St. James Apartments
Message from Tripadvisor:Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

St. James Apartments

Queenstown Town Centre, Otago 5 Coronation Drive, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
Traveller (135)
Room & Suite (36)
viwe from skyline restaurant
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

$202
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#11 of 33 apartments in Queenstown
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
St James Apartments is centrally located in the level hub of downtown Queenstown giving you the opportunity to meander easily amongst the multitude of shopping, dining and adventure retailers. The closest café is a mere 30 metres from our doors and the beautiful Queenstown Garden's are but only a few steps away. You will find us set back amongst tranquil landscaped gardens and trees offering secure off-street under cover parking within our private courtyard. Lift access and a dry ski & storage room will ensure your convenience on arrival and during your stay with us year round. We offer a superb place to relax after a long journey, to enjoy a much-needed break, or to locate yourself centrally for your business trip. Ten apartments are within the St James Apartments complex. All are quiet and have convenient self-catering and bathroom facilities. The apartments range from Studio to our magnificent Executive 4 Bedroom Apartment, the diverse range is sure to meet your needs. Our helpful and experienced staff are only too happy to help you with suggestions as to where to go in Queenstown and its beautiful surrounds; whether you are interested in the local restaurants, wine tours and spa's; or whether you are interested in adventure sports such as the world famous bungy jump we are on hand to book any of the available activities at our friendly reception or assisting you to create an itinerary for your stay in Queenstown. We look forward to welcoming you to our special part of the world soon.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Skiing
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Parking
Paid wifi
Complimentary tea
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Private balcony
Seating area
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Indonesian, Japanese

