We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bazil's Hostel & Surf School

Save
Share
54 / 56 Russell St, Westport New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (16)
Pool & Beach (7)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#2 of 13 Speciality lodging in Westport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness classes
Snack bar
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Taxi service
Secured parking
Wifi
Canoeing
Game room
Hiking
Snorkelling
Darts
Fishing
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
461Reviews1Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 341
  • 74
  • 29
  • 9
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
MachineDDW wrote a review Mar 2021
County Cork, Ireland37 contributions27 helpful votes
The surf lesson on our first day with Steve was great fun! Although I fell off a few times, I did manage to stand up confidently by the end. The backpacker lads working reception were really helpful and friendly, gave us tonnes of advice on which beaches to go to, which boards would work best for us, and on the 3rd day of our stay when they went out surfing they even invited us along with them! The hostel has lots of common areas so its easy to chat with other guests, has hammocks and fresh herbs in the garden, and a big movie room to collapse into at the end of a day of surfing. Great backpacker vibes, we'll definitely return when we head back North!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Go surfing!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
terinkw wrote a review Feb 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Unfortunately they did put me in a caravan instead of the double room that I booked through email, so that was disappointment number 1. Then the caravan turned out to be very old: the door didn't close properly, some of the lights didn't work, and I had to put two mattresses on top of each other to have some comfort. It's also quite noisy because it's outside next to the street, and the very bright outdoor lights go on every time someone walks past, which makes a good night of sleep nearly impossible. I had booked for two nights, but then a situation at home required me to turn home earlier so that I could only stay one night. I was very disappointed that they were not willing to refund me that one night. The positive thing is that the pizzas are very tasty. Maybe accommodation inside is ok, but I was unfortunately unable to test that.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you are not staying in one of those caravans
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Ray Lunn, Owner at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Responded 14 Feb 2021
Hi. you were told via email you were booking a caravan and you said not a problem you were also giving it for half price. It was marathon weekend so an extra 2000 people in town, sorry if you didn't like all the fit happy people at the hostel. I did offer you a free double on your return and also said you could bring your pet so you didn't have to leave and look after it like you did the other night. We have taken a big hit in the tourism industry due to covid so I really appreciate you stupid review. Thanks heaps dutchie. Why did all the good tourists go home and leave the wingers?
Read more
robertcD1729CZ wrote a review May 2020
3 contributions
Excellent hostel! Great facilities and friendly staff the best thing though was the Surf Lesson! First time ever on a board and Steve had me standing up in no time ended up staying a week just to keep getting that 'feeling' that only we 'surfers' know. Close 2nd was the Pizza at night. Thanks Bazils will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Issy Westall wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions
Bazils was such a bloody good hostel! Awesome art everywhere, great family surf lessons, primo wooodfire pizza and right across the road from a sick skate park, basketball court and soccer field. On top of that everyone was super nice and friendly! Would deffs reccommend!!!! Thanks for having us!! Xxxx
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Clara wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
We had really good time there. Peacefull place with quality amenities, helped and friendly staff, great pizzas in the evening and full equipped kitchen to cook your own meal. You can enjoy surfing or paddlle boarding both are very nice. 2 steps from city centre Just go !!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$20 - US$51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandWest Coast RegionWestport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Which popular attractions are close to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Nearby attractions include Coaltown Museum (0.08 km), NBS Theatre (0.2 km), and Surf Fevah (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kathrin's, PR's Cafe, and Johnny's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Yes, guests have access to fitness classes during their stay.
Is Bazil's Hostel & Surf School located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Westport.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Coalmining (14.6 km).
Is Bazil's Hostel & Surf School accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.