We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Villas Palmerston North

665 Pioneer Highway Highbury, Palmerston North 4412 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#16 of 23 hotels in Palmerston North
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to The Villas, your Palmerston North “home away from home.” The Villas aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

Nearby landmarks such as Te Peeti Te Awe Awe (1.2 mi) and The Square (1.5 mi) make The Villas a great place to stay when visiting Palmerston North.

Rooms at The Villas offer a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a kitchenette providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

Newspaper is one of the conveniences offered at this hotel. A pool will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to The Villas, free parking is available.

While in Palmerston North be sure to experience local hotpot favourites at Yatai Japanese Izakaya Restaurant.

Should time allow, Robertson Holden International Speedway and Palmerston North Clock Tower are some popular attractions that are within walking distance.

The Villas puts the best of Palmerston North at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Business Centre with Internet Access
Spa
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
117Reviews0Q+A41Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 39
  • 17
  • 7
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Jenncrawshaw wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Disgusting place,service,pool,and accommodation! Cannot rate this place low enough,they do not give a crap about their customers and are the most unprofessional business I have ever dealt with! Totally ruined our family holiday and would not discount our room even though the pool (which was the only reason we chose this motel) was freezing and filthy, instead basically told us to leave and find somewhere else after we made a few inquiries about the pool heating.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Genelle Spies wrote a review Jan 2019
Hamilton, New Zealand423 contributions86 helpful votes
Wow! What a fantastic place to come and stay as a family. Indoor swimming pool and spa were a hit for the kids. They also have a games family room. We stayed in a spa suite which had a single bed and a king size bed. Perfect for 3 of us. Our unit had a private spa out the back of our room and it was so relaxing to just soak in the spa. Will definitely be returning to stay here in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaisha M, Owner at The Villas Palmerston North
Responded 25 Jan 2019
Im so glad you enjoyed your stay, look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
877adellem wrote a review Sept 2018
Hamilton, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
Just glad our stay was only overnight. Room was average and we were left clear instructions and directions to our room as we were a late checkin. Unfortunately there were many basic things missing from the room like spare blankets and enough towels.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaisha M, Front Office Manager at The Villas Palmerston North
Responded 19 Sept 2018
Sorry to hear you felt you needed extra blankets and towels but the rooms always have adequate linen unless you had extra people stay and we were not made aware of this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jo J wrote a review Jun 2018
Waikato Region, New Zealand83 contributions30 helpful votes
I didnt like anything, I have stayed there three times, this was disgusting. No 1: We booked colleagues three rooms. We were given one room with two single beds, and one room with a double and a single pull out bed, even though we could have had bed in lounge. The two single beds had not had the sheets changed, there were hairs and stains. Disgusting. We took photos. The floor in the bathroom was sticky and didn't feel clean. The place smelled clean, but it wasn't. We tried to make phone calls to get help (unanswered), emergency and reception. Wow I wonder what would happen if there was a fire? to get the bed changed, but there was no answer in either case. We had to walk down to reception in the rain (only to find closed early) We had to drive down in the rain to buy sheets to replace dirty ones. We had to come back and make the beds. We had to go to reception in the morning 8am to check out, only to find it closed, again at 10am at latest check out time and no one there, and had to come back at 2pm, to find someone finally able to talk to us. They took a copy of the receipt and said they would sort it out,. We asked for the sheets to be paid for nothing else, no refund of costs of staying or anything and they have now refused unless we post the sheets back. To bad about all the time we spent on this. So now we have decided to spend a little more time, recommending people not stay here. Customer service is so bad, just wouldn't bother.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaisha M, Owner at The Villas Palmerston North
Responded 6 Jun 2018
Hi there - obviously you had a bad experience this time while I was away and I have spoken to staff and our laundry service regarding the misfortune stray hair you found on the sheets ( they were clean and had been changed just 2 hairs as you specified with first complaint) apologies again for that. I know you are upset because the outcome is not how you wanted it to be eg being asked to return newly purchased sheets before I reimburse you but there is no need to embellish the story just to make the situation look worse that it is. You have asked to be reimbursed and I am happy to do that as I have said right from the beginning but if you continue to keep going on and on about it on every piece of social media you can then I will withdraw my offer. Dont forget the world is full of people that have a lot more to complain about in life than a couple of stray hairs on their sheets so lets keep it in perspective and move on. Have a great day Joanna Johnson from Morrinsville.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Poppitt9 wrote a review May 2018
New Plymouth, New Zealand30 contributions25 helpful votes
I was a little concerned when I read a few negative reviews about The Villas, but my experience was fantastic! One of the most affordable motels in Palmerston North. Within seconds of making my booking, they rang to check with me how I would like my beds configured (as I was travelling with three kids). Check in was quick and easy, and our room (1 bedroom) was clean and tidy, with everything we needed. Private spa pool was brilliant, beds clean and comfortable. If I had to pick anything that needed improving, I would only say the wifi was not great - it kept dropping out so I was unable to use it. Aside from that though, I was super happy, and would stay again in a heartbeat!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
phvima wrote a review Mar 2018
7 contributions
Such a wonderful place to stay. Very clean and accommodating. Very welcoming and friendly owners Great private spa and overall experience was great, very quiet considering it's right by the main road, heard no traffic noise
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gail S wrote a review Oct 2017
Auckland Central, New Zealand41 contributions28 helpful votes
Booked in with 2 couple, double and single bed upstairs, single down. Went to see if anything could be done, not friendly and was told if i didn't like it they would refund money and i could find somewhere else. The whole place need an upgrade. Great set up for groups and good location but the rest was very poor.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Upstair units have bathroom up a very narrow circular stair case, not good for older people.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Elaisha M, Owner at The Villas Palmerston North
Responded 2 Nov 2017
Actually nothing could be done because we had no other room to move you to. Also we cannot help it if someone else does your booking and you do not check until arrival on a BUSY long weekend if the configurations are correct. You paid for a room that was charged at a 1 couple rate, so in reality the second couple stayed free. We also offered to get another bed for you but later found that you had taken a bed from another room and did not return it before you left. Yes the place needs and upgrade but as you can appreciate that all takes money and as we have been here less than 8 months its going to take us a bit of time. Also if you put it into context I offered a full refund(which I didnt need to ) so as to give you the opportunity to look elsewhere because as you implied our room configurations had ruined your weekend away. BTW friendly goes both ways Gail!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
765caseyr wrote a review Oct 2017
Auckland, New Zealand102 contributions8 helpful votes
Motel part a little run down and couch uncomfortable due to pieces of wood jabbing in your back but does the job for our family. Staff were amazing. They were really friendly and happy to help when we needed. Ample parking and beautiful setting.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
aruske wrote a review Oct 2017
Dunedin, New Zealand38 contributions11 helpful votes
We stayed here as a sports team. Layout of facilities great and location perfect for our basketball tournament, but it is in desperate need of modernisation, and there are a few repairs required. Showers often cold and low pressure, light bulbs blown and oven door handle broken. Servicing was average as it was every 2nd day & minimal service provided. We were told the reason for this was to make it easier on staff. This isn’t ideal for a sports team that play two games per day. Not up to the usual servicing we have had at other motels as a sports team. We were given a list of jobs to do before we departed to make it easier on staff. We always leave our units tidy but have never received a list of jobs from any other accommodation we have stayed in. It was disappointing that there was still an expectation to strip beds etc before we to left despite explaining we had a 4:30am departure.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
nicoleruske wrote a review Oct 2017
Dunedin, New Zealand2 contributions2 helpful votes
3 rooms light bulbs blew. Towels were only serviced every 2 days not good for a sports team. Lack in other service. Was expected strip sheets and clean apartment and more despite 4:30am leave. Not happy.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palmerston North area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Econo Lodge The Villas
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionPalmerston North
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE VILLAS PALMERSTON NORTH - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Villas Palmerston North
Which popular attractions are close to The Villas Palmerston North?
Nearby attractions include Robertson Holden International Speedway (0.9 km), Central Energy Trust Arena (1.0 km), and Bowlarama (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Villas Palmerston North?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a spa.
Is parking available at The Villas Palmerston North?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Villas Palmerston North?
Conveniently located restaurants include Boho Cafe, Joseph Street Kitchen, and Bombay Masala.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Villas Palmerston North?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Villas Palmerston North?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Is The Villas Palmerston North accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.