Ascot Motor Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ascot Motor Lodge

No light bulbs in lights
Traveller (13)
Dirty broken light switch
Room & Suite (16)
Bathroom (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.5
#10 of 11 hotels in Westport
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are a Motel situated closest to the town centre and Solid Energy Sports Centre in a quiet area with very little traffic noise. Comfortable and clean with free wifi that works. We are happy to tell you that we are pet-friendly and within easy distance to the rivers, beaches and walking/biking tracks.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Mini golf
Fishing
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Centrally Located

Location

74 Romilly Street, Westport 7825 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 70 out of 100
70
Westport Airport
Christchurch Intl Airport
207.6 km
See all flights
72Reviews0Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 30
  • 21
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shelley M wrote a review Jul 2020
Albany, New Zealand882 contributions149 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 3 bedroom unit which gave us all a bit of space. It has a microwave, fridge and stove, jug, toaster etc which made it easy to sort breakfast out. Located a 10 minute walk from the main street in Westport, so it was quiet which was lovely. Plenty of room for vehicle to park and the unit is very dated and was not serviced daily. Great budget option for us as we used Westport for a base for 4 nights and had day trips from there which worked really well. Laundry on site was useful.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Di_H011011 wrote a review Feb 2020
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a well equipped motel which is clean and tidy if a little dated. Quiet location near to centre with on site parking.
Check in and out were easy and had no issues. It was value for money if you’re looking for top luxury in a ultra modern look it’s not here but you pay for what you get and we were happy there for the night we spent!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JEC wrote a review Feb 2020
Perth, Australia48 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Located in a quiet location handy to services. Clean basic facilities with warm, friendly reception. Great for short stays. Found limited power points. Advertised free wifi however found unable to connect.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
R K wrote a review Jan 2023
Wellington, New Zealand9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a very run down motel, definitely not a 3 star. The 2 bedroom unit we booked was dirty, there were stains on the bed covers and hair all over the floor. The stove and hobs in the kitchen did not work at all and there was only 1 glass to drink from in the kitchen. If the stove and hobs did work then you wouldn't be able to use them as there was very limited cooking equipment. Half of the lights in the unit either were broken or had missing light bulbs and some of the switches on the wall were broken so a child using the switch could get electrocuted. The windows would either not open or were missing the locks so they would not close. There is no reception staff on arrival so you have to call them and then they are confused on who you are and what motel you are staying in.
The manager said he would provide a full refund, 2 nights refund was received from booking.com but the manager is now ignoring me for the first night refund.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: View the room first before staying there
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark S wrote a review Nov 2016
23 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel was reasonably comfortable but a bit tired. Having a good sense of humour helps. The fuse box for several units was on our wall with no cover.The heater sounded like a jet taking off and the hair dryer looked like it belonged in a Dr Who movie. We still had a good stay and found the staff very friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caroline B wrote a review Mar 2016
Keflavik, Iceland10 contributions23 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Was very disappointed with this motel. It was very dated and really could do with a complete update. Mirrors were dirty and the bathroom was very small and pokey. There is no light in the shower. The room smelt stale and musty. Curtains had to be pulled shut to get some privacy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pete J, Owner at Ascot Motor Lodge
Responded 15 Apr 2016
As unpalatable as it is we nevertheless appreciate this feedback. Judging from her feedback of NZ restaurants and motels in NZ we feel for Caroline B because her experience has been negative. Under the circumstances we offer to do everything possible to make a follow up visit a fabulous experience for her. Yes, we are an older motel and for this reason we try harder than most. We are 100% committed to providing our guests with the best possible experience and are in the process of further upgrading our units. I can assure guests that there has never ever been an unclean mirror in Ascot Westport. Furthermore Caroline B sat in genuine leather recliners, slept in expensive linen on a new top of the line mattress, and had the most spacious unit in Westport for a lesser price than equivalent competitors.. Today our manager has received reviews from AA Travel including the same unit used by Caroline B and these are all 9 and 10's. View also Booking.Com Sincerely Neville
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TheSassafrassquatch wrote a review Apr 2013
Toronto, Canada34 contributions30 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is just OK, basically a place to sleep. I have stayed in worst places but it was only about $100 CDN, so not terrible for that price. Owner was very friendly and left the laundry open late for us. If you just need a place to rest your head, check it out.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne K wrote a review Apr 2013
Dunedin, New Zealand158 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
having stayed in various accommodation in this town and having not so good experiences we have at last found the right place,it is older style but this is what we want it is roomy has comfortable chairs etc,kitchen and you feel like you are at home and rates are reasonable,the people are delightful and will do anything to please,it is in a side street so that is why we have not found it before,it is back off the street so quieter,but we are right now it will be our new westport stop over,thanks guys
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cspacenz wrote a review Apr 2013
Christchurch NZ65 contributions82 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Reasonabley priced motel in a back street of Westport where it's nice and quiet. The rooms are basic but very clean and tidy. There was a small issue I had when I first moved into the room and on requesting something be done about it they took care of it immediately which was very impressive, it's the little things that make the difference.

I made an evening meal in the kitchen and there was everything I needed to do that.

I would stay here again and I can recommend it to you as a simple motel at a good price.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SusanFeay wrote a review Dec 2019
Bundaberg, Australia39 contributions33 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel is very clean and very comfortable. It had everything we needed but it is in need of modernization. It is close to amenities. The rooms are not cramped however and if you are a cat lover you will thoroughly enjoy the resident cats.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
R K wrote a tip Jan 2023
Wellington, New Zealand9 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"View the room first before staying there"
Read full review
nickeastwood52 wrote a tip Jan 2018
Penzance, United Kingdom73 contributions28 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking spaces vary outside rooms. Check with hotel if you need large space."
Read full review
steendenmark2016 wrote a tip Apr 2016
Vejby, Denmark4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just ask reception - they will help you out for sure."
Read full review
lynnemcmorran wrote a tip Mar 2015
Christchurch, New Zealand38 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is more towards a budget end motel but excellent value for money. I get tired of people who complain a motel is tired or dated. You get what you pay for. If you want to pay mega bucks go somewhere else."
Read full review
Rob W wrote a tip Jan 2013
Christchurch, New Zealand16 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not in centre of town but not long walk."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Westport area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ASCOT MOTOR LODGE - Hotel Reviews (Westport) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ascot Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Ascot Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Coaltown Museum (0.5 km), Shortjaw Brewing (0.4 km), and Kawatiri River Trail (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ascot Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Ascot Motor Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ascot Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include PR's Cafe, Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar, and Whanake Gallery & Espresso Bar.
Is Ascot Motor Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Westport.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ascot Motor Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Ascot Motor Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Coalmining (14.2 km).
All Westport HotelsWestport Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WestportHotels near Ascot Motor Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire