We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bridge to Nowhere Lodge

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Two types of lodging is available - fully catered and includes; comfortable accommodation, buffet dinner, and breakfast.OR a self-catering option with accommodation in a bunk or family room accommodation, (doubles available on application) and includes use of all the facilities: fully equipped kitchen, lounge and dining room, showers. You bring your own sleeping bag and food.Ideal for canoeists or trampers who would like a well deserved hot shower and a comfortable bed.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Charming
Location
Full view
Getting there
Wanganui Airport70 km
New Plymouth Airport79 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Bridge to Nowhere Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
73
25
3
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
73
25
3
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jet boat canoe trip wanganui river cold beer hot shower mountain biking isolated location area's history sticky date pudding well stocked bar new zealand other guests fantastic stay great hosts yogurt joe pipiriki
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

My partner and I are walking the Te Araroa trail this summer. Last week while canoeing the Whanganui River Matt suspected he broke his foot. We kayaked for two days and reached the lodge. When we arrived I walked up to the lodge to ask...More

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank SarahC11868
Response from BTNLodge, Owner at Bridge to Nowhere LodgeResponded 5 February 2018

Hi There Sarah Thanks for your lovely review. I'm glad that it all worked out so easily with getting Matt to Wanganui Hospital and that his foot is doing ok. My daughter Kayla was the ED nurse at reception when you arrived at the hospital...More

Reviewed 30 January 2018

I understand that the location is remote, and that travellers may have been on the river for days. While the camp sites were ok, the toilets and showers were disgusting. A lady from another group commented that they had to remove cobwebs and spiders from...More

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank fidget2018
Reviewed 29 January 2018

We were an extended family gathering of 11 , wanting to have a fun adventure for Christmas, we were not disappointed , Despite the difficulty organising our trip over the Christmas period Joe and Mandy were fantastic, and very hepful. The Lodge was clean, homely...More

Date of stay: December 2017
Thank mtswans
Reviewed 28 January 2018

Awesome family trip. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food was great. Amazing views of the river and surrounding hills from the dinning room and front deck. The jet boat ride up the river was a great experience and staff have good knowledge of the...More

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank hammy2018
Response from BTNLodge, Owner at Bridge to Nowhere LodgeResponded 30 January 2018

Hi There Hammy Thanks for your great review. Really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay up the river with us! Hope you get a chance to comeback again maybe mountain biking in with your children!? Mandy :)

Reviewed 20 January 2018

We bought the two day Play and Stay the Works for $345 each so it was $690 in total. Part of the package is a jet boat ride to get to the lodge which is situation before the reserve on the muddy banks of the...More

Date of stay: January 2018
1  Thank Hardworkingteacher
Response from BTNLodge, Owner at Bridge to Nowhere LodgeResponded 22 January 2018

Hi There Brenda Thanks for your review. We are sorry that your trip with us did not go as planned! Mechanical breakdowns are sometimes unavoidable in our area of work. It turns out the mechanical issues with the boat that day was a fault in...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bridge to Nowhere Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Rooms on the northern side have access out onto the deck."
hammy2018
27 Jan 2018
Read review
"Book early, all rooms are much the same."
celializ
18 Jan 2018
Read review
"The cost of the jet boat includes all food and accomodation! Excellent value for money."
lauragV5482NB
23 Apr 2017
Read review
"Quiet & relaxing back country lodge, old school New Zealand"
BJW145
9 Apr 2017
Read review
Show More 
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionWhanganui
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing