English
135Reviews0Q+A38Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 53
  • 10
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mountdad wrote a review Feb 2024
Kyoto, Japan4 contributions
We stayed in a warm month for 2 days. Generally it was a good motel as per the listing. Good things were: - Cooking facilities were ok for 3 with a small kitchen, fridge, hotplate & microwave. They can provide breakfast. - Wifi was very good which I guess it needs to be as they provide Freeview but suggest you log in for Netflix etc. - Aircon was also very good & with their huge solar bank we felt fine about leaving it on all night. - Beds were OK but not great. - Pool was refreshing. Unheated but very nice on a hot day. - Motel is just off SH1, easy to find & close to town, super markets, banks etc. - Shower is strong & had plenty of hot water. Heated towel rail so your towels could really dry. - Generally clean & well maintained Moans & niggles - Motel is just off SH1 so you hear all the hoons in their loud cars - Aircon is in the main room so to keep the seperate bedroom cool you need to leave the door wide open - Shower could use some bleach sprayed around - No hooks in bathroom or bedrooms for clothes, towels or robes - We found the lights to be a bit dim to read by - If your unit is either side of the laundry you will hear the dryer when it is in use Would we stay again? For sure, although preferably not next to the laundry & maybe not on Fri/Sat if we needed a good sleep (boy racer noise)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: 4 out of 5. See review for the small moans & niggles that might bug you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AllanJane_11 wrote a review Sept 2023
Melbourne, Australia422 contributions161 helpful votes
I had booked this motel based on the photos and reviews, unfortunately they did not match reality. Our one bedroom unit was cluttered with a single bed and bed settee with dirty cover in the lounge making the area cramped. Whilst the kitchen as well equipped it was quite dated. The bed was comfortable but the window didn't close properly allowing road noise in. People smoking in the courtyard outside their rooms was also unpleasant if you left a door or window open, I accept that people smoke but when it wafts into rooms I find it difficult.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Hodgson, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Responded 27 Sept 2023
Hi AllanJane, Thank you for your booking and taking the time to review our Motel. We are sorry that your expectations were not met. We don’t have a booking under you name, but we are confident that we know which room you stayed in. We have inspected the room and cannot find a window that does not close, or the dirty cover you mentioned. We have recently (before you stayed) had a Window Service and Repairman go through all of our rooms. This is a regular maintenance job for us. We think that the new window catch or security stay might have required a bit of extra effort, but we are not sure. We would have been happy to assist you with any of the problems you had during your stay with us. We are available from 7AM to 8:30PM and have an urgent afterhours answer service for matters that need to be addressed outside those hours. As far as the room being cluttered and the photographs not being representative of our rooms goes, our website photographs at https://cheviotpark.co.nz/one-bedroom-suite show various perspectives of our rooms. We think these are accurate and don’t see a way we can improve on them. We are also renovating our rooms as we have the opportunity. We would have been happy to assist you with your booking and recommend a newly renovated room to you if we had the opportunity. While we sympathise with your displeasure of second-hand smoke, we can only suggest that closing the window or door might have been a good solution. We may ban smoking altogether at some point however we don’t usually have any complaints about the outdoors smoking areas. If you ever travel back to Whangarei you might like to consider one of our Three-Bedroom houses for a family of four they are cheaper per person, and as the name suggests providing three bedrooms with six beds in total, a lounge, Kitchen, Dining room, Toilet and Bathroom. The Houses are very popular with families and larger groups. We may also be able to recommend other properties more in keeping with your expectations and tastes. We hope that the rest of your trip went well, and you all arrived home safe and sound. Regards Tim and Jan Hodgson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
stephen m wrote a review Mar 2023
Lancashire, United Kingdom20 contributions
We just spent 6 nights at the Cheviot park motel, very clean good size for a studio apartment with plenty of storage very comfy bed everything you need in kitchen for cooking . It is well located for traveling around and getting into the town you can walk to the Town Basin in 30 minutes.The only downside is that it is next to the main road so can be a little noisey at times but don’t let this put you off. Finally the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Hodgson, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Responded 7 Apr 2023
Hi Stephen, Thank you for choosing our Motel and for your review! We appreciate your feed back and kind words. Please let us know if we can do anything for you in the future. If you book directly with us we can offer you a better rate than those listed with the Online agencies and also book the best room we have available for you based on your prefrences. Hvae a safe trip :) regards Tim and Jan Hodgson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
George and Patr... L wrote a review Feb 2023
19 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and I recently booked into this motel for just one night, I was scheduled to have surgery at Whangarei Hospital and chose this motel from the AA book ,,we needed to be at the Hospital at 7.00am and with the recent Cyclone and road closures thought it would be wise to be close by. From the moment we booked in the receptionist was so nice and helpful and we could see the motel was set in gorgeous surroundings. The one bedroomed unit was so clean and comfortable and we had everything we needed. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to friends and family . What a shame we didn’t stay longer the pool and spa pool looked amazing, Happy to give this review as they are most deserving. Patti and George Line, Mangawhai Heads, NZ
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Responded 18 Feb 2023
Hi Pati and George, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely review. We hope that your trip to the hospital went as well as it could. We appreciate your feedback and have passed it on to our staff. Our Cleaners and Groundsman take pride in what they do, and it is great to be able to share your words with them. Please let us know if we can assist you when you next travel to Whangarei. Please remember we can offer the best rates and service when you book directly with us. Regards Tim and Jan Hodgson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard M wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions
What a great apartment! The facilities were clean, the staff friendly and the location was perfect for us. It is just a short walk into town. We will definitely use this again when we are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Responded 26 Dec 2022
Hi Richard, thank you for your booking and your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will be able to assist you the next time you travel to Whangarei. Please dont forget to let us know if you have any prefrences when you book so that we can do our best to make you comfortable while you are with us. We can offer the best rates and service when our guests book directley with us. Safe Travels :) regards Tim and Jan Hodgson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KaziaMoana wrote a review Jun 2022
Dargaville, New Zealand26 contributions3 helpful votes
My husband and I have stayed here on several occasions, both alone and with our kids. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. They have comfortable beds and the rooms are clean. I'm always happy when I am here
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Hi, thank you for your review and choosing to stay at our Motel. We are glad that you enjoy staying with us and look forward to being able to asist you in the future. regards Tim and Jan Hodgson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Thom L wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
When I searched for a motel, this room was classed as 4-star. It fell short of that rating. The room is old, worn out, dirty, carpet made my barefeet itchy, had to wear shoes in the room. Electric jug, cutlery, cups were dirty; bathroom and amenities were old, dusty toilet holder. Sheets were not tucked in bed. I will not go there again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Hi There, thank you for your booking. We are surprised to hear that you were so unhappy and sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We always welcome guest feedback, if you would have preferred a new room, we would have been happy to try and arrange that for you. We would have appreciated hearing from you while you stayed with us that you were dissatisfied so that we might have been able to do something about it. Unfortunately, when a booking is not made directly not only does a guest have to pay a higher rate through the online agencies, we also don’t have the opportunity to offer personalised service to acter to our guests. As a rule, we get very positive feedback and comments from our guests. We have investigated that room you stayed in and have not been able identify the faults you mentioned however we will so we will be using your feedback to encourage our staff. While some of our rooms are older than the others, we take pride it is providing clean and tidy rooms which are outfitted with whatever a guest might need. Our Motel rooms all have Air conditioning Free fast Wi-Fi and we have recently upgraded to new Smart TV's which can access all the digital subscriber services as well as 24 free view channels. We are renovating our rooms as we have the opportunity and have recently completed refurbishing our disability suite. We hope that the rest of your travels went well for you. Regards Tim and Jan Hodgson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Experience723639 wrote a review Mar 2022
2 contributions
I’m sorry I can’t give this place a good review. My room was very dirty, there was hair on one towel, an eyelash on the soap so it hadn’t been cleaned, dust on top of the toilet holder and on every wall sill and crumbs in the kitchen. Our carpet was quite stained and felt damp. I didn’t feel at all clean. The customer service was lovely but it wasn’t worth $160 especially as the pool and hot tub was closed which wasn’t in the advertising. I do apologise I don’t leave bad reviews, maybe I just got a very old room but it was not an enjoyable stay 😞
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Responded 24 Jun 2022
Hi Tabitha, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy. We will be looking into what we could have improved on. When guests book through the Online agencies we don’t really get the opportunity to offer choices in which room they are allocated. There should have been a pre arrival email sent to you three days before your arrival which you might have received through the booking.com messaging system, which informs you that the pools are closed. The timing of that email is deliberate in that it allows a Guest the opportunity to makes changes without attracting the online agencies late cancellation penalties. We are renovating our rooms as the opportunity allows. We did have a renovated room that we could have offered you if we had known you would have preferred one. The room you stayed in is the next on the list for an update. As far as the dust and crumbs go, we will talk to our cleaners about it. We make every effort to offer rooms that are clean and tidy and what you discovered is not acceptable. I am curious about the soaps; you should have had new soaps in individual packaging. Was that that case in your room? With omicron working its way through the community we have staff shortages as people isolate. Our experienced Cleaners are working a lot more hours and it is possible that some are not coping with the extra work. We have new people learning how to do the job, but they are usually supported by the rest of the team to avoid missing details. In any case we apologise for your disappointment. We appreciate you getting in touch to let us know about your experience. If we could offer a suggestion, we would recommend booking directly with accommodation providers where you can. The rate for the room we would have offered you would have been at least 7% less than the Overseas agencies might have charged you. In your case the commission we pay for the booking being through them instead of our website or directly was $ 19.90 They do offer special discounts at times for their registered customers, however if we can see proof of a rate they are offering, and it is in our local currency we can usually match it or better it. The Online agencies are based offshore and all the revenue they extract from local companies also goes offshore with little contribution to the local economy in wages or tax. We are also able to provide direct customer service and respond to requests and questions whereas the Online agencies do not of that other than indirectly through their messaging systems which they censor. Please let us know if there is anything that we can do for you. Stay safe.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dennis J wrote a review Nov 2020
Hamilton, New Zealand664 contributions324 helpful votes
Value for money it was fine. The unit was clean, the sheets and bed good, reception was helpful and friendly. It had a good bathroom arrangement and apart from a few minor things it all looked normal. It is close to a main road and the traffick noise is part of the deal.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim and Jan, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Responded 30 Jul 2021
Hi Dennis, thank you for your booking and your review. When you next stay with us please let us know that you would prefer a quiet room away from the road. We are more than happy to assist in selecting the best room for you when you make your booking. We hope that you have a great Holiday break and new year. regards Tim and Jan Hodgson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sunil K wrote a review May 2020
1 contribution
Tim and Jan at reception were very friendly and accommodating. Due to bad weather, we decided to change our bookings and leave early. They were very receptive to our concerns and did not mind it one bit. The room we got was great! It was clean and tidy, with double-glazed windows, so it turned out to be a short but very comfortable and peaceful stay. Since we were new to the area, Tim was also kind enough to offer suggestions on places to visit/eat, bearing in mind we had two young kids. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim H, Owner at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Responded 5 Jun 2020
Hi There, we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. It is a shame that the weather cut your trip to Whangarei short. With the Covid19 lock down being relaxed it would have been a shame to be stuck in doors in a Motel room while the storm passed! Please let us know if we can assist you when you make plans to travel North again We hope that you are safe and well. regards Tim and Jan Hodgson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whangarei area.
PRICE RANGE
$204 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionWhangarei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHEVIOT PARK MOTOR LODGE - Now $189 (Was $̶2̶1̶3̶) - UPDATED 2024 Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (Whangarei, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cheviot Park Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Cheviot Park Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Quarry Arts Centre (1.1 km), Piggery Bookshop (1.1 km), and The Whangarei Growers Market (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cheviot Park Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shiraz Haveli Indian Restaurant, Indian Aroma Restaurant, and Acropolis Cafe Bar & Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cheviot Park Motor Lodge?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Cheviot Park Motor Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Cheviot Park Motor Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.