We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Red Tussock Motel

10 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (41)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#6 of 10 motels in Te Anau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Red Tussock Motel is on Te Anau lakefront but has limited views from the Apartments of the lake as we are only at the beginning of the road but just walk across the road and the lake is an amazing and peaceful place to sit. We currently have 12 Apartments from Studio to a 3 Bedroom Apartment but by 2018/2019 Summer Season we will have 20 Apartments with 8 Apartments under Construction currently. We offer to our guests friendly service with a homely style and great local knowledge of the area plus most places in NZ. Come and stay 2-3 days as we have more than enough to keep you busy in Te Anau NZ
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
266Reviews1Q+A46Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 160
  • 65
  • 27
  • 8
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
evets1232016 wrote a review Feb 2024
Sydney, Australia437 contributions138 helpful votes
The location is close to the lake, about 10 minutes walk along the lake shore to the middle of town. The room was quite large, the bed was comfortable, all the usual things were available in the room and worked properly, including Internet. We'd happily stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Shirley Gallacher wrote a review Jan 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom4 contributions
We stayed 1 night before a booked cruise, and I must say, everything was just perfect. It was clean, had everything you could possibly need and robin was so friendly and helpful. It is very close to the main town in a nice quiet residential area
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
SteveOnVacation wrote a review Dec 2023
vancouver30 contributions24 helpful votes
The owner/manager goes way beyond expectations with regards to being helpful and efficient. This made our trip to the Routeburn Great Walk much easier. The rooms are excellent: Everything works, no noise problems, great location. For sure this would be the first place we look up if we return to the beautiful Te Anau!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
misswicky wrote a review Mar 2023
Perth, Australia52 contributions16 helpful votes
Great accommodation with everything you need including cooking facilities. The owner Robyn was very enthusiastic and welcoming and showed us through our unit. We had upstairs unit which had a lovely view Can highly recommend this accommodation
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Frank Konings wrote a review Mar 2023
Meerle, Belgium92 contributions36 helpful votes
Great and spacious apartment with a fine terrace facing the sun. Great kitchen with everything you need. Wonderful beds so we slept very good. The host (Robin) is a man who does everything so you have a wonderful stay. And he has very good tips for excursions. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel
Responded 25 Mar 2023
Thank you Frank for your kind words and I hope I can host you again sometime. Cheers Robin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emerald G wrote a review Mar 2023
East Anglia, United Kingdom77 contributions10 helpful votes
Great location enroute to Milford Sound. Robin could not have been more helpful. Two bed older style unit was fine, very clean and comfortable. Well equipped and organised. Warm and cosy. We had a carport and easy access to town. Brilliant shower with great water pressure. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Always book restaurants in advance. Try the Fat Duck or The Ranch.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel
Responded 25 Mar 2023
Hi Emarald, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I would love to host you again sometime. Cheers Robin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kernel_Mustard wrote a review Mar 2023
Invercargill, New Zealand20 contributions3 helpful votes
I stayed for business in a large room in their 'new' block upstairs. The room was very good - very well appointed, lots of space with good kitchen facilities and great shower/bathroom. Bed was also very comfortable. I'd definitely recommend this motel to others.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Choose a room on the 1st floor in the new block.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel
Responded 25 Mar 2023
Hi there, Thank you for your kind words and please, come and stay again. Cheers Robin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael H wrote a review Feb 2023
New York City, New York121 contributions120 helpful votes
The place is categorized as a “motel” but the place and the service is like a 4 stars hotel. Rooms are huge, clean and comfortable and are equipped with a kitchen. There is a huge bed, great shower and AC. The service is great as well. Happy to stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel
Responded 25 Mar 2023
Hi Michael, Thank you for your kind words and I hope I can host you again sometime. Cheers Robin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jifer wrote a review Feb 2023
19 contributions22 helpful votes
We stayed at Red Tussock for four nights with our two young kids. It was a great base for tours to Milford & Doubtful Sounds and the Glow worm Cave. The room was in a new building, very clean, spacious, well presented and comfortable. It had a big king size bed in the bedroom and a queen size sofa bed in the living area. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom (shower only) clean and spacious. The Manager Robin was very helpful and even did a load of washing for us and lent us some Tomato Sauce. The motel is an easy 10 min (with young kids) walk along the lake from the town centre.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel
Responded 25 Mar 2023
Hi Jifer, Thank you for your kind words and I hope you can stay again sometime. Cheers Robin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Albert wrote a review Feb 2023
Flagler Beach, Florida297 contributions106 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed for 3 wonderful Nights. Upon arrival, Robin, Hotel Manager, greeted us and showed us our accommodations. It was very spacious and clean, especially for 2 people. We had cleaning services once and did they do a tremendous job. They even washed 3 dirty cooking pans from dinner the night before. Great Job Robin….please share with your staff. We Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Red Tussock, General Manager at Red Tussock Motel
Responded 25 Mar 2023
Hi Albert, Thank you and yes, I will share this with the team. Cheers Robin
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Te Anau area.
PRICE RANGE
$180 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandSouthland RegionFiordland National ParkTe Anau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RED TUSSOCK MOTEL - Now $160 (Was $̶1̶8̶3̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Te Anau, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Red Tussock Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Red Tussock Motel?
Nearby attractions include Fiordland Cinema (1.0 km), Lake Te Anau (0.5 km), and Te Anau Glowworm Caves (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Red Tussock Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Red Tussock Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Red Tussock Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Red Tussock Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Red Tussock Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ditto, Sandfly Cafe, and Redcliff Restaurant & Bar.
Are pets allowed at Red Tussock Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Red Tussock Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.