We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

483 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 469: English reviews
Start your review of Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
 Click to rate
Wellington
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Lodge suited our purpose perfectly. It was clean, comfortable with a reasonable tariff. The hosts were lovely and always ready to assist with our questions - like "How do we turn the Telly on". We were a group of friends so it was great to be able to live and eat communally along with other guests.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marian C
Gary-Cathy, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night at Anndion Lodge and found it comfortable, friendly and well equipped with everything we needed, plus the bonus of a small swimming pool for a refreshing dip and a hot tub to relax after a day's travel. Recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michelle_r_howes
Gary-Cathy, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and our facilities and hospitality.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is immaculate. The lodge (I stayed in 1 night) has Tv's in all the rooms as well as shared lounge/games room & kitchen facilities which are all very comfortable & spacious. There is tea/coffee/biscuits provided in the kitchen and a furnished outdoor deck (handy for smokers). For those wanting more privacy, you have apartment options to choose from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katherined282
Gary-Cathy, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We very much appreciate your comments and it was great to know you got to experience both sides of the property - lodge accommodation and suites. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice clean motel very close to the river park. The rooms are clean as well as the common kitchen. There is a garage available to store bikes. The rooms are small and there's not much space to unpack so it is best for short a short stay. I would stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank skatecreekrd
Gary-Cathy, Front Office Manager at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and as repeat business is our highest compliment, it is very pleasing to see you would stay again. For future reference, you may like to experience one of our self-contained suites or apartments.

Etlan, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only good for Trekkers, not for elderly folks. Room with twin beds,..teeny, tiny. Shared bathroom facilities. On major road, very noisy. Realize it was a new owner, but not as advertised in write up. Needs LOTS of updating.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jandskirby5
Gary-Cathy, Front Office Manager at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

We have a wide range of accommodation options available; from the shared facility lodge rooms (which you booked) to fully self-contained suites and apartments. The lodge rooms are clearly indicated as "shared facilities" - and are in fact, listed as "Double Lodge Rooms - Shared facilities". These rooms often suit the budget conscious, however, if this was not to your...

Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Anndion Lodge. My husband enjoyed that he could park his work truck up in the car park. THis gave him piece of mind. We enjoyed our room. It was clean and the decore was lovely. It was great meeting people. The kitchen, lounge and dining area were spacious and people friendly....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
Gary-Cathy, Front Office Manager at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and our facilities

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Easy check in, lovely welcome but after staying here 3 years ago we did notice some changes as it is starting to look a bit tired. We stayed in the Glass Room and I don't think this room had been used for a while as it smelt musty and the dishes were dusty. The glass conservatory could have done with...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herbies1
Gary-Cathy, Front Office Manager at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Often it can be guest feedback that draws our attention to issues that guests feel can be improved and we have raised your concerns with our housekeeping and maintenance staff.

Rotorua, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank yous so much. I really enjoyed the communication in doing a group booking with us and stayed up until we hit in very, very late and we loved it. I will definitely recommend yous to all my whanau and friends. This accomodation was exactly what we were looking for. Love the Lodge rooms. No complaints 10/10

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merehira
Gary-Cathy, Front Office Manager at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We were glad we could assist and make this a streamlined process for your group. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Due to the sensitive issue of the death of my dad, the staff at the Lodge went out of their way to accommodate all of us, they were brilliant... It was hassle free and everyone was relaxed. The pool area and BBQ was just ideal for us to eat together.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank eugenel420
Gary-Cathy, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback. It can be a stressful time fare-welling a beloved member of family, and we are glad that we were able to assist in some small way and make your stay as pleasant as possible under the circumstances.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No red wine glasses as they had only flutes. Very poor. Lovely towels and face clothes. I would imagine that it would be noisy if fully booked out. Great river view from the River Queen room. Bed was comfy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellSmartTVShow
Gary-Cathy, Owner at Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. All our suites have both wine glasses and flutes in them. If this was not the case, we could certainly have provided additional glassware for you. As we have an onsite restaurant and function centre, we have glassware for seating up to 100 pax. We apologise if in the instance, wine glasses were missed from...

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
1.8 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 27 in Whanganui
229 reviews
0.8 km away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#19 of 27 in Whanganui
51 reviews
2.1 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#11 of 27 in Whanganui
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#8 of 27 in Whanganui
46 reviews
1.8 km away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
1.8 km away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 27 in Whanganui
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Experience the award winning unique hospitality the Anndion is renowned for with 21 accommodation rooms ranging from 1 and 2 bedroom apartments to boutique fully self-contained king suites and lodge rooms with guest share facilities, spread over three properties the Anndion complex is more like a travellers resort than just a bed for the night. Set in lovely kiwiana themed gardens with a fully licensed restaurant and bar, located on the banks of the Whanganui River, just 5 minutes from the city centre. Facilities including free Wi-Fi, off street parking and secure motorcycle and bicycle garaging, a salt-water swimming pool, outdoor spa, infrared sauna, covered BBQ courtyard and guest laundry facilities. Conference and function centre with full onsite catering ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre

Address: 143 - 145 Anzac Parade, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Price Range: $81 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whanganui
#2 Spa Hotel in Whanganui
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our separate rooms were small and contained but very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I prefer a soft top bed. It was a bit firm, however my husband had no problem. (call me a softie) I slept on the single bed. The room was enjoyable. There was a tv in the room so we could just have peace and quiet when we needed it.”
 of 5 bubbles 987clarew, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We enjoyed very much the "river side suit"”
 of 5 bubbles 200MichelP, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“go for the poolside appartment”
 of 5 bubbles tulloch2015, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Location was very handy to town while still being quiet and rather boutique.”
 of 5 bubbles rosiesview, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5