We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport

136 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#1 of 5 small hotels in Westport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Cosmopolitan Hotel offers 10 fully serviced rooms each with en-suite bathroom and Sky TV. The majority of rooms have new carpet and all have double glazing to minimise any noise from outside ensuring you have a quiet and relaxing stay. All of our five queen rooms have been recently upgraded with brand new en-suite bathrooms. Tea and coffee making facilities are also available for our guests.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
37Reviews1Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 9
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Anna-Maria wrote a review Jan 2024
Dubbo, Australia81 contributions19 helpful votes
What a find to eat and drink with the locals- and they were so very welcoming. We don’t stay here but just wanted a relaxed meal. And we were not disappointed. Our meals were fresh and full of goodness. Drinks spot on cold and tables all clean and well spaced. It became apparent we were amongst locals (not just tourists) and that’s when you know you’ve found a hidden gem!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Garry W wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
We initially chose The Cosmopolitan for its location. I was participating in the Old Ghost Ultra. The Race briefing, prizegiving, and Bus departure were right across the road from the Hotel. We found our Hosts to be personable, friendly and helpful. The room we stayed in was immaculately clean and modern. It was also surprisingly quiet, for a room situated above a bar. We stayed Friday and Saturday night without hearing any noise from downstairs. We also ate in the bar-restaurant both nights. The meals were excellent. Highly recommended. Garry and Tina
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dean W wrote a review Feb 2023
Cambridge, New Zealand12 contributions4 helpful votes
I’ve been to this place several times and it’s ok for food and drinks but the manager there now is a disgrace I will not be going again until he has gone unhelpful. The food was ok when we asked about pudding his reply was it’s shut and walked away.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Camro58 wrote a review Mar 2022
New Zealand43 contributions22 helpful votes
We stayed two nights to get the Westcoast pub experience. The family who owned this beautiful old pub were third generation and were very much hands on. We had a lovely quiet room and meals there were so delicious we didn’t even try any other option. Took all their advice and had an outstanding experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: It’s all about the people here. They will help you with the best choice for you
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jedstyrnz wrote a review Oct 2020
Whangarei, New Zealand8 contributions1 helpful vote
Really enjoyed our meal here. Staff we all friendly and helpful. Whitebait Fritters were awesome and the rib eye was cooked perfectly. Loved how the owners made an effort to talk to everyone in the bar and restaurant. Makes the place what it is. A great local gem.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
busterNewZealand wrote a review Sept 2020
New Zealand234 contributions151 helpful votes
We stayed two nights on our South Island road trip. The queen room was spacious and bed comfy. The bar at night was warm and welcoming. The dinners (especially the whitebait) was plentiful and well cooked. Glenn, the owner could not have been more welcoming. The best part was after a day of sightseeing, was to have a drink, a chat a dinner, and only a flight of stairs to bed. We are well travelled overseas, and this hotel rates well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: choose a queen room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gray's Reviews wrote a review Sept 2020
Timaru, New Zealand1422 contributions283 helpful votes
+1
We travelled across the South Island just to eat here, as our previous experience warranted it, and we were certainly not disappointed. We started out with a shared plate of mussels which tasted ever so fresh and juicy, then opted for the pièce de resistance, ie whitebait, which was presented with coleslaw, a salad and chips. As expected, it was delicious and plentiful, although we did notice that the whitebait hadn't been topped and tailed 🙄. Service was amazing, friendly and professional, which is possibly why the bar and dining area were so busy. Yes, worth the trip and yes, we'll be back one day to enjoy it all over again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Diane V wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Ingredients not fresh, extremely poor shrimp cocktail. Asked for medium rare steak. Steak was cooked to well done. They had run out of lots of dishes. Waiter was friendly, waitress was not friendly at all. Value for money to what we got was poor. Would not recommend unfortunately
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from ANTOINETTE PRATT, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Hello Diane First off I would like to apologise for the obvious poor experience you had at our hotel we do normally pride ourselves on our consistency. I have spoken with the staff and yes we had a busy evening and stocks had run low, which staff mentioned to you when you arrived, they should have removed shrimp cocktail from the menu as they had run out of lettuce & as for the steak I apologise but would have preferred if you had let the staff know & we would have cooked a fresh meal. I have also spoken to the waitress about her service. As far as the freshness of the food I would like to assure you that the ingredients were indeed fresh as everything was freshly prep by myself that day. As you can see from our other reviews your experience is out of the norm and we would love if you were to give us another opportunity to rectify your previous experience, if you are passing through again please make contact. Antoinette coshotel@xtra.co.nz
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JanuaryLantern wrote a review Jan 2020
Swindon, United Kingdom65 contributions38 helpful votes
We received a genuinely friendly welcome from the English bartender when we walked into the bar which was very welcome as we'd had a long day travelling. Although we arrived just outside the usual hours for food service, this bartender and the chef could not have been more accommodating and we soon had two lovely meals served to us. We enjoyed our rig and chips and vegetarian Cajun salad. Good portions and tasty food. We were visiting from UK and were delighted with the friendly helpful service, thank you very much.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from coshotel, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate it & glad you enjoyed our friendly service at the Cos
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
J C M L wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland, New Zealand106 contributions23 helpful votes
All you need in a pub accommodation. Stayed here with a sports team the weekend before Christmas and was very well looked after. Food is good eating for a great price. Stumbled across the annual Santa dress up pub crawl which made the night a good one. The publican is a real charachter who makes you feel very welcome. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if i had the choice.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from coshotel, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport
Responded 13 Jan 2020
Thanks guys glad you enjoyed your weekend & yes the traditional Santa pub crawl is a fun addition
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Westport area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COSMOPOLITAN HOTEL WESTPORT - Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport
Which popular attractions are close to Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Nearby attractions include Coaltown Museum (0.05 km), Shortjaw Brewing (0.08 km), and Surf Fevah (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Conveniently located restaurants include PR's Cafe, Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar, and Whanake Gallery & Espresso Bar.
Is Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Westport.
Are there any historical sites close to Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Coalmining (14.7 km).