We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (40)
Dining (30)
Videos (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!15% off weekend getaways*
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#13 of 25 hotels in Whangarei
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, Comfort Hotel Flames offers you the ultimate environment to relax and enjoy the surroundings. The hotel complex is situated on the hills of Onerahi and overlooks the beautiful inner Whangarei harbour. All rooms are generously proportioned and equipped with fridges, tea and coffee making facilities, tiled en-suite bathroom (shower and bath), balcony, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. A restaurant on site with Kiwi, Asian and other dishes from around the globe.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Iron
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, Korean, Thai
Hotel links
Special Offer:15% off weekend getaways*
152Reviews1Q+A41Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 54
  • 23
  • 11
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Darrell S wrote a review 6 Apr
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand6 contributions7 helpful votes
Was given top treatment from the moment I walked in. I was part of a group and I arrived ahead of the others. Manager and staff went our of their way to welcome both myself and the others in the group after hours and throughout our stay. Many thanks team.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: All you need for a business trip. Quiet and clean.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Olivia wrote a review Jun 2022
16 contributions8 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We recently stayed at the Flames for a long weekend. We had to book via telephone and the staff member we talked to was very accommodating to fit in our family to one of their last available rooms. Every staff member we interacted with was incredibly friendly and professional. The room was warm, tidy and clean. Beds very comfortable. We called reception for the additional rollaway bed and it was there in an instant. Twice we ordered room service dinners and the service was fast with meals absolutely delicious. Heat pump in the room was incredible. After using it briefly to warm up the room, we didn't need to use it again overnight. Shower pressure very strong with lovely hot water. We would definitely stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jeannette wrote a review Nov 2023
Whangarei, New Zealand4 contributions
23 of us had a great Meal at Flames on Thursday night, l had the steak and l ask everyone at our table everyone enjoyed their meals, the staff were great and Manager was very helpful, we will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: We went Thursday night, not so busy!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Alison B wrote a review Nov 2023
Nelson, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
My partner booked a Hotel room here for us Older woman from front reception was unfriendly and unprofessional and was often seen walking around "on edge" and grumpy Not a good look for a Hotel Room and food prices ridiculously priced for what you get Hotel badly in need of upgrades and renovation
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jayandali2016 wrote a review Sept 2023
Whangarei, New Zealand7 contributions2 helpful votes
Went to Flames restaurant for dinner with friends. Worst meal ever. Four of us had fish and chips, two got 2 pieces overcooked and 2 got 1 piece of fish. We were given a $5.25 discount on two fish meals.Two others had the $47 scotch fillet, obviously cooked on a dirty grill and both steaks were different sizes. My entree of scallops were grossly overcooked, bacon burnt and cauliflower puree wasn't cauliflower at all. Won't be going back ever.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Raewyn Goldberg, Owner at Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei
Responded 8 Sept 2023
Your fish were different sizes because they were different types of fish, I've never had someone sit and compare their meal sizes before. Our steaks are all weighed out to be the exact weight but different types of cooking eg rare /med well, may result in them coming out in different sizes we have never been accused of overcooking fish and chips before and this was not something that you mentioned on the night. We note that it is not the first time you have eaten with us and it was a similar display of dissatisfaction last time. We therefore apolise and understand that our menu/cooking is does not suit your style and we are completely understanding of you not wishing to return. Wishing you all the best and thanking you for your feedback, which we do take seriously.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
m2nkin wrote a review Jul 2023
Hamilton, New Zealand59 contributions10 helpful votes
Felt like I was in Fiji but colder! Great resort, rooms are spacious and comfortable and the restaurant food is fantastic. We also used a conference room, which was suitable for our purposes and the catering was great.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The breakfast waffles are amazing!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mabelle wrote a review Mar 2023
Auckland, New Zealand128 contributions34 helpful votes
I wanted a nice quiet romantic night away with hubby. Oh dear… this was not the right place. 70’s/80’s style accommodation. Very tired. Clean but not what I was expecting. Bathroom and decor really needs updating. Generous room with view of the water and the neighbouring houses. Pool wasn’t clean enough to swim in. Carpets looked original. Musty smell. Noisy aircon. Really glad it was only one night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is good. Big rooms. Friendly staff…. But that’s about it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
cbovey wrote a review Apr 2022
23 contributions2 helpful votes
Friendly accommodating staff, let us store our ebikes in a locked garage - which we were grateful for as a tropical storm was passing through . Roomy king room with comfy bed and air con made for a comfortable stay, good sky channel selection. Wifi a little stilted viewing netflix. Short walk to little shopping centre and small New World. Great views.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ped007 wrote a review Aug 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia34 contributions12 helpful votes
Absolutely awesome in every way. Although the hotel is getting on a little it was exceptionally clean and catered for all your needs. What impressed me the most was the staff and management. I would like to compliment the management for providing a situation where the staff and yourselves came together as a team.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Flames Hotel, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei
Responded 12 Sept 2021
Hi Jack, thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We really do appreciate your feedback and are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Have a great day and we hope to welcome you back again in the future 😄
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RayPorter1960 wrote a review Jun 2021
Auckland, New Zealand18 contributions2 helpful votes
Checked in, and made our way to our room, the place is starting to show its age, but is still pretty good, clean and tidy The view from our room was great, looking over the pool and garden, and out toward the harbour, almost tropical. Couldn't have dinner in the restaurant due to a private function, so had room service. A mistake on the menu was made, and when pointed out, management reacted immediately and were very concerned and apologetic. After breakfast, we checked out, and again the manager was very sincerely concerned about the dinner issue.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Flames Hotel, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei
Responded 4 Jul 2021
Hi Ray, thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We appreciate your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay and your room with a view, and once again apologies for the mix us with the menu. It was nice to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again Best regards, Raewyn
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Whangarei area.
PRICE RANGE
$178 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Flames International Hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionWhangarei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COMFORT HOTEL FLAMES WHANGEREI - Now $163 (Was $̶1̶7̶9̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Whangarei, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei
Which popular attractions are close to Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei?
Nearby attractions include Hundertwasser Art Centre with Wairau Māori Art Gallery (5.1 km), Whangārei Quarry Gardens (7.0 km), and Claphams Clocks - The National Clock Museum (4.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei?
Conveniently located restaurants include Suk Jai Thai Restaurant, TopSail, and Khane Bahar Indian Restaurant and Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei have airport transportation?
Yes, Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Comfort Hotel Flames Whangerei offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.