Location

Queenstown Town Centre, Otago 5 Coronation Drive, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
393Reviews7Q+A56Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 197
  • 115
  • 49
  • 18
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
AucklandFlyer wrote a review Jul 2020
Auckland56 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this apartment with my husband and two adult children. We booked a one bedroom apartment which had a good size king bed in the separate bedroom and in the lounge, a single bed pushed into the corner and a dated, saggy uncomfortable pull out sofa bed for the other person.
On arrival, we had to press a bell to get someone to check us in. The entrance was uninspiring with courier bag and envelopes on the counter which were still there when we departed three days later.
There was parking provided which was fantastic as parking is a problem for centrally located properties. The apartments are very handily located and this is a real bonus for the property. There is a walkway to the main shops and everything is very close and within walking distance.
The room itself was large but very dated. It did not feel particularly clean and the seating arrangements were uncomfortable. One lounger had holes in the cushion and the cushions kept moving off the base. The rooms were very dark.
The bathroom was large and roomy. The soap came in packets that were open at one end. Not sure if that was just a packaging problem.
We had daily housekeeping who made up the king bed but not the other beds.
I would recommend this property if you get a good price but don't expect too much with regards cleanliness or style.
I got the impression that the manager was super busy cleaning the reception area, cleaning the rooms, checking customers in and out of the property.
I do think location makes up for what it lacks but it could do with a spruce up.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Keiron wrote a review Apr 2020
Kinloch, New Zealand66 contributions49 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were two couples staying for one night but would’ve loved to stay longer. This apartment complex was perfect. Our particular apartment had a bathroom and toilet downstairs, with a laundry, as well as a studio room containing two single beds, a kitchenette and access to a large deck. Upstairs had a bedroom with queen bed, en-suite with a toilet, plus another separate toilet. Also upstairs was a lounge, full kitchen with everything you’d need and another deck. Fantastic location with private pathway onto the main road with a decent sized Food Mart across the road, and a huge selection of eateries, bars etc. We were very happy with this place and will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jenna L wrote a review Apr 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in an executive 1 bedroom apartment on the second floor. The location truly is great and the apartment itself made for a very comfortable stay for 2 adults and a 6yo. Very spacious rooms and quality furnishings, plus great storage in the master for luggage. Comfy beds and quality bedding. Effective heating but noticed no air con (not that we needed it). Good view of the mountains and gondola. We started most of our days with a short walk to the playground and coffee from the cafe on the lake front. A little attention to detail would make this a 5 star review. Walls and doors need a good clean to remove marks and fingerprints. It was really awkward preparing meals due to lack of basic bowls, limited cutlery and blunt knives. However with a location like this you should probably plan to enjoy all the eateries as you are spoilt for choice. Lounge tv was fuzzy but bedroom tv was fine. Wifi kept dropping out. However many people could look past most of these and still have an enjoyable stay - we just made do. Didn’t notice any smells mentioned from other reviews. Parking was tricky to get if you arrived back late in the evening but we only had to park on the street once overnight.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Natasha W wrote a review Apr 2023
26 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room 101 - Upon arrival we couldn't check in until 3pm, WEN we checked in we were jet-lagged so pretty much slept for 10 hours and didn't take much notice of room but did notice horrible smell in corridor leading to room.
Next day woke up got ready and done some sight seeing around town centre.
Returned to room to have some drinks on balcony and noticed mould on curtain backing, Went inside but was hard to see due to lighting and room next to garden which was blocking sun.
Investigated further next morning opened all blinds but lighting was still very dull but you could see mould on all walls, carpet in every room.
I went around taking photos and tried to contact reception with no one being available.
We had to leave early and reception didn't open until 930 so I emailed my complaint through and still to this day I have had no response from property.
I put in complaint to agoda, they re dived a response from property stating there was nothing wrong and that they would reimburse $26, what a joke after paying nearly $600 for a dirty mouldy room!
There is hardly anyone ever in the office but young kids out back of office in which on one occasion there was couple of really little kids sitting in hallway folding the properties towels!
Even though property has good location I recommend staying away unless you want to end up very ill!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rainal wrote a review May 2020
Queenstown, New Zealand10 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We really fallen in love with Queenstown and our accommodation. We stayed here for a few occassions already and always loving the location, staff and the apartments. The location is great, walking distance to the town centre, our apartment is modern, spacious and very comfortable. Staff always helpful. Highly recommended for short or long stay as their apartments are self contained, at least all the apartments I had booked are self contained apartments.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anonymous wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a wonderful experience with friends over this last Easter weekend!
St James Apartments are in very close proximity to the centre of Queenstown, you need only walk through a gate and you are pretty much right in the middle of town! Very close to restaurants, retail, bars, waterfront, etc. Parking is available, the house included a TV, stunning balcony view, comfortable beds, and decent bathrooms. Reception staff were also very friendly. Kitchens are adequately outfitted to suit a few days' stay. 10/10 would come back again next time I visit Queenstown! Overall a lovely and relaxing experience, and well-worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Balcony view let in morning sunlight; rooms very comfortable.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Road54084854290 wrote a review Apr 2020
2 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were stuck in Queenstown when the Level 4 State of Emergency started. We couldn't get a flight out until the Thursday afternoon so had to stay another night at the apartments. We asked for a late checkout as the town was completely closed and we were not encouraged to go to the airport until necessary. At 11am we had someone knocking on our door wanting us out. We managed to stay until 1pm but they charged us $20 an hour for this despite the exceptional circumstances. It was only $40 but so unnecessary in the circumstances. We won't go back there when we are allowed out!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise I wrote a review Feb 2021
Auckland, New Zealand70 contributions45 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for one night before our Routeburn track trip and a night at the end of it. The apartments are tired. There was no air con in either of the two we stayed. The shower in the first apartment was great. The second - room 204- was dreadful - over a high bath and literally could barely rinse the shampoo and conditioner out of our hair. It was good to be able to leave our luggage there while we were on our hike. As these are all independently owned there is no consistency and for this reason we will not be staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kikki wrote a review Apr 2022
Auckland, New Zealand361 contributions73 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stay here most times we are in Queenstown. Service is always excellent. Rooms are clean. Location cannot be beaten. Great price, especially for the area. Even has a guest laundry ($5 per load...bit pricey but they are big machines).
You can't go wrong staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
helshae wrote a review Mar 2023
Drouin, Australia28 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in unit no2 which was nicely furnished, a two bedroom Apartment with one bedroom upstairs and a bed downstairs with a fridge and couch all in one room which was fine. However, there were no tea or coffee making facilities for downstairs and worst of all, the tv did not have an aerial so we could only watch utube, not good enough ! After asking management 3 times for an aerial we gave up which was pretty appalling considering the money spent. There was a tv upstairs but that was used by the other couple we went with ! The location was excellent ! The management of this particular unit needs to be available in case of things going wrong!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check what unit you’re getting
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
brianjohnglover asked a question Feb 2017
Thornton, Australia13 contributions3 helpful votes
what facilities are there in your superior studio
Answer from Andy E
Queenstown New Zealand
Superior Studio Apartment This apartment has a lounge area that has a queen bed, couch, Sky TV and DVD/CD player. The room features a kitchenette complete with sink, food preparation area, portable stove, mini fridge, microwave, electric kettle, toaster, complimentary tea and coffee and a dining table and chairs. Bathroom has shower, vanity, and complimentary toiletries. This unit has a small balcony or patio. .
Kelly S asked a question Feb 2017
Bend, Oregon4 contributions2 helpful votes
What is the most affordable way for 3 guests to transport from the airport?
Answer from Andy E
Queenstown New Zealand
Hi Kelly, There is airport shuttle service runs by Super Shuttle. You will share the ride with other passengers however will be dropped off at the property. Super Shuttle is available outside the arrival gate at Queenstown Airport, and the shuttle will leave as soon as it's full.
Answer from pbsylvestre
Sao Paulo, SP697 contributions89 helpful votes
Yes, there is. Cause is a family business. But I don't remember the time. I think you can also call them when you arrive. Better to check with them.
Grayee asked a question Sept 2016
Singapore, Singapore365 contributions125 helpful votes
Is there only one washer and one dryer? Do i need to have my own detergent? Liquid or powder kind? Thanks.
Answer from Veuve99
Torquay, Australia67 contributions24 helpful votes
Our apartment had a washing machine and dryer and provides the powder.
Chchdiner wrote a tip Feb 2024
10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are desperate for somewhere to stay it's OK if you don't have a car as if its busy you have to park on road where you are charged"
Read full review
MitchFindlay wrote a tip Dec 2023
Anacortes, Washington155 contributions43 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t bring your car here"
Read full review
helshae wrote a tip Mar 2023
Drouin, Australia28 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check what unit you’re getting "
Read full review
Loraine G wrote a tip Jun 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont go there they are not supporting queenstown or the tourist at all"
Read full review
bandj wrote a tip Apr 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand46 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"6 has a balcony overlooking the back garden and gate. Halo cafe over back gate is excellent."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Queenstown area.
PRICE RANGE
$188 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ST. JAMES APARTMENTS - UPDATED 2024 Apartment Reviews & Price Comparison (Queenstown, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about St. James Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to St. James Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Escape Quest Queenstown (0.3 km), Browns Ski Shop (0.3 km), and Fear Factory Queenstown (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at St. James Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, laundry service, and internet access.
Which room amenities are available at St. James Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at St. James Apartments?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at St. James Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to St. James Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo Brazilian BBQ Experience, Perky's - Floating Bar Queenstown, and The Taj Indian Kitchen.
Is St. James Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Queenstown.
Are any cleaning services offered at St. James Apartments?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at St. James Apartments?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to St. James Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (0.2 km) and One Mile Power House (0.7 km).
Does St. James Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in QueenstownHotels near St. James Apartments
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire