We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei

Save
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (14)
Pool & Beach (9)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good37%
  • Average21%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“buffet meal”(4 reviews)
“hatea river”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
237 results
Traveller rating
70
84
49
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
70
84
49
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive studiobuffet mealhatea rivercomfortable roomseparate roomsa king size bedan upgradestay there againcentral locationroad noisegood sizeclose to townaccommodationstairwellkettlebasinfurnishings
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 237 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night over the weekend. Nice location as its got plenty parking and not too far from the town or the road out the coast . The room was ok a little chilly as there was a crack in the window but...More

Thank niamhs456
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We had a short overnight stay whilst travelling further north, and were happy with the quality and furnishings in our room, and enjoyed our morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the trees. Bed was very comfortable.

Thank Jaya1460
Response from DiscoverySettlers, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel WhangareiResponded 20 April 2018

Hi Jaya1460, Thanks for your comments and we hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable. Rgds Chris

Reviewed 1 April 2018

First and last time i will stay here , no air con in the room and the shower pressure was very weak , cockroaches , well too many too count! I travel for work often and this has to be the worst hotel ive stayed...More

Thank Blairnz36
Response from DiscoverySettlers61, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel WhangareiResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Blair, After you were refused service at the bar because of your behavior and asked to leave the restaurant and go back to your room that night, we never heard about any issue with the room that night or the day after. Your Travel...More

Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

The room was small but still a comfortable size for a night, and had a bath which was a nice surprise. I had to move some furniture in order to open the fridge though. It's a central location and the staff were very friendly and...More

Thank Jea M
Response from DiscoverySettlers61, General Manager at Discovery Settlers Hotel WhangareiResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Jea M, Thanks for the comments and sorry about the hair dryer. With our menu and the most expensive item at $32.00 for a steak or salmon, I do not believe it is overpriced. Rgds Chris

Reviewed 11 March 2018

This hotel is a bit basic, the rooms don't have aircon and the room we stayed in overlooked the lawn in front but there is a busy road there which is a bit noisy. The breakfast was uninspiring and access to the upper floor rooms...More

Thank Mike S
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Whangarei
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Room Service
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Conference Facilities
Room Service
Self-Serve Laundry
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pool
Details
Price range
US$68 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$68 - US$101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (26)
Room & Suite (14)
Pool & Beach (9)
Dining (8)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
pandmg
2 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DiscoverySettlers61 | Property representative |
Hi, Sorry we do not have AC in the rooms. Rgds Chris
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Upstairs and at the back is the quitest"
Read review
"We were in room 4. This was nice and tidy inside."
Read review
"Select one of the middle rooms as more space."
Read review
"Try to get a room further from the road to reduce the noise."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing