We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Drovers Motor Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Drovers Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 81: English reviews
Start your review of Drovers Motor Inn
 Click to rate
Auckland, NZ
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Our family of four stayed one night just after Christmas 2016. We didn't book but just turned up later in the evening. The owner was more than happy for us to inspect before we decided. This is off the main motel boulevard of Fitzherbert Ave, but till on Main St heading towards Napier so wa a little further out from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FPL10
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2017

room was excellent - staff replaced towels and emptied rubbish daily. Was only 5 minutes from the centre of town with plenty of restaurants before town. On site free parking was also included and it was in a quiet area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night and we were very comfortable. Greeted warmly and guy at reception was only happy to help out! Clean room and everything you need. Only a short walk or drive to city centre. Would definitely recommend!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Hunter Valley, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Booked in for 1 night and were delighted by the space. Separate lounge, bedroom and toilet. Comfy lounge in the lounge room. Even had our own outdoor area. There was a well stocked kitchen and good size bathroom. The unit was clean and the bed was comfy. Centrally located with supermarket and pub near by. The owners were pleasant, accommodating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CandE_Evans
Tauranga
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Clean and tidy rooms and staff who bent over backward to help with anything I needed. Enjoyed my stay and would recommend the place to others. Central to the city, with food outlets nearby. One of the better places in Palmerston Nth.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Galdancio
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 November 2016

didn't get much sleep as bed was as hard as, we did get about four hours though, i don't mind if the maintenance is not kept up with. the tariff is good as one would close a blind eye to these minor imperfections wifi's excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muzbme
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I had a great experience here, despite being a little concerned at some of the poor comments posted. The Motel was easy to find, very well presented and great parking. The reception was friendly and efficient and the room (downstairs studio #8) was modern, tidy and clean. There was a little noise from neighbouring guests later at night, typical for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenn L
Rapaura, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We had 5 nights at this 'family' motel and certainly won't be going back or recommend. The rooms weren't regularly cleaned. After a number of incidents, the service was so disappointing, with little/ no attempt to make amends or rectify our issues. Sadly unprofessional when we weren't demanding and would have been easily pleased.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jbhlr
Israel H, Manager at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review

We weren't able to fully service this room as the amount of belongings on everything was amazing and our Policy is for our cleaners to not touch a guests belongings. We are aware of x2 issues you had. You requested an additional bed within moments of arriving at the property which we located and put into the room at no...

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

After being treated rudely from a previous hotel, I was in a bit of a mood until I walked into reception and was greeted by the most cheerful person who helped us out last minute with a room and also with directions to a restaurant nearby. Room was very clean and warm. Shower was very roomy and water was hot....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrystal h
Israel H, Manager at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review

=)

Tairua, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Always hard to find a place when your towing a race car trailer as you don't want to leave them on the road and it's nice to have it inside a compound so you don't have to sleep with one eye open. Two story complex and I would suggest upstairs is better than down as you don't always get considerate...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kevin G
Israel H, Manager at Drovers Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! Hope to see you guys again.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
1.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
333 reviews
2.0 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
319 reviews
3.4 km away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#19 of 25 in Palmerston North
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
158 reviews
1.7 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
149 reviews
2.5 km away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 25 in Palmerston North
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the suburb of Terrace End, the Drovers Motor Inn offers a variety of well-presented apartments and suites to suit your individual needs and budget. Choose from our spacious family apartments to relaxing spa suites. Each offers comfortable seating, a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable place to rest your head. Situated just 1.6 km from the central city you can enjoy a leisurely stroll into town, the Hospital or even the Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Drovers Motor Inn

Address: 746 Main Street, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Price Range: $107 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Drovers Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drovers Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Drovers Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Drovers Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Unit 5 has separate bedroom, lounge and toilet plus outdoor courtyard.”
CandE_Evans, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I presume that upstairs rooms would be quieter, assuming accessibility is not an issue”
GlennL89, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go upstairs and be considerate of those below.”
A7750TFkeving, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Great two bedroom suite for a group!”
147janellew, 9 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Choose an upstairs room that way you will get a fan.”
vomo2i, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5