We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haka Lodge Queenstown

6 Henry Street, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
View deal
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (87)
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (139)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#11 of 137 Speciality lodging in Queenstown
Travellers' Choice
Haka Lodge is a backpacker's hostel in central Queenstown, New Zealand. We have accomodation to suit all budget-minded travellers, from bunks to private rooms. Featuring multiple kitchens, bathrooms and a lounge. We are just a street away from the main intersection in Queenstown (Shotover/Camp Street). This means we are close to the action, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful at night! Our warm and friendly staff are ready to check you in today, and help you get the most out of your stay in Queenstown NZ.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
619Reviews4Q+A78Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 382
  • 176
  • 42
  • 8
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Tony Richardson wrote a review 13 May
1 contribution
Noisy, unfriendly staff Tv's in the room don't work Abusive guests Dirty kitchen and showers Heaters don't work No cameras Lounge closes at 10.30pm Staff are friends with long-termers so own gang basically, you got a problem with a longtermer the staff member will inform the guest and it creates a bigger issue where the guest will threatened and intimidate you Don't stay here trust me
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
unhommegiovanni wrote a review 3 May
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Good hostel if you plan to stay for one night or less. The building is cheap and noisy, facilities are just decent. The current staff is not very welcoming and warm. Chose this hostel only if you have to. Otherwise there are heaps of better hostels for the same price.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
1 Helpful vote
magalipantaleone wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
beutiful hostel! nice and clean! the people very friendly. i love it!!! the rooms are nice, tidy and clean! the people of the staff very nice also the girls of the recepcion! i recommend for sure :) :)
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
Response from Colette Leonard, Other at Haka Lodge Queenstown
Responded 28 Dec 2020
Kiaora magalipantaleone Thanks for taking the time to comment on your stay with us - we are so pleased you had a great stay! Nga mihi Colette and the Haka Lodge Queenstown team
Read more
Qwart84 wrote a review Nov 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Really bad place to stay for solo travelers or couples if you are looking for a secure and quiet place with working amd clean amenities. Internet wasnt working, kitchen was partially working, bedroom was smelly, noisy parties on the deck the whole time. Only the location was good.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
2 Helpful votes
Response from Ryan Sanders, Owner at Haka Lodge Queenstown
Responded 13 Dec 2020
Kia ora, Thank you for your feedback, I am deeply apologetic that your stay was not as enjoyable or relaxing as it should have been. We had a string of bad luck with our internet not working and being unable to provide a quick fix solution and our kitchen floors were being replaced due to water damage. The Marathon weekend you stayed with us had some very noisy and excited guests, I have spoken to my team to ensure that these are regulated and encouraging people to go into town. We do apologise again and I hope you enjoy your travels around New Zealand. Kind regards Aoife Lodge Manager
Read more
melaniepelzer26 wrote a review Aug 2020
Warkworth, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
Such a disappointing stay, was loud, horrible, partying backpackers. The room next to ours had a squeaking door and it got opened about 20 times during the night. The place wasn't very clean. Don't stay here if you are looking for somewhere nice to rest and relax.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2020
1 Helpful vote
Response from Ryan Sanders, Owner at Haka Lodge Queenstown
Responded 9 Aug 2020
Kia ora Melanie, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us in July, we have fixed the door to prevent it causing disturbance to our guests. All of our social areas close at 10.30pm and we have a night porter on duty to stop any guests causing excess noise, but the guests are allowed to congregate in these areas prior to this time. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind regards Haka Lodge Queenstown
Read more
US$34 - US$141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Haka Lodge Queenstown
Which popular attractions are close to Haka Lodge Queenstown?
Nearby attractions include iFLY Queenstown (0.4 km), Escape Quest Queenstown (0.3 km), and Lake Wakatipu (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Haka Lodge Queenstown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at Haka Lodge Queenstown?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Haka Lodge Queenstown?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Haka Lodge Queenstown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo Brazilian BBQ Experience, Margo's Queenstown, and Blue Kanu.
Is Haka Lodge Queenstown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Queenstown.
Are any cleaning services offered at Haka Lodge Queenstown?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Haka Lodge Queenstown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (0.4 km) and One Mile Power House (0.8 km).