Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bazil's Hostel & Surf School

Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (14)
Pool & Beach (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 5 hostels in Westport
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness classes
Snack bar
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Taxi service
Secured parking
Wifi
Canoeing
Game room
Hiking
Snorkelling
Darts
Fishing
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

54 / 56 Russell St, Westport New Zealand
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 85 out of 100
85
Westport Airport
Christchurch Intl Airport
207.7 km
See all flights
468Reviews1Q+A37Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 347
  • 73
  • 29
  • 9
  • 10
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MachineDDW wrote a review Mar 2021
Prague, Czech Republic49 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The surf lesson on our first day with Steve was great fun! Although I fell off a few times, I did manage to stand up confidently by the end.

The backpacker lads working reception were really helpful and friendly, gave us tonnes of advice on which beaches to go to, which boards would work best for us, and on the 3rd day of our stay when they went out surfing they even invited us along with them!

The hostel has lots of common areas so its easy to chat with other guests, has hammocks and fresh herbs in the garden, and a big movie room to collapse into at the end of a day of surfing. Great backpacker vibes, we'll definitely return when we head back North!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Go surfing!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guy123 wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a fantastic way of seeing the new year with a morning surf lesson. This was my first time learning to surf and I had a fantastic time. Tom my instructor was really good and explained techniques really well and spent time with everyone before getting into the sea and whilst in the water to help us put theory into practise. Thanks to Jordan as well for taking some cracking photos.
Overall a great experience and I'm looking forward to surfing again soon.

Many thanks

Guy
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bazils, Manager at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Responded 3 Jan 2020
Thanks Guy! It was a great lesson :) Surf on brother!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jane Doe wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hostel. Clean and tidy rooms, well maintained. Great kitchen facilities and ammenities. Kitchen well stocked with all the necessities. Plenty to do around town with local pubs, shops and other activities such as brewery and cinema within walking distance. Had great fun surfing. Friendly staff around able to help with queries related to surfing and other activities in the area. Bonfire nights on the beach and pizza nights added to the experience. Had a great time! Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
terinkw wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately they did put me in a caravan instead of the double room that I booked through email, so that was disappointment number 1. Then the caravan turned out to be very old: the door didn't close properly, some of the lights didn't work, and I had to put two mattresses on top of each other to have some comfort. It's also quite noisy because it's outside next to the street, and the very bright outdoor lights go on every time someone walks past, which makes a good night of sleep nearly impossible.
I had booked for two nights, but then a situation at home required me to turn home earlier so that I could only stay one night. I was very disappointed that they were not willing to refund me that one night.
The positive thing is that the pizzas are very tasty. Maybe accommodation inside is ok, but I was unfortunately unable to test that.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Make sure you are not staying in one of those caravans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ray Lunn, Owner at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Responded 14 Feb 2021
Hi. you were told via email you were booking a caravan and you said not a problem you were also giving it for half price. It was marathon weekend so an extra 2000 people in town, sorry if you didn't like all the fit happy people at the hostel. I did offer you a free double on your return and also said you could bring your pet so you didn't have to leave and look after it like you did the other night. We have taken a big hit in the tourism industry due to covid so I really appreciate you stupid review. Thanks heaps dutchie. Why did all the good tourists go home and leave the wingers?
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Clara wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had really good time there. Peacefull place with quality amenities, helped and friendly staff, great pizzas in the evening and full equipped kitchen to cook your own meal.
You can enjoy surfing or paddlle boarding both are very nice.

2 steps from city centre

Just go !!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim E wrote a review Nov 2022
New York City, New York2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
An awesomely welcoming place to stay ' great hosts & hospitality. Westport has good activities to get into, amazing natural scenery from the hills to the many beautiful beaches. Thank you Bazils hostel 🙂
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Get out for a surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy Beresford wrote a review Feb 2023
Taunton, United Kingdom27 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The most amazing time here. Arrived with kiwi experience on the 14th of Feb and had the best time. Such a good vibe the most amazing murals painted everywhere around the hostel. 4 other girls and I managed to secure one of the amazing glamping tents they have set up outside. Such a cool outside area to socialise/eat etc. Run by some really chilled guys who were super accommodating and helpful. Could not recommend enough.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jas wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Highly recommend this hostel! Very friendly and welcoming people. Great facilities, well stocked kitchen, clean and tidy. Cool artwork and murals give the place an awesome unique vibe. Walking distance to Westport town center, shops and takeaways. Had so much fun surfing!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kylie309 wrote a review Apr 2022
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We met some awesome people here and had a great time cooking together, surfing and cycling the new Kawatiri coastal trail. The artwork around the hostel is amazing and we even got to see a new mural in progress. Our room was clean and we had no problems with the free wifi.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
robertcD1729CZ wrote a review May 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent hostel! Great facilities and friendly staff the best thing though was the Surf Lesson! First time ever on a board and Steve had me standing up in no time ended up staying a week just to keep getting that 'feeling' that only we 'surfers' know. Close 2nd was the Pizza at night. Thanks Bazils will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Westport area.
PRICE RANGE
$79 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAZIL'S HOSTEL & SURF SCHOOL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Westport, New Zealand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Which popular attractions are close to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Nearby attractions include Coaltown Museum (0.08 km), Shortjaw Brewing (0.06 km), and Surf Fevah (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Conveniently located restaurants include PR's Cafe, Denniston Dog Restaurant & Bar, and Whanake Gallery & Espresso Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Yes, guests have access to fitness classes during their stay.
Is Bazil's Hostel & Surf School located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Westport.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Coalmining (14.6 km).
Is Bazil's Hostel & Surf School accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Westport HotelsWestport Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WestportHotels near Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire