We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
20 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (147)
Room & Suite (57)
Dining (15)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 25/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 25/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#20 of 22 in Te Anau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau features 94 modern guest rooms with double beds and adjoining rooms. Book your stay at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau and explore the beauty of New Zealand region.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Shuttle bus service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Paid public parking on-site
Street parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
On-demand films
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
528Reviews2Q+A94Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 181
  • 180
  • 54
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
JohnMuriel M wrote a review Apr 2022
Ashburton, New Zealand60 contributions28 helpful votes
Justin, the manager, greeted us warmly when we arrived. All staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed four nights and can't fault the service. Location is superb, overlooking Lake Te Anau. Room was large and clean. Perfect. Te Anau is a great little town and a good base for exploring Fiordland.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
sezzi_h wrote a review Feb 2022
Dunsyre, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
Great stay 😊 lovely staff especially the reception guy from the day so friendly and helpful (sorry can’t remember his name). On our honeymoon and the staff wrote us a beautiful note with bubble, chocolate and flowers!! Thank you all for the wonderful stay!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Cam Lea wrote a review Apr 2021
4 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed here for a few nights as a base for a day trip to Milford Sound and around the lakes area. The Room was tidy, clean, and had everything we needed. The hotel is a little dated, but was comfortable. This is a good base for activities around Te Anau. Breakfast option is currently only continental, which is fine. But to be considered when paying for breakfast. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
JayRae1 wrote a review Feb 2021
Glasgow, United Kingdom1546 contributions419 helpful votes
+1
My wife and I were touring New Zealand, on a 15-day tour arranged through Travelmarvel by APT, and so all hotel arrangements were made in advance by them. For that reason, I have no idea of the cost of the room or how well the hotel communicates with customers making direct bookings. We stayed here for one night, after visiting Milford Sound on our way from Queenstown to Dunedin. The hotel was quite dated, but fine for our needs. As a large group, we were allocated room near the rear of the hotel, so had no real view. However, as the hotel is situated on the shore of Lake Te Anau, just across a relatively quiet road, this meant it was ideal for catching the beautiful sunset over the lake and mountains. The room was fairly spacious and had a comfortable bed, which was the most important thing for us on a one-night stay. I’ll attach photos of the sunset to this review to show the advantage of the hotel location.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Ktmg family travellers wrote a review Mar 2020
Birmingham, United Kingdom271 contributions149 helpful votes
Lovely location. Nice to be able to walk along the lake Room and furniture somewhat dated. In need of refurbishment Our room looked over a courtyard so poor view. Best rooms have a lake view No air con so hot at night in mid summer Standard buffet breakfast. Ok set evening meal Good place to stay for a night or two as part of a tour of South Island
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Best rooms have a lake view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from KingsgateHotelTeAnau, Front Office Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Responded 30 Mar 2020
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and your meals in our on-site restaurant. While we don't have air conditioning in our rooms, we are happy to provide fans to guests during the warmer summer months.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$57 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kingsgate te anau, te anau kingsgate hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandSouthland RegionFiordland National ParkTe Anau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Which popular attractions are close to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau?
Nearby attractions include Fiordland Cinema (0.9 km), Lake Te Anau (0.6 km), and Fiordland Escapes (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a business centre.
Which room amenities are available at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau?
Yes, free parking, paid public parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bao Now, Redcliff Restaurant & Bar, and Sandfly Cafe.
Does Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Does Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.