We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel Sierra

Save
Share
26 Western Hills Drive, Whangarei 0112 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#22 of 35 hotels in Whangarei
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Affordable 3+ star self contained/serviced accommodation. Lots of room for parking large vehicles and rooms are a reasonable size. RV parks & dump station for stay over guests. Conference room facilities available. 3 minutes walk to restaurant, corner dairy/shop, Chinese takeaway & fish & chips & ATM machine. 10 minutes by car to virtually anywhere in Whangarei. 45 minutes to Bay of Islands. Base your self with us and see the North
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Game room
Golf course
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Billiards
Table tennis
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
43Reviews0Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 10
  • 7
  • 4
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Roneel wrote a review Apr 2021
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
Regretted not looking at some of the reviews here before booking. We tried to check in 7 mins past 8pm. No one at reception, even though our booking Agoda stated check-in available till 10.30pm. Called the number on the reception door, no one picked up. Waited for a while, and motel owner came out of his room (apparently he stays there and proudly admitted he's the owner) and said he's been watching us on CCTV. We politely asked for a check-in but he refused and said we were disturbing him. Seeing we're Asians, he tried his best racist remark by questioning our understanding of his "no check-in after 8pm door sign". Apparently he doesn't understand his own door sign vs Agoda check-in timing? Refused to refund us too. Fortunately Agoda hasn't paid him yet, so we didn't lost a cent. No choice but left the motel and had to search for another accommodation. Traumatic experience, unreliable motel, rude owner and what a scam! Book at your risk. Worst ever experience in all the accommodations we've stayed in NZ.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Kath Organ, Owner at Motel Sierra
Responded 1 May 2021
Unfortunately your time that you arrived was 8.45. We do not use Agoda as a booking engine only expedia and booking.com. The owner did not use racist remarks just commented that would you expect Mcdonalds to open for you if they were closed. Your payment (or credit card details) only secure the room which we have no access to unless you pre pay by virtual credit card which you did not. Guests need to read the terms and conditions of all the booking engines or ring the property to check what time the office does close. It would be nice for owners/operators to be able to review guests but apparently that is a breach of rights. Where are our rights as owners/operators.
Read more
Frederik wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
Avoid at all cost. Rudest owner ever. Was trying to check in at reception office. Owner claims I trespass! What? How in the world can that work for a motel? If that is the case, the motel should be not opened at all, coz every guest will be trespassing. Imagine staying there and they accuse you of that. We went away without even daring to complete the check-in because of this, don't want to get into any trouble. Try this place at your own risk.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kath Morgan-Smith, Other at Motel Sierra
Responded 25 Apr 2021
Check in is from 2pm to 8pm. You arrived after the office had closed read the sign on the door and then rang. You also went around the property to the owners personal space and went over the fence and knocked on the door. You had gone into a personal space that guests are not invited to. This is trespassing on personal space not the motels accommodation. Do you go knock on McDonald's door and demand food when they have closed?. When you book through a booking agent eg booking.com, expedia please take the time to read the terms and conditions and also when the office is closed. You might find that a phone call to say your running late instead of just assuming that no matter what time of arrival somebody will be there to check you in. The hospitality trade gets a real bad rap. I wish we were allowed to review our guests.
Read more
Mr T wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Upon arriving a bit early after a 3 hour drive we planned to ask if we can leave our expensive belongings and use the toilet before heading in to town for sightseeing. The woman at reception who later said was the owner gave a very grumpy greeting then complained about not being happy to let us in early. After calling her out for the poor attitude "I'm really not impressed with you poor f**king attitude" she turned around and demanded we leave because I dared to use a swear word. In the process she made our 8 year old daughter cry, this being her first hotel experience in a couple years and our first family adventure since covid. Thankfully an awesome owner at another hotel let us stay in their reserved emergency room. Johanna (the nasty owner) showed no sympathy for making our daughter cry or potentially stranding us several hours from home with nowhere to stay. Avoid this hotel at all costs unless you want to have this happen to you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kath Organ, Owner at Motel Sierra
Responded 14 Mar 2021
Upon arriving early and demanding the use of a toilet ("after driving around for half and hour looking for a parking spot", your words). You were given the key to the unit, didn't complete check in procedure and slammed the office door on your way out. Your wife was still being very load with her comments which were very offensive. Milk and check in form were taken over to you at the unit which again slamming of the door and swearing not once but on multiple occasions. The owner did say" she was not swearing at you could you please not swear at her" Which you replied again by slamming the door. It is at this point the owner asked you to leave. Yes your daughter was crying, do you think it had anything to do with your poor behavior and the use of excessive force when closing/slamming the door. Thank you for the throwing the key from the office door into the private hallway of the owners and also the continue horn blowing upon leaving. Our night sift workers were rudely awoken by the experience.
Read more
Big T wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
This motel is stuck in the 80s - a serious upgrade is overdue. The furniture was op shop grade. the bed was hard and uncomfortable, the heating in the lounge was inadequate for a cold winters evening, it was impossible to open the windows in the bedrooms and the noise was unacceptable - not SH1 traffic but other residents. This is all quite sad because the lady running the motel was very welcoming and helpful and previous stays have been satisfactory.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: As for from the road as possible and not lower level
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Dissapointed wrote a review May 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Our shower was dripping. The owner comes in, says it's fixed. Leaves. Husband goes to tell the owner it's not fixed and she says her husband is asleep. Moved to Kingswood Motel in Kamo. Clean, tidy, and it only cost $10.00 more. And the laundry facilities were free.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandNorthland RegionWhangarei
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Motel Sierra
What are some of the property amenities at Motel Sierra?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Motel Sierra?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Motel Sierra?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Motel Sierra?
Conveniently located restaurants include Khane Bahar Indian Restaurant and Bar, Suk Jai Thai Restaurant, and Tonic Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Motel Sierra?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Motel Sierra?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Motel Sierra offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.