We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau

41 Town Centre, Corner Mokonui Street & Main Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (240)
Room & Suite (93)
Dining (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#17 of 22 hotels in Te Anau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located in the heart of the town, Distinction Luxmore Hotel is a popular choice with both visitors and locals alike. Basing yourself in Te Anau enables you to easily explore Milford Sound and the Fiordland World Heritage National Park. Distinction Luxmore has 180 rooms offering Standard, Superior & Deluxe rooms and suites, some with spa bath as well as wheelchair accessible rooms. Free unlimited WiFi, parking and gym. Guest Laundry facilities. Elevators on every floor. Two on site Restaurants and Bars and Conference facilities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

41 Town Centre, Corner Mokonui Street & Main Street, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600 New Zealand
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
835Reviews3Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 200
  • 341
  • 213
  • 56
  • 25
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Chris P wrote a review Feb 2024
Cwmbran9 contributions4 helpful votes
Spacious rooms, excellent location - but the hotel needs a complete refurbishment! Furnishings and decor very tired indeed. No air conditioning. Breakfast buffet fine if you can avoid the numerous coach tours. Bailies bistro bar food good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Donovan, Other at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi NorthernCrispy Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I will of course pass this on to our team. Best Regards Glen
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Judee wrote a review Jan 2024
Livermore, California934 contributions144 helpful votes
+1
Stayed here for one night to go to the gloworm tour and for that purpose it was convenient. Check in was easy and staff nice. Room was dated with old, gold bedspreads that I cannot imagine how old they are. The room and bathroom were both clean. The morning breakfast buffet had a decent amount of food to choose from. Location was good to walk one block and take the boat ride over to the gloworm tour which is a plus. You can also easily walk around the lake and town for shopping and restaurants so the location is good.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wanderlust wrote a review Jan 2024
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom240 contributions97 helpful votes
+1
Distinction Luxmore is ideally situated in Te Anau for taking the many excursions available in the surrounding areas, e.g. Milford/Doubtful Sound, Glow worm caves etc. This 4 star hotel offers a comfortable stay, adequate facilities including guest laundrette, and buffet style breakfast. Whilst breakfast didn't really offer high quality ingredients, e.g. mass produced hash browns, basic sausages, bacon, cereals etc we were impressed by the fresh fruit and the whole honey comb, which is something we have not seen elsewhere. The honey was delicious! There's no air conditioning in the rooms, but they do provide an oscillating floor fan. Basic toiletries provided, not luxury, but reasonable accommodation for the stop off point in Te Anau.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Paul T wrote a review Jan 2024
Mount Gambier, Australia212 contributions84 helpful votes
Very good place on the edge of the lake. Good service from lovely staff. Good rooms. Comfortable bed, great shower. Had a good meal for tea with plenty to eat. Large range of food for breakfast in the morning. Because it was cold, couldn't go for a swim. Very happy.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bernie R wrote a review Jan 2024
Christchurch, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
Simply put, I wouldn’t recommend. Nicest thing I can say is it was clean. Old decor, peeling laminate in bathroom, no air conditioning, cheap beds with massive roll together. Grumpy staff on check in. All for $300. Come on Distiction this is embarrassing.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Donovan, Other at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Hi Sandbernie Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear everything was clean. We have a large hotel and our refurbishment plans are ongoing including upgrading beds of which we replaced 66 in October 2023. The most concerning issue you raised is grumpy staff for which there is no excuse and something I will address immediately. I regret you did not have an enjoyable experience but wish to assure you I will address your concerns with our team. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Xavier C wrote a review Jan 2024
Majorca, Spain581 contributions90 helpful votes
+1
I don’t write negative reviews but this time definitely they got the gold medal!!!! First we came to the hotel al 12:35, after driving 5 hours, I asked the receptionist (young girl) if where possible to check in earlier and at the same time stay a day longer, suddenly a very disgusting guy who was siting on the other side shout to me “check in at 14:00” So I paid the extra night and came back at 14:00. The disgusting guy was doing the check in and he said, your room is not ready!!!!!!! We have 109 hotels rooms………. (Don’t think they have check in/out all the rooms same day) Anyway we wait until 14:45 for the room, he was very rude all the time, I’m sure he made it purposely you could see it in your face. Even if the a short of stuff for cleaning the rooms (his excuses) they 4 hours to clean , and beleihe me the Cleaness was very poor! Hotel is like to travel to 1990!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t lose your money
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Donovan, Other at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Hi Xavier Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I will of course take your comments seriously and pass them on to our team. We have 180 rooms and can have up to 160 all check out and in again on the same day. This is because many guests especially groups stay only one night. This being said it does not take 4 hours to clean a room and where possible staff will change allocations to accommodate an early arrival. I am sorry that you had a bad experience and will do my best to address the issues you raised. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul C wrote a review Jan 2024
Wellington, New Zealand167 contributions36 helpful votes
We’ve stayed at this hotel a couple of times previously in past years and nothing has changed. It’s a large hotel that caters for lots of bus tours. We keep choosing it because it’s consistent and dependable and most rooms are decorated OK (as long as you’re comfortable with a dated corporate hotel look). They have good luggage storage facilities and also a comprehensive buffet breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Donovan, Other at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Responded 14 Jan 2024
Hi Paul Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Luxmore again and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am happy to hear you trust our brand standards. We are committed to improving our product and have more refurbishment plans in the near future. I will pass your comments on to our team and hope to welcome you back in the future. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stu Leslie wrote a review Jan 2024
Upper Hutt, New Zealand58 contributions3 helpful votes
We arrived in Te Anau Christmas Day mid afternoon and went to book in knowing we had a 2pm check-in. However reception was very busy with a bus load of tourists just arrived. Took some time to get assistance and when we did, we were told there would be another half hour wait to get to our room as room service had not yet finished with it. Thats fine, we could go sightseeing some more and come back later, which we did. Room was ready however was much later than we hoped for. Room was great for what we wanted for the next 2 nights. Was on the backside of the hotel with views out over the lake and mountains. And it was quiet. Hilights Restaurant was opened for Christmas Day dinner and they provided each table with a christmas cracker. Food was great. Staff were awesome. Night was very very good. Hilights Restuarant also did morning breakfasts. Staff here were also awesome and helpful and great to deal with. Our only problem came when it came time to check out. Because there were so many tourist buses staying, we offered to check out late to help keep checking out numbers down in the morning rush to check out. But no, no way in the world was reception going to let that happen. So there was no acknowledgement of us checking in late and no way we were allowed to check out late. Fortunately all the staff we met and dealt with that weren't reception were great to talk to and deal with. An overworked overstressed reception let the rest of the team down. Not a great first impression for someone supposed to be giving first impressions. We'd highly recommend the Distinction Luxmore Hotel in Te Anau. Just not when its busy - reception can't cope.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a room at back of motel for views of mountains and Lake. No air con but rooms had fans but...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Donovan, Other at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Hi Stu Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive feedback. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and apologise if reception were under excessive pressure. I will pass your comments on to our team who genuinely pride themselves on friendly professional service. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gl0bej0gger wrote a review Dec 2023
Atlanta, Georgia19 contributions6 helpful votes
Hmmm, we would rate this a three-star hotel with five-star prices. This hotel caters to bus tour groups....The bathroom was clean and lots of amenities there. When was the last time you stayed at a hotel room costing $200+ USD that had an actual room key?! no card entry. Well-worn carpet and low ceilings. Free parking was good. Old furniture too. Front desk staff was not overly friendly, seemed bored and none of 3 we spoke with during our two-night stay was warm or welcoming. The female manager in the breakfast buffet restaurant was professional and organized.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Donovan, Other at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Hi G10bej0gger Thank you for your feedback. I will of course pass this on to our team. I am sorry that we let you down in some areas and will discuss these with the relevant people. Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alvin S wrote a review Dec 2023
Viti Levu, Fiji1131 contributions126 helpful votes
+1
My family and I had a great time in Te Anau. We stopped at the Distinction to be close to Milford Sound for the early morning cruise. The hotel setup is excellent and staffs are good. The restaurant is great. The best part of the hotel is where it is located. The best part is the picturesque town of Te Anau which is absolutely beautiful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Glen Donovan, Other at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Hi 775alvins Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to our team Best Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Te Anau area.
PRICE RANGE
$237 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
distinction luxmore te anau, hotel distinction luxmore
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandSouthland RegionFiordland National ParkTe Anau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
180
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DISTINCTION LUXMORE HOTEL LAKE TE ANAU - Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Which popular attractions are close to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau?
Nearby attractions include Fiordland Cinema (0.2 km), Te Anau Glowworm Caves (0.2 km), and Fiordland Escapes (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ditto, Sandfly Cafe, and Redcliff Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Does Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.