We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bella Vista Motel Whangarei

322 Western Hills Drive, Whangarei 0110 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (20)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 17 motels in Whangarei
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We welcome you to the Bella Vista Whangarei. This property has been assessed by Qualmark (independent accreditation) as 4 Star Plus quality accommodation with a Silver Sustainability Business Award. Whangarei is the hub of the Northland business district and the perfect base for your Northland adventure. From the moment you arrive you'll enjoy the convenience of being located in close proximity to the Whangarei CBD for business, shops, entertainment and other activities. At Bella Vista Whangarei we cater for all your business or recreational needs. We are easy to find on State Highway One just two hours north of Auckland and one-hour south of the beautiful Bay of Islands. We are the closest motel to Central Whangarei and easy walking distance to CBD for business or pleasure, just minutes from Forum North, Northland Events Centre, ASB Stadium Kensington and Whangarei Hospital. We have ample safe parking, leave your car, avoid parking issues, walk to work or explore. Our 18 superior smoke free units include a variety of studios and one bedroom units. Our purpose built access units have been designed with parking at the door for your convenience. You have a choice of king, queen or single beds . Unlimited free fibre WIFI is available with a spacious work desk in every room. Units vary from just tea and toast making facilities to those with cooking facilities. We offer evening meals charge back facilities, dine in or dine out.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Electric vehicle charging station
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
132Reviews0Q+A16Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 63
  • 54
  • 8
  • 4
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Stay37522197793 wrote a review 5 Apr
1 contribution
+1
The room is extremely clean and tidy , excellent conditions, friendly and helpful staff. Very convenient for Ev charging.Walk distance to town basin and shops .would like to comeback when we visit again.Had wonderful stay ,would recommend to everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Diane T wrote a review Mar 2024
Seattle, Washington3 contributions
First time driving in NZ so wasn’t sure which motels were good. Room was compact, colorfully decorated, everything worked great. Parking was easy, beds were comfortable, had a microwave & sink, coffee-making supplies. Worked perfectly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Parking assigned to each room. We had a compact car. NZ check-in 2pm-7pm. Check out is 10am...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Macmillan, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your very positive review Diane. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels and looking forward to see you in the future. Cindy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
leepgalvin wrote a review Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
We had booked a room for myself and daughter from Sunday the 28th until friday the 2nd of feb Unfortunately due to an error in the booking platform our request for a disabled access unit was not passed on and our room when we arrived was upstairs. The hosts Marilyn and Ray could not have ben more helpful. They displayed a level of professionalism and customer service rarely found in NZ. Within a short period of time they had completely rearranged an accessible unit to meet our needs. Dr Lea Galvin
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Macmillan, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Responded 4 Feb 2024
Thank you for your recent review Lea, it is greatly appreciated. I am very glad that we could make your stay with us enjoyable. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again if you are in Whangarei again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Philippa T wrote a review Oct 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand9 contributions2 helpful votes
Kia ora. Having stay at Bell Vista in Whangarei a number of times when working and studying away form home, it is a nice surprise to find a place that feels comfortable, clean and well presented. I always appreciated the warm and friendly service whenever I have made communication with the management. I recommend Bella Vista as a place to stay in Whangarei.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Macmillan, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Responded 15 Oct 2023
Thank you for your recent review, it is greatly appreciated. We are so glad that you always enjoy your stay with us. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Judith D wrote a review May 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand118 contributions73 helpful votes
The Bella Vista in Whangarei is our preferred option when visiting and up until now we have not been disappointed. On this visit - May 2023 - we were very disappointed. The unit was spotlessly clean, as usual. But, and here was the issue for us, we learned that there would be no cleaning of the unit during our stay and there would be no clean towels. So from the time we arrived on Friday until we left on Sunday we had no-one cleaning. Now you would think that we could ask at the office for clean towels but that was closed for most of Saturday. No one on site was very poor we thought. This motel is 4* plus so we would expect service to match and someone available when required. We expect beds to be made, linen replaced etc. If I had known that this would happen, I would not have stayed, and now after some years of being a returning customer we will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Macmillan, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Responded 17 May 2023
Thank your for your recent review Judith. We are sorry that your experience here last time was not to you liking. With regards to servicing your room during your stay, we were very short staffed that weekend, so only the minimum was done. You did have 4 towels in your room for 2 people. As for the office being closed most of Saturday, I was feeling unwell and did not want any guests to catch what I had so closed the office from 10am to 2pm. There was a ph number on the door if anyone needed anything at all. You only had to call. With staff shortages servicing is not always possible everyday. We do hope that you will consider coming back to stay with us again in the future. WE are also hoping that our staffing issues have now been addressed.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul L wrote a review May 2023
New Zealand166 contributions71 helpful votes
Alas only stayed 1 night after a stint in hospital....Sharon was absolutely hospitable and understanding that we MAY have to cancel at last minute. The room was spacious and impeccably clean and thoughtfully set up with quality crockery and cooking facilities. Very comfy bed with another 2 singles available as well. The spa bath was ...LUXURIOUS! If you need 2 or 3 nights ( or more!) then Bella Vista is a perfect place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Macmillan, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Responded 5 May 2023
Thank you Paul for you recent review. It is greatly appreciated. We are glad the the room was to you liking. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul U wrote a review Oct 2022
SW England274 contributions85 helpful votes
With Bella Vista, you can rest assured that your room will be very clean and comfortable, and the reception staff are polite and friendly. Whangarei Bella Vista is no different and makes for a great, relaxed stay. The rooms across the chain of motels are a bit smaller than private motels but are more than adequate for my needs. This is my second stay at Whangarei and if I ever make another trip to NZ, will happily stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Macmillan, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Responded 30 Oct 2022
Thank you Paul for your recent review. We are very pleased that we continue to meet your needs across the network. We would very much like to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mulibum wrote a review Jul 2022
Auckland25 contributions13 helpful votes
Stayed with my band of 7 recently and booking/check in and check out was a breeze. Will happily stay again! Stayed in the one bedroom and it was spacious and clean! Everything you want and reasonably priced!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Macmillan, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Responded 18 Jul 2022
Thank yo for your recent review it is greatly appreciated. We really enjoyed having you to stay with us while you were up here to preform for the staff and family at Marsden Point Oil Refinery. We do hope to see you again the next time you are up here to preform.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Judith D wrote a review May 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand118 contributions73 helpful votes
We had a ground floor apartment with separate bedroom. So clean as one would expect. Lovely bathroom with spa bath, excellent shower and plenty of space to put your toilet bag. Top service from friendly staff.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Macmillan, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Responded 20 May 2022
thankyou Judith for your recent review ii is greatly appreciated. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cheers2018 wrote a review Oct 2020
Tauranga, New Zealand83 contributions32 helpful votes
Very good location and easy to find. The room was a good size and very comfortable. Room was clean and tidy and service was very friendly. Shame they do not have cooked breakfast instead found a good cafe near by.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Sharon Macmillan, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Responded 22 Nov 2020
Thank you for your recent review, it is greatly appreciated. We are very glad that you found a nice café to have your breakfast. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whangarei area.
PRICE RANGE
$190 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionWhangarei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BELLA VISTA MOTEL WHANGAREI - Now $195 (Was $̶2̶3̶0̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bella Vista Motel Whangarei
Which popular attractions are close to Bella Vista Motel Whangarei?
Nearby attractions include Hundertwasser Art Centre with Wairau Māori Art Gallery (1.0 km), Town Basin (1.2 km), and Whangārei Art Museum (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bella Vista Motel Whangarei?
Conveniently located restaurants include Turmeric Indian Whangarei, Fat Camel, and Split Bar & Restaurant.
Is Bella Vista Motel Whangarei located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Whangarei.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bella Vista Motel Whangarei?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Is Bella Vista Motel Whangarei accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.