We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Big Five Motel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (14)
Room & Suite (15)
Bathroom (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#16 of 24 small hotels in Palmerston North
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Big Five Motel is situated in a quiet location off the main street of Palmerston North yet still within walking distance of most civic amenities. If you are looking for great accommodation at affordable rates with friendly service, our motel is perfect for you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast in the room
Bicycle rental
Golf course
Babysitting
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Public wifi
Paid wifi
Business Centre with Internet Access
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
76Reviews0Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 24
  • 4
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
MrandMrsThornton wrote a review Sept 2023
Hastings, New Zealand16 contributions9 helpful votes
Quiet, clean room, small, but that's fine, not exactly cheap however, with very poor selection of channels and TV reception was atrocious. No kitchen sink, so dishes need to be washed in a plastic bucket, no cooking element. But most importantly, and I know this has been mentioned before, they need to get curtains! The outside light shines through the blinds, you will end up waking in the very early hours thinking its morning. Parking was a bit tight...however...There was a coffee plunger ...and that is a nice touch ...
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Izaac C wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
The motel was pet friendly, which is exactly what we needed. The greeting was friendly, the unit was nice and clean, and the owner had recommended that we change the blankets to lighter colour ones as we were bringing a large white dog. It was a short walk to a local park, which was great for the dog. A good stay, will definitely use again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Value4money wrote a review May 2021
Rotorua, New Zealand84 contributions14 helpful votes
Realised it was graduation week so pricing was inflated. Hoping the rate paid is not their regular pricing. These rooms are smaller than an Ibis!! Crammed, too much excess furniture/ things. Outside lights that dont turn off and shine through the slat blinds. Would choose carefully and stay if the rate was under $130 night. Bonus was clean. couple bikkies and chocs. Not close to any eating.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
FreddyII wrote a review Nov 2020
Wellington, New Zealand102 contributions54 helpful votes
We have stayed at this motel off and one over a period of 8 years for “one nighters” as we have family in Palmerston North. We have always taken a small and minimal room which suited our purposes. This time we ordered a larger unit to get space because we wanted more room to dress going to special function. We got as well as a double bed, a bunk bed, single bed, couch and table all in the same room. Little improvement in floor space. The room stank of stale dog urine, the bed scarf had dog hairs on it, the kitchen appliances were worn, and cups stained. I did have a conversation with the owner about what we had found as I prefer to do this rather than post on Trip Advisor. I have posted this on trip advisor as somebody did a write up about the same problem in an earlier review. The owner did say they were in the process of upgrade and were dog friendly. It is a case of buyer beware.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ingrid W wrote a review Sept 2019
1 contribution
Rang up to book a room for 1 night so I could stop between driving from Nelson to Auckland. I have 2 cats. This place is listed as pet friendly with good reviews from dog people. However these people are not accommodating for cats. Cats must be kept in their cages all night and not allowed in the room due to leaving hair around the place and being able to get under the beds. I argued that dogs also leave hair and small dogs (chihuahuas, yorkies etc) can also get under beds) but apparently this place feels that dogs are different from cats. I will not be staying as my cats would have been crammed in a cage all day already and the point of stopping was so they could stretch their legs and have a break. Also you pay more for a pet friendly room and for what purpose when you have to keep your animals locked up all night? Not an accomodating place and I disagree with their pet friendly status!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Melissa T wrote a review Jul 2019
Sunshine Coast, Australia17 contributions3 helpful votes
We were travelling through Palmerston North and found Big Five Motel last minute. They were very accommodating, however the rooms are quite small but comfortable. We had two big suitcases and could not open both at the same time as there was no room. The room had all the necessary amenities and was ok for one night. Staff were very nice on check in and check out.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Catherine K wrote a review Feb 2019
New Zealand23 contributions32 helpful votes
We chose this place as we were traveling with our German shepherd and they were listed as dog friendly. Turned out to be a great choice, staff were friendly and helpful.the place was well set up and had a very high standard of cleanliness. Also reasonably priced .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bruce A, Owner at Big Five Motel
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Thank you for your positive review. We are happy that you and your dog enjoyed your stay. We look forward to catching up with you when you are next in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tritex wrote a review Feb 2019
4 contributions
Our room was clean, quiet and well priced. The staff are friendly, helpful and accommodating. Overall this was an enjoyable stay. This was our second stay and our experience has been very good across both stays.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel
Responded 9 Feb 2019
We are pleased that you have enjoyed both your stays with us and we look forward to catching up with you on your next stay. Let us know how we can make this an even better experience for you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jo W wrote a review Nov 2018
6 contributions
+1
We arrived to find the Big Five Motel was a dog friendly motel which was not on the website. Never would have stayed there if I had known this. The 2 bedroom ‘suite’ was the disability unit. It smelt really bad, the two seater couches were stained, the carpet was stained, the shower was dirty and the dining chair in ripped condition. Kept the windows open all night, because of the smell, but the busy road meant we got very little sleep. Covered the couches with bedding so we could sit somewhere. The worst motel I have stayed in, in New Zealand.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from BigFiveMotel, Manager at Big Five Motel
Responded 9 Nov 2018
We are disappointed that your stay with us was not to your liking. We were not aware that you that you had these issues with the unit during your 3 night stay. It may have been possible to address these to your satisfaction at the time. It is recorded in the booking page that we are a pet friendly facility. The chairs in the complex are being upgraded and our carpet man attended to the couches and carpet after the long weekend. Hopefully, you will be willing to try our facilities again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
chefsam77 wrote a review Oct 2018
Wellington, New Zealand281 contributions66 helpful votes
+1
Fantastic Motel! Spacious rooms, exceptionally clean, friendly owners and staff. Beautifully decorated. Nice special touch with chocolates and biscuits in the rooms. Second time staying here and never disappoints. True South African hospitality at its finest. Plus fur babies are allowed and they had no complaints as well ;) A home away from home in the heart of Palmerston North.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from BigFiveMotel, Owner at Big Five Motel
Responded 16 Oct 2018
We are so happy that both your experiences at our motel have been so fantastic. We pride ourselves on making your stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Your fur babies are just as welcome here as what you are. We look forward to catching u[ with you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palmerston North area.
PRICE RANGE
$133 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Settlers Motel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionPalmerston North
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BIG FIVE MOTEL - Now $144 (Was $̶1̶8̶8̶) - UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Palmerston North, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Big Five Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Big Five Motel?
Nearby attractions include Victoria Esplanade (0.5 km), Te Manawa Museum of Art, Science & Heritage (1.1 km), and New Zealand Rugby Museum (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Big Five Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Big Five Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Big Five Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Big Five Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Big Five Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arranged Marriage Restaurant, Barista, and Pho Nem Hanoi Home Cooking.
Are any cleaning services offered at Big Five Motel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Big Five Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Big Five Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.
Is Big Five Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.