We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
136 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825 New Zealand
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#6 of 16 in Westport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Cosmopolitan Hotel offers 10 fully serviced rooms each with en-suite bathroom and Sky TV. The majority of rooms have new carpet and all have double glazing to minimise any noise from outside ensuring you have a quiet and relaxing stay. All of our five queen rooms have been recently upgraded with brand new en-suite bathrooms. Tea and coffee making facilities are also available for our guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
34Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 20
  • 9
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Camro58 wrote a review Mar 2022
New Zealand41 contributions22 helpful votes
We stayed two nights to get the Westcoast pub experience. The family who owned this beautiful old pub were third generation and were very much hands on. We had a lovely quiet room and meals there were so delicious we didn’t even try any other option. Took all their advice and had an outstanding experience.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: It’s all about the people here. They will help you with the best choice for you
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
jedstyrnz wrote a review Oct 2020
Whangarei, New Zealand8 contributions1 helpful vote
Really enjoyed our meal here. Staff we all friendly and helpful. Whitebait Fritters were awesome and the rib eye was cooked perfectly. Loved how the owners made an effort to talk to everyone in the bar and restaurant. Makes the place what it is. A great local gem.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
busterNewZealand wrote a review Sep 2020
New Zealand234 contributions151 helpful votes
We stayed two nights on our South Island road trip. The queen room was spacious and bed comfy. The bar at night was warm and welcoming. The dinners (especially the whitebait) was plentiful and well cooked. Glenn, the owner could not have been more welcoming. The best part was after a day of sightseeing, was to have a drink, a chat a dinner, and only a flight of stairs to bed. We are well travelled overseas, and this hotel rates well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: choose a queen room.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Gray's Reviews wrote a review Sep 2020
Timaru, New Zealand1395 contributions259 helpful votes
+1
We travelled across the South Island just to eat here, as our previous experience warranted it, and we were certainly not disappointed. We started out with a shared plate of mussels which tasted ever so fresh and juicy, then opted for the pièce de resistance, ie whitebait, which was presented with coleslaw, a salad and chips. As expected, it was delicious and plentiful, although we did notice that the whitebait hadn't been topped and tailed 🙄. Service was amazing, friendly and professional, which is possibly why the bar and dining area were so busy. Yes, worth the trip and yes, we'll be back one day to enjoy it all over again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Diane V wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
Ingredients not fresh, extremely poor shrimp cocktail. Asked for medium rare steak. Steak was cooked to well done. They had run out of lots of dishes. Waiter was friendly, waitress was not friendly at all. Value for money to what we got was poor. Would not recommend unfortunately
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from ANTOINETTE PRATT, Owner at Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Hello Diane First off I would like to apologise for the obvious poor experience you had at our hotel we do normally pride ourselves on our consistency. I have spoken with the staff and yes we had a busy evening and stocks had run low, which staff mentioned to you when you arrived, they should have removed shrimp cocktail from the menu as they had run out of lettuce & as for the steak I apologise but would have preferred if you had let the staff know & we would have cooked a fresh meal. I have also spoken to the waitress about her service. As far as the freshness of the food I would like to assure you that the ingredients were indeed fresh as everything was freshly prep by myself that day. As you can see from our other reviews your experience is out of the norm and we would love if you were to give us another opportunity to rectify your previous experience, if you are passing through again please make contact. Antoinette coshotel@xtra.co.nz
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport
Which popular attractions are close to Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Nearby attractions include Coaltown Museum (0.05 km), NBS Theatre (0.1 km), and Surf Fevah (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Conveniently located restaurants include PR's Cafe, Johnny's, and Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar.
Is Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Westport.
Are there any historical sites close to Cosmopolitan Hotel Westport?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Coalmining (14.7 km).