We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Palmerston North Motel

Save
Share
66 Linton Street, Palmerston North 4410 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (2)
Room & Suite (34)
Pool & Beach (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#15 of 24 hotels in Palmerston North
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
If you are looking for accommodation in Palmerston North, situated in a quiet location and offering spacious units, let Lyn and Brett welcome you to Palmerston North Motel. You will find Palmerston North Motel located in the heart of Palmerston North amongst garden surroundings and only 2 blocks from the city centre where you will find some of the cities best restaurants, cafes, bars and shops for retail therapy. We offer 20 ground floor units, which include 3 x studios, 16 x 1-bedroom units, 1 x 2-bedroom unit – many which have fully equipped kitchens, with free standing ovens. Parking your vehicle is not a problem as we offer ample off-street parking, which is suitable for cars, coaches, trailers and light trucks. Cool off in our swimming pool or enjoy a relaxing soak in our private spa pool. We also have a spring-free trampoline for the children during your stay. Pets welcome by arrangement.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Parking
Hot bath
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Housekeeping
Sofa
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
74Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 21
  • 7
  • 6
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Wendy20081958 wrote a review Oct 2019
Leeds, United Kingdom4 contributions
I brought my two little JRT/Foxy dogs with me as elder dog booked into Massey Vets. She had sussepected bladder cancer. The scans were delayed a day so had both my dogs. Yes the were in the room of ‘pet friendly’ motel...yes they up on bed when my alarm went off at 6.30 am, they always do. I had covers on the bed from home their blankets. I had to book for next morning to take my very sick dog back for extensive tests. and was told she could pass away. So I made sure I had lots of cuddles along with lots of my tears. I moved rooms to accomodate as I booked an extra few hours to await phone call from vets to pick her up. I got knock on door and told my dogs left too many hairs on the carpet and some on bedcover. I was told I was an ‘EPIC FAIL’. AND GAD BETTER NOT LET IT HAPPEN IN THERE AS NEW CARPET. My dog, my dear old faithful day is dying...I’m a sniffling wreck and I get told off for hairs in a ‘pet friendly” motel. I’ve stayed in several up and down the country...NEVER been an ‘epic Fail’. I was too upset visibly to say anything. Just said bill me for cleaning cover with hairs...There should be a hand help vacuum in their pet-friendly rooms. I’d have gladly cleaned them up. One of my dogs is a puppy and jumps around (1 yr)...losing hairs... My initial thoughts were kind nice helpful...but I was saddened to be spoken to like that. I packed my things and walked out. I roamed around in rain for 4 hours with my young dog then waited in vet reception for 3 hours...so I think the $131 that I paid for the room for all of half an hour is compensation for washing the already stained bedcover. I was only ever going to stay until lunch-time so could easily re-let my room. I sat on couch for 20 minutes...BTW my dogs are very clean dogs. Apart from losing hairs...traumatic time/traumatic stay/not nice to be spoken to like that when she Cleary could see I had been crying about my dog with cancer that’s spread and won’t live long.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure your dog doesn’t shed hair!
See more room tips
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Carroll E, Owner at Palmerston North Motel
Responded 20 Oct 2019
Hi Wendy, Thanks for reminding future guests of their responsibilities when bringing your pets, for whatever reason, to stay in a motel. We only tend to have a problem with about 1 in every 30 pet owners onsite as they all respect the rules and guidelines for being able to have a pet in a motel unit. Pet hair covering the carpets means you didn't use a drop sheet when taking a hair shedding foxy into the unit. Dog hair all over a bedspread means you allowed the dog to sleep, sit and move all over our bedspread which is also a BIG NO NO when staying in a motel. Leaving a bag of Doggie do dos... outside your unit door may have also annoyed me considerably as no else has ever been so rude as to not bin this themselves. It is not our responsibility to provide each guest with a special vacuum as clearly a hand held vacuum could have also been in your vehicle if this is what you use everyday at home. The care of our unit when you bring a pet inside is 100% your responsibility. Please respect this rule when you choose your next motel as we all expect the same level of respect from our clients.
Read more
NeilTaupoNZ wrote a review Apr 2019
Auckland, New Zealand81 contributions60 helpful votes
Awesome little motel and friendly owners BUT there is no excuse for the filth, carpets full of stains { black marks }, dirt in the ranch slider frame thats been there for months, towels smelt dirty, dish cloth was absolutely disgusting so we did our dishes with the hand towel, weeds all over the place, rubbish stashed all over the place and outside rooms - microwaves broken chairs and other odds and ends, our bed was very bouncy, when you turn over in your sleep it wakes up the wife. NOW yuck the pillow and mattress protectors were full of brown marks DISGUSTING. We only came to this motel as its pet friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: check room before
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
EbonyPKimura wrote a review Apr 2019
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Had the worse experience Try to request extras , but was abused on the phone !! She ended canceling my room , Maybe this isn’t the right job for you ladie, New Zealand don’t need people like you housting tourists your making Manawatu and New Zealand a bad name !!! Heiano , he wahine kore tikanga , kore aroha , kore Mohio ki nga Tangata katoa !! Nga mihi/ thank you Ebony Kimura
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Carroll E, Owner at Palmerston North Motel
Responded 3 Apr 2019
HI Ebony, Thank you for bringing to the attention to review readers a few things you need to understand as an on line booker. All online bookings need to have a working credit card attached to it or your booking is invalid. You also need to give us a contact number so we have an opportunity to get your booking correct when you start making a large number of extra requests.You were asking to check in before check in time and check out after check out of 10am. You also wanted the unit to have a deck and a view! I was just trying to make it clear to you that this last request is quite laughable. Palmerston North is a flat city and usually at a motel your view is the carpark or another unit. I'm not sure what you were trying to achieve but your abusive behaviour on the phone made it clear to me that the best solution to not being able to meet your demands was to proceed with cancelling your booking. Guests are not always in the right when it comes to booking a motel unit.
Read more
Milt McClelland wrote a review Mar 2019
Palmerston North, New Zealand3 contributions
Centrally located spacious motel. Very popular, always appears busy. Friendly helpful staff. Units is a little dated,but very clean.great bed, comfortable.i will again definitely.good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Dee N Allan C wrote a review Feb 2019
Blackpool, United Kingdom82 contributions11 helpful votes
The ONLY positive to come from our experience was being able to stay with our dogs at this establishment. Having stayed here previously under other owner, the place has become a shabby and quite frankly dreadful experience of its former self. I wouldn't advise anyone to stay here as attention to detail in cleanliness is lacking, the fact that serval units were occupied by house NZ tenants that would audibly fight and carry on till all hours is not an exaggeration. Obviously its easy money for the current owners that lack any and all customer service skills and their ability to look after their guests leaves a lot to be desired.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Find somewhere else !
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionPalmerston North
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Palmerston North Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Palmerston North Motel?
Nearby attractions include Victoria Esplanade Gardens (0.8 km), Te Manawa Museum of Art, Science & Heritage (0.5 km), and New Zealand Rugby Museum (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Palmerston North Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Palmerston North Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Palmerston North Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Palmerston North Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Palmerston North Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nero Restaurant, Arranged Marriage Restaurant, and Haru Japanese Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Palmerston North Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Palmerston North Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Palmerston North.
Are pets allowed at Palmerston North Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Palmerston North Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.