The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre

305-307 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410 New Zealand
Wildlife on display at Pukaha, Mt Bruce conservatory
Traveller (21)
Bedroom - room 12
Room & Suite (5)
Great fishing at Foxton Beach
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#18 of 24 small hotels in Palmerston North
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are perfectly situated to offer all our corporate guests, families, travelers as well as students everything they require to maximise their stay in the Manawatu. We are perfectly situated directly across the road from the incredible Victoria Esplanade. We are the closest Motel to Massey University, Plant & Food, Agriculture Research & The International Rugby Academy of New Zealand. We offer sumptuous breakfast options. We also have on site, a spacious, well lit, private Conference Room. Allow us to either pick you up or deliver you in our guest shuttle, as well as recommend all the incredible attractions the Manawatu is famous for. We have complimentary bikes for all our guests to use. We look forward to hosting you
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Bicycle rental
Game room
Babysitting
Books, DVDs, music for children
Secured parking
Wifi
Fitness classes
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Golf course
Bowling offsite
Table tennis
Tennis court offsite
Water park offsite
Waterslide
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Steam room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared lounge / TV area
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range

Location

305-307 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410 New Zealand
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 39 out of 100
39
Palmerston North Airport
Wanganui Airport
45Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 10
  • 8
  • 1
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
WellingtonTravellers wrote a review Jun 2021
Warkworth, New Zealand153 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Colonial Court Motel is right across the road from the Esplanade Playground and gardens so is the perfect location particularly if you will be entertaining children. Very handy also to Massey University. Karena and Margaret, with their daughter, made us so welcome and we will be booking our frequent visits to this area with them from hereon. Nicely appointed clean rooms and a conference centre if you're looking for a great business venue. Thanks guys for making our stay perfect. See you again soon! Chrissie and Liam.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cgibbs2015 wrote a review Jan 2021
Greater Wellington, New Zealand6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival and departure you are greeted by the extremely friendly hosts who own the hotel and are made to feel very welcome and that nothing is a problem. Have stayed a couple of times and the rooms are of a very high standard, very clean and in great condition with everything you need. both check in and departure are very easy
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: parking at the door and wheelchair accesable
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
951kristin wrote a review Feb 2020
Wellington, New Zealand38 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Got this hotel on wotif the day we arrived and Palmy booked out.
Pleasant staff member.
Very clean.
Very dated and dark brown old bed covers on all the beds that made the room very depressing.
Bathroom dated.
Very basic hotel but clean.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peawini H wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Have previously stayed here once before without any problems however, this time round left such a bad taste in our mouths .... NEVER AGAIN!!
Our older daughter had booked 2 units, for one night as we'd travelled to Palmy for our younger daughters 21st.
Just before our departure I was walking back to our Unit, and said 'Morena/Good Morning' to Karena and got no response. I could actually feel a sense of hostility at that point.
As I was putting a bag in the boot, I heard swearing and a raised, angry voice directed at my teenage son.
Then I heard my husband saying, "Hold on, calm down mate"
Karena had been told by Margaret that there was a small hole in the wall of one of our Units, he in turn yelled WTF - and started falsely accusing my teenage son.
My son said he didn't know anything about it, and received more abuse!
I then questioned, our 11yr old twin boys as I'd heard them from the Unit next door laughing and goofing around the day before.
They denied it, but admitted to it once we'd left,
I asked them, why they didn't fess up at the time - but they said they were scared coz Karena was so angry.
My husband promptly paid for the damages, and the 2 extras that stayed as we coudn't wait to get out of there!
(Incidentally, sleeping arrangements at my younger daughters had got mucked up with friends crashing after the After Party. So my 2 older boys turned up in the wee small hours, unbeknown to us. We didnt bother locking either door, as we were going between the Units and the keys were also tricky to lock and unlock).
We found Karena's behaviour to be totally unprofessional and offensive, and going by other reviews I've read - its not the first time he has sworn at paying guests!
#Whakarihariha
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
magdalena wrote a review Feb 2021
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Margaret & Karena, beautiful, lovely couple who make sure our stay was good as possible.
Awesome atmosphere. Also great location, comfortable, clean & value for money.
thanks again guys and we will be back :-)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
worldtravelambitions wrote a review Nov 2014
La Herradura, Spain41 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived at the colonial court after some horrendous service at awatea Park motel... Gary (I hope I have his name right) & Moana were lovely. They sorted us a room and have us a late check out (much appreciated because I was feeling really unwell on our checkout morning). They were really kind and made us feel welcome and home. If you are going to stay somewhere affordable and nice, go to colonial court, these lovely hotel owners make the stay worth while. Awesome :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lohfna wrote a review Mar 2014
Singapore, Singapore152 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Was in palmy for business meeting and stayed 2 nights at colonial.

Clean and spacious rooms. Equipped with microwave, fridge, sink, coffee, tea, kettle.

Rooms are wheelchair accessible.

Internet is provided by inspire. First 100 mb is free. Paid 10 nzd for 1 day unlimited access. My colleague paid 15 nzd for 3 days unlimited.

Short walk to elm cafe which serves good food. Team running this motel is very warm n friendly especially Gary.

Will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Happy traveller wrote a review Feb 2022
New Plymouth, New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When visiting my partner who was staying here, I was confronted within 30 seconds of my arrival by the manager, standing in the unit door, staring. She demanded a vaccine passport and, as I went to the car to get my phone, she followed up with ‘If you don’t like it, you can leave’. I told her she could sight it which she reluctantly agreed to with ID. She then harshly reminded my partner and I that visitors are to leave by 9pm whilst pointing at the rules on the door. Discriminatory and unfriendly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karena Kaihe-Woolston, Owner at The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Hello, Interesting how on other platforms you claimed that you "Stayed" at our property. Automatically, we will say that that is extremely untrue & false. In the midst of a Global Pandemic, we reserve the right to question, address, & clarify with all our guests, as well as their visitors about their vaccination status & the ability to confirm this. We remember the account vividly, as your exact words were "I don't feel that this is necessary, & that it was a waste of time" Additionally, it seemed just too much for you to retrieve all required information & supporting documents from your car which was literally 10 feet from where you were standing. We make no apologies for wanting to keep ourselves, our business, our livelihood, as well as our country safe from such a contagious virus. Lastly, we also have zero issues with reminding all visitors of what our "Visiting Hours" are, how you interpreted this is not our problem. Kia ora
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Margaret G wrote a review May 2019
London, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent Easter weekend at a family reunion based in this motel. Use of the conference facilities was great BUT - 'How to put the hostility into hospitality'. All our bookings had been done by Margaret who was really helpful & accommodating & very pleasant. UNFORTUNATELY she was away for Easter and we had the full brunt of her male offsider! Yes we also experienced the "Well you can go find another motel" when HE messed up the room bookings and decided that he could just put our adult niece into our room so when we arrived our room was taken. We managed to sort a solution, but then later in the day the room arrangement was put back to what we had all booked and it became resolved. Perhaps he had a telephone conversation with his partner? Room we eventually had definitely needed some attention with the duster and vacuum cleaner. So a lesson for anyone staying at this NZ version of Fawlty Towers - you need to deal with Cybil...
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Road-end rooms noisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kris s wrote a review Mar 2018
dunedin69 contributions17 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This Motel cost $140 per night. The furnishings are all very tired. The couch is seriously uncomfortable and in need of replacement, the bedspreads are terrible and also need replacing. I stayed for two nights, my bed wasn't made, the bins were not emptied, the fridge was in need of a clean when I arrived. Dishes weren't washed properly between guests. The people were very nice and it wouldn't take much care and attention or money to lift this to a level commensurate with what they charge. I have stayed in much better for a similar price.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karena K, Owner at The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre
Responded 1 May 2018
Good Afternoon Kris, We understand that at the time you booked your accommodation with us, we were in fact the only motel in the Manawatu who had vacancies to accommodate you seeing that you were unable to find accommodation with who you normally book with. We are not going to be everyone's "Cup of Tea" but still are proud of the job we do for our regular guests, who continue to book with us on a very regular basis. Accommodation at this time of year is at a premium, so we are sure that you would this. Thank you for taking the time to review our business, and we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, The ASURE Colonial Court Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
cgibbs2015 wrote a tip Jan 2021
Greater Wellington, New Zealand6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"parking at the door and wheelchair accesable"
Read full review
Margaret G wrote a tip May 2019
London, United Kingdom9 contributions5 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Road-end rooms noisy"
Read full review
janineb916 wrote a tip Sept 2017
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms terrific, tidy and clean"
Read full review
Amidme wrote a tip Mar 2017
Cambridge, New Zealand77 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 2 got a bit of traffic noise."
Read full review
nisman1967 wrote a tip Jul 2016
Hastings, New Zealand8 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"with the wifi password you were only able to hook up 2 devices"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Palmerston North area.
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Colonial Court Motel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandManawatu-Wanganui RegionPalmerston North
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ESPLANADE MOTEL & CONFERENCE CENTRE - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Palmerston North, New Zealand)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre
Which popular attractions are close to The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre?
Nearby attractions include Victoria Esplanade (1.1 km), Te Manawa Museum of Art, Science & Heritage (1.9 km), and New Zealand Rugby Museum (1.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a fitness centre.
What food & drink options are available at The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nero Restaurant, Arranged Marriage Restaurant, and Little Savanna.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, a sauna, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre have airport transportation?
Yes, The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Palmerston North HotelsPalmerston North Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Palmerston NorthHotels near The Esplanade Motel & Conference Centre
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire