The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Railway Hotel Backpackers

275 Main Street, Palmerston North 4410 New Zealand
Traveller (15)
Double/Triple En-suite Room
Room & Suite (31)
Public Kitchen
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 hostels in Palmerston North
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel is best described as a Backpacker Budget Hotel which concentrates on the Backpacker fraternity. We have an excellant assortment of rooms. Bunk rooms, double & single private rooms through to private en-suites with all amenities. We also do longer term stays. All rooms have Heater, Air/con, fridge, microwave, TV, crockery & cutlery, plus free unlimited high speed internet throughout the Hotel for all guests. We have a guest kitchen open 24/7 for guests use.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Quaint

Location

275 Main Street, Palmerston North 4410 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 80 out of 100
80
Palmerston North Airport
Wanganui Airport
65.9 km
See all flights
68Reviews0Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 45
  • 16
  • 3
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Raj Venkataramani wrote a review Jan 2020
Wellington, New Zealand6 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a night stay at this backpacker. It’s more of a motel than bp. There are all facilities available like a motel. Neatly maintained.

Barry is a great guy to help who insisted us to use the kitchen/have morning breakfast.

Big thumbs up for facilities, friendly staff, location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GarryY43, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Responded 4 Jan 2020
Thank you Rajaramav for the nice comments. hope to see you again. Garry Young
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
glenys J wrote a review Jun 2013
Taupo, New Zealand1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly, Garry Young ( the owner and op. ) was there to greet me and personally showed me to my room. He had thoughtfully turned on the heat pump. Garry showed me the things I needed to know, and let me just get on.
The first impression, being from Garry and the premise itself, was SAFE. Equally was clean cosy comfy quiet delightful character filled, and I could go on and on. But I would rather people went there and experienced The New Railway Hotel themselves, and be just as surprised and delighted with this Beautiful place as I have been.
The best way of saying that I just love it is that I am now planning a trip to see the Manawatu and stay at The Railway hotel as my base and do day trips.
Excellent, Thanks Garry and Co
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bb0nes wrote a review Jun 2015
Wellington, New Zealand1 contribution2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The railway hotel is awesome.
I never do these review things but the guys that run the place are so great, i thought it was the least i could do 'cos I really appreciated how great they've been! If you're on a budget, stay at the railway hotel, you won't be disappointed! I have stayed here for three weeks all up now for contact course sat Massey and i highly recommend it!!
Its the cheapest place i could find and i'll keep coming back.
The hosts are super lovely, and they try real hard to make sure your stay is good; the place is warm and clean; the building is secure and close to the square and buses to uni. You get everything you need and more. I've been staying in the dorm and theres wifi, tv; towels; soap; milk; tea; coffee; tissues; coffee plungers; and hair driers etc. The shower pressure is good and there is free toast and stuff in the morning!
Thanks guys! See ya next time!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Responded 7 Jul 2015
Thank you Br for you great positive comments. We do our very best for your comfort & security. Hope to see you again. Garry Young
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ali Mc wrote a review Dec 2014
Calgary, Canada9 contributions25 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This hostel is by far one of the worst we've stayed in. When we arrived we finally located the hidden reception and Barry was not only incredibly rude us and made us feel very unwelcome, he had his foot in a cast without a sock over it, and was walking around with his dirty toes on show! Very hygenic. So our first impressions were not good. Our room was a double ensuite that was dusty, grubby and there were hairs in the bathroom, on the bed, floor and pillows. The carpets were stained and needed a good clean. Yes this building is old, but that's no excuse for its lack of cleanliness. Everything seemed very dirty and we were so glad we were only staying a few nights. I have no idea how this hostel has received the reviews that has, as we very much did not enjoy our stay and absolutely would recommend people to look for alternative accommodation. Also the area it is in felt a bit dodgy, and it's above a bar, so definitely rethink the location if you are staying in Palmerston North.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Garry Y, Manager at The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Responded 5 Dec 2014
The reason we have consistant positive reviews is that guests tell the truth, you have not, I find lying about a property to be unforgivable. You brought up several points I wish to address, firstly, I cleaned the room you refer to myself personally the morning you arrived, there were no hairs anywhere and the room was cleaned to our usual very high standard, to say otherwise is an outright lie, however I transfered you to another room and was happy to do so. My foot cast has an open end as it was almost completely severed in a fall and should be left open as per hospital requirements and is sprayed twice daily with hospital grade antiseptic spray...my foot is not dirty, as others have commented, the hotel is kept to a high standard of both cleanliness & tidiness at all times and is not in a 'dodgy' area at all... it's in the CBD of Palmerston North. Any issue on your arrival was with the number of days you had booked, all bookings are written in the bookings book & cross referenced as they come in, you booked 6 days, and ignored two requests to confirm this in email, on arrival you insisted you had booked for 5 days, I said we'd agree to disagree on that and proceeded to check you in, then after a conversation with your partner changed the booking to 4 days (kinda blows your credibility huh) your post wreaks of someone who doesn't like their MO bought to light...my last word on the matter is, .. I too wish your stay had been shorter. Barrie, Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grace O wrote a review May 2015
Wellington, New Zealand2 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I'm really grateful to have found accommodation in Palmerston North that is affordable, comfortable and centrally located. The staff were extremely friendly, the wifi was reliable, and the room was warm and clean (I stayed in a private ensuite room).

I'm a Massey distance student, and will definitely stay here again for my next contact course.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Responded 1 Jun 2015
Hi Grace, Thank you for your nice positive comments. We try extremely hard to make sure guests are looked after and secure. The accommodation business is extremely tough to compete in. Glad you liked us. Garry Young The New Railway Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve_Romanov wrote a review Feb 2015
Palmerston North, New Zealand12 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Night 1 of staying here and already I have been blown away.
Fantastic Architecture, Amazing staff.
Everything is laid out beautifully.
The Wifi is amazing.
Defiantly looking forward to exploring the city, and the second night
Keep up the good work
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lollie_ess wrote a review Aug 2013
Invercargill, New Zealand1 contribution2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Railway Hotel provided everything I needed and more for a trip to Palmerston North to do a Contact Course at Massey. Very reasonable rates and pretty attentive service. Nothing much seemed a problem. It was was good enough I have booked again for my next contact course.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ehlephant wrote a review Jun 2013
Singapore, Singapore8 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Checked out from the railway hotel at 10am, had our luggages kept in the storeroom as our train is departing for Wellington at 4.20pm.

Garry booked a cab for us at 3.45pm to the train station. Another alternative way to get from Palmerston North from The New Railway Hotel is a stone's throw away, you can catch a coach just across the street and definitely cheaper by half my cost of the train which I'm taking but all in all, train ride is also a very nice experience.

We left the hotel to The Sq and The plaza to while away our time, by the time we came back, Garry was already there. He handed over his name card for my daughter telling her to keep well and if she should encounter any problem in University, just ring him and he'll do his best to help since we, the parents would long be home in Singapore. His words really moved me and my husband, even my daughter, Bernice was very touched. I can see her face filled with assurance.

Garry is indeed a man with a generous heart and he would go all his way out to help even though Bernice won't be staying in his hotel nor is she staying nearby. That's truly a nice gesture of Garry to offer. It's not like any other places where you come in as a guest and after checking out that's done with.

Garry had that personal touch that really moves you. Yes, the hotel is dated and its really a backpackers hotel but you cannot deny the fact that most guest returns because it offers more than a place to sleep, it offers you secure and warmness from the owner of this hotel which I don't think any other backpackers in Palmerston North is able to offer
You. 2 thumbs up for Garry!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David_TanPuchong wrote a review Jun 2017
Puchong190 contributions237 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for a night last week. Arrived on Intercity Bus and walked about 10 mins to the hotel. Booked directly with them for a 3 bed dorm. Arrived at about 7.15PM and tried to look for the door that leads to the backpacker. Entered the Pub downstairs and asked a 40 plus old lady working there on the direction. She was not friendly at all and just told me she did not know. But fortunately I found it myself just next to the Pub on Main Street and wow it is such a clean and look so nicely decorated and so clean. Met Barrie who is so helpful and friendly unlike the lady at the Pub downstairs. He upgraded my room to a private ensuite room ,own fridge, microwave and DVD player .Its the best room I ever have in my New Zealand trip. Breakfast is included and free wifi works well. They have a nice lounge where you can watch a big screen TV. Location is so central that you can walk to the square and do some shopping and have some meals outside. Would definitely stay here again and would strongly recommend others to stay here if they visit Palmerstone North.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Responded 20 Jun 2017
Thanks for staying with us David, glad you enjoyed our little place. The Bar downstairs is a separate business to us. Sometimes they are just plain lazy and forget that they are in the hospitality business, that aside, happy travels, hope to see you again. Garry Young.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TasmaniaLovesydney wrote a review Mar 2017
tasmania468 contributions295 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the most equipped stop we had clean and basic full shower and bathroom in room.
Bed very comfortable air con breakfast light provided. Microwave in room and plunger coffee plenty of towels fresh milk soap good shower.
Nice owner/manager showed us our room pointed out how the electronic key worked for after hours entry.
Nice big kitchen for others to use well thought out and delivered.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Garry Y, Owner at The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Responded 28 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for great feedback. With the travelling you guys have done and all your reviews, this is important to us. Hope to see you again. Garry Young.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
George S wrote a tip Jul 2018
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 7 is fine"
Read full review
KylieYng wrote a tip Apr 2018
Auckland Central, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not sure, but i was in room 22, it's nice"
Read full review
Jonathan T wrote a tip Jan 2018
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom25 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"I am unsure really!"
Read full review
yunwu wrote a tip Feb 2017
Beijing, China2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ladies Bunk room is good"
Read full review
Jost-Pauline S wrote a tip Aug 2016
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand373 contributions182 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"rooms up front have a lovely view, but maybe a bit more traffic noise"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palmerston North area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The New Railway Hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionPalmerston North
NUMBER OF ROOMS
6
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE RAILWAY HOTEL BACKPACKERS - Hostel Reviews (Palmerston North) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to The Railway Hotel Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include Te Manawa Museum of Art, Science & Heritage (0.2 km), New Zealand Rugby Museum (0.2 km), and Robertson Holden International Speedway (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Railway Hotel Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at The Railway Hotel Backpackers?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at The Railway Hotel Backpackers?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Railway Hotel Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Jacko, Barista, and Cafe Cuba.
Is The Railway Hotel Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Palmerston North.
All Palmerston North HotelsPalmerston North Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Palmerston NorthHotels near The Railway Hotel Backpackers
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire