We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
275 Main Street, Palmerston North 4410 New Zealand
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 14 Speciality lodging in Palmerston North
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Hotel is best described as a Backpacker Budget Hotel which concentrates on the Backpacker fraternity. We have an excellant assortment of rooms. Bunk rooms, double & single private rooms through to private en-suites with all amenities. We also do longer term stays. All rooms have Heater, Air/con, fridge, microwave, TV, crockery & cutlery, plus free unlimited high speed internet throughout the Hotel for all guests. We have a guest kitchen open 24/7 for guests use.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
68Reviews0Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 45
  • 16
  • 3
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
David_TanPuchong wrote a review Jun 2017
Puchong193 contributions212 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for a night last week. Arrived on Intercity Bus and walked about 10 mins to the hotel. Booked directly with them for a 3 bed dorm. Arrived at about 7.15PM and tried to look for the door that leads to the backpacker. Entered the Pub downstairs and asked a 40 plus old lady working there on the direction. She was not friendly at all and just told me she did not know. But fortunately I found it myself just next to the Pub on Main Street and wow it is such a clean and look so nicely decorated and so clean. Met Barrie who is so helpful and friendly unlike the lady at the Pub downstairs. He upgraded my room to a private ensuite room ,own fridge, microwave and DVD player .Its the best room I ever have in my New Zealand trip. Breakfast is included and free wifi works well.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Responded 20 Jun 2017
Thanks for staying with us David, glad you enjoyed our little place. The Bar downstairs is a separate business to us. Sometimes they are just plain lazy and forget that they are in the hospitality business, that aside, happy travels, hope to see you again. Garry Young.
Read more
TasmaniaLovesydney wrote a review Mar 2017
tasmania508 contributions269 helpful votes
This was the most equipped stop we had clean and basic full shower and bathroom in room. Bed very comfortable air con breakfast light provided. Microwave in room and plunger coffee plenty of towels fresh milk soap good shower. Nice owner/manager showed us our room pointed out how the electronic key worked for after hours entry. Nice big kitchen for others to use well thought out and delivered.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Responded 28 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for great feedback. With the travelling you guys have done and all your reviews, this is important to us. Hope to see you again. Garry Young.
Read more
Gregory C wrote a review Mar 2017
Cambridge, New Zealand1 contribution
Needed a place to stay in Palmerston North at very short notice. Barry was very helpful, even picked me up from the airport and dropped me off the next morning. Had a very good sleep. Great backpackers.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Responded 16 Mar 2017
Thank you for the nice compliment. Barrie dropped me off at the airport then picked you up. Always a pleasure. Garry Young
Read more
yunwu wrote a review Feb 2017
Beijing, China2 contributions1 helpful vote
I attended Massey Uni for three weeks to complete a Masters degree & stayed at this Backpackers in a ladies bunk room. I don't normally do reviews, but felt this place is exceptional and warranted a mention. Barrie was a very caring Host. I haven't stayed in many places like this but felt it was more Hotelish than Hostel. The rooms supplied everything including tea, coffee snacks and a light breakfast, all in the rate. Beds were very comfortable. There is no Curfew here, safety is good and guests have a security disc to exit and enter the building 24hours.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Responded 16 Mar 2017
Thank you for staying with us Wu Yun and hope the rest of your trip is successful. Garry Young
Read more
gretak45 wrote a review Feb 2017
Raglan4 contributions1 helpful vote
I'll start with the positives...the owners were friendly, the facilities clean, the wifi worked and basic breakfast was provided. But the whole place felt dark and depressing. The building is run down and in a somewhat dingy corner of town. The worst was the mattress. The metal strings pressed through the mattress so hard that going to bed at night felt more like torture than rest. I would definitely not stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from Garry Y, Director of Sales at The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Responded 25 Feb 2017
Oh Wow. I'm so sorry to here about your experience, but you have reviewed the wrong Backpackers,. WE are in the CBD of Palmerston North, not a Dingy part of the City, the Backpacker part of the building certainly isn't run down or Dingy. We have no springs that stick out of mattresses. If you did stay and didn't tell someone about your mattress at the time, that's insane. The Hostel is done out in a concept to suit the 114 year old protected trust building. You would have seen & understood that if you had stayed here.
Read more
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The New Railway Hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionPalmerston North
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing