Shotover Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Shotover Lodge

157 Arthurs Point Road Arthur's Point, Queenstown 9371 New Zealand
Traveller (62)
Room & Suite (19)
Kitchen facilities in room
Dining (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 22 lodges in Queenstown
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Shotover Lodge offers comfortable Long or Short Stay Accommodation in Queenstown. Our rooms feature a private balcony or patio. The property is just 2 minutes' drive from the Shotover Jet and 7 minutes' drive from central Queenstown. It offers a spacious guest lounge with a gas fireplace and a flat-screen TV. Guests at Shotover Lodge Queenstown have access to a fully equipped communal kitchen and laundry facilities. Wi-Fi is available in rooms and in public areas. All rooms include an en suite bathroom with a shower and toilet. Also included is a kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and tea/coffee making facilities. Shotover Lodge is directly opposite the Onsen Hot Pools in Arthur's Point and 10 minutes' drive from Arrowtown. Coronet Peak is just a 12-minute drive which offers a range of ski runs, and The Remarkables ski area is a 45-minute drive away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Vending machine
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

157 Arthurs Point Road Arthur's Point, Queenstown 9371 New Zealand
276Reviews1Q+A57Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 86
  • 115
  • 53
  • 15
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Chris wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 2 nights. Good value for money, clean rooms. Across the road from Onsen Hot Pools, pub and pizza place. Bus stop into Queenstown and Arrowtown across the road also. Secure parking outside room.

Nice hosts.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Our room was very quiet. Had an outdoor area to sit in the sun.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AspiringGuides wrote a review Dec 2014
Wanaka, New Zealand3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The difference between good accommodation owners and GREAT owners can often be learned without even staying there! I own a small mountain guiding company based in Wanaka and I booked 2 rooms for 2 nights at Shotover Lodge for our clients. I have never used Shotover Lodge previously for client accommodation. My booking was made directly with the lodge many months prior for the absolute busiest period in Queenstown - 31 Dec 14 & 1 Jan 15.

Due to a last minute injury to one of our clients we had to change our trip and had to cancel the rooms at last minute. We fully expected that Shotover Lodge would insist on their cancellation policy which was clearly explained to us when we made the booking. And as a tourism operator I understand that they are absolutely in their rights to do this as they would have turned away 50+ inquiries from people wanting to book those rooms. And now with my cancellation they were potentially left with empty rooms 3 days out!

Instead, Shotover Lodge explained that they were able re-sell the rooms and could do a refund. And that, in my books, is the difference when between a good accommodation operator and a GREAT one.

Thank you thank you Shotover Lodge. We wish you every success.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShotoverLodge, Front Office Manager at Shotover Lodge
Responded 26 Feb 2015
HI Aspiring Guides, We are really happy that you enjoyed the service received from Shotover Lodge! Thanks for your review. Courtney Shotover Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ristari wrote a review Sept 2011
Wellington, New Zealand74 contributions45 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
If you have a car and don't mind staying 10min drive away from the ruckus of Queenstown, then this lodge is a good value option and a step-up alternative a typical backpackers hostel. If you decide you would leave the car for a night out, there is a bus stop across the road, otherwise there is a communal kitchen for self catering. We stayed in a double en suite room, which was large, had a great bathroom, and simple but modern furnishings. There is a lockable drying room to for skiers/snowboarders and other all-weather enthusiasts, coin laundry and its very close to the access road to Coronet Peak. Would happily stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This is a brand new lodge, so all rooms should be on par with each other. there are 3 floors and...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John doe wrote a review Mar 2021
Ashburton, New Zealand4 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked here for 3 nights suppose to of got a room with a balcony and a king bed. Was put on ground floor, the "king" bed was 2 singles pushed together so there was a crack separating the 2 beds. Also a bug came out of the shower to greet me. Not nice. Also communal kitchen was disgusting, months worth of grime on the stove tops and most dishes were dirty
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
T661TV wrote a review Jan 2018
4 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights, and whilst the price was good, we experienced a few issues.
Our biggest concern was that while we were out all day, the cleaners left our sliding rear door open, which anyone can access because we were on the ground floor leading to the car park. All our belongings were clearly visible and anyone could have taken anything as we didn't get home until late. When we spoke to the receptionist, she seemed unapologetic and relatively unconcerned. It was only after pushing and showing our own concern about it that she apologized, but she didn't say anything would be done about it.
Another issue we had with the motel was that the 'king bed' advertised was actually just 2 single beds pushed together. This was uncomfortable and very noticeable, as they would often come apart.
If these two issues could be rectified, it would have been a much more pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShotoverLodge, Front Office Manager at Shotover Lodge
Responded 22 Jul 2018
Kia Ora! Emily J, Thank you for your feedback. Great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! I apologise for the inconvenience caused. We will make sure it does not happen again. Hope you had a great time in Queenstown! Regards, Sanyok
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patrick/Ruth wrote a review Oct 2006
Hong Kong1 contribution3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here with our three children (9,7 and 4) for a week in July as our base for our first family ski-trip. Steve and Janette looked after us really well. Our kids, who had never seen snow before, woke up the first morning to a Narnia-like landscape. Having dragged them out of the snow we experienced our first breakfast encounter with Janette's fabulous cooking. All of us were very well -fuelled for the ski slopes and my eldest still waxes lyrical about the hot berry brioche. Steve was a great help in organising logistics and suggesting sites/ restaurants in Queenstown. Sipping a post-slopes glass of Otago wine by the fireside was a good unwind as was the hot-tub looking over the Shotover. Unhesitatingly recommended.

Patrick and Ruth Swain, Hong Kong.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2006
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Singapore_tourist wrote a review Sept 2005
Singapore, Singapore52 contributions96 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice lodge but the hosts appeared rather jaded. They offered the nightly drink session prior to dinner, but the feeling we got somehow was that it seemed like they were forced to do so. During breakfast the chef seemed to want to get the meal cooked and out of the way (few words were exchanged), as opposed to other lodges where the hosts would join us in having a cup of coffee and a chat, or have breakfast with us altogether.

Pricey (at NZ370 per night) as well. I think I enjoyed the hospitality at other B&Bs which charged a lower price but at which we received warmer reception.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LodgeOwner, Owner at Shotover Lodge
Responded 25 Aug 2006
Shotover Lodge has just completed the installation of a wireless broadband network
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sharon P wrote a review Sept 2017
16 contributions28 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room had a sensational view and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The bed and sofa were uncomfortable and the quilt, sofa and carpets were really grimy. The room smelled like stale food.
Was happy to move on. This would be suitable if you don't have a choice otherwise I would avoid it.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShotoverLodge, Front Office at Shotover Lodge
Responded 8 Dec 2017
Thank You for your feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience caused and will check the ones that were in your room. We would have really appreciated if you told us about the quilt, sofa and carpets on the day you were staying with us then we would have worked very hard to fix the problem to make your stay at Shotover Lodge more enjoyable and comfortable. Regards, The Shotover Lodge Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marc M wrote a review Jul 2017
Madrid, Spain38 contributions34 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The worst hotel ever, the worst staff ever. First of all, the rooms do not have any hair drier, trash or hot water. Yes, hot water. At night the hot water seems to be turned off... we stayed 2 nights and the room was not even cleaned once. They just replace our towels, not even made our bed. Also, the lodge corridors smell trashy and everything seems dirty. The cigarette smoke smells in the lobby and near our room.

Really, don't even bother on giving this Lodge a chance. Go get something else, for the same price you'll get something way better and way closer to downtown.

So disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShotoverLodge, Front Office at Shotover Lodge
Responded 8 Dec 2017
We're sorry that you had a bad experience at Shotover Lodge. The hair dryers are available from the reception upon request. All of our rooms are serviced everyday and Sheets are changed every 3rd day for long staying guests. All these help us keep our prices the lowest in Queenstown for the quality and style of accommodation we offer. Hot water is always on and available sometimes it takes longer to arrive at your room during low usage as it is a very large building.. Best Regards, The Shotover Lodge team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Darcy H wrote a review Jun 2017
Sydney, Australia78 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location was great. In between Arrowtown and also Queenstown City Centre. Great room views and it is located pretty much opposite (diagonal to) Onsen hot pools. Great value for money rooms, great communal kitchen and lounge. Staff are really helpful and accommodating. We will definitely come here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ShotoverLodge, Front Office Manager at Shotover Lodge
Responded 29 Jun 2017
Thank you very much Darcy! We are looking forward to your next visit. Have a great day! Jacob
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ABJTraveller asked a question Sept 2016
Auckland, New Zealand60 contributions51 helpful votes
Cost of wi fi
Chris wrote a tip Oct 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room was very quiet. Had an outdoor area to sit in the sun."
Read full review
eagraham wrote a tip Apr 2019
Toronto, Canada23 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"The building is oriented perpendicular to the road so rooms at the back are further away from the highway."
Read full review
Kristjan_Iceman wrote a tip Jul 2018
Christchurch, New Zealand140 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be Mindful as some distance to the City of Queenstown itself. 10 minutes drive est."
Read full review
Robert Fisk wrote a tip Oct 2017
Mosgiel, New Zealand123 contributions54 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ground floor rooms are cooler and have nice greenery in front of the windows"
Read full review
WinkyMagoo wrote a tip Aug 2017
Melbourne, Australia15 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request a ground floor room as no lifts"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Queenstown area.
PRICE RANGE
$384 - $1,590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
shotover hotel queenstown
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SHOTOVER LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Queenstown) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Shotover Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Shotover Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Skyline Queenstown (5.9 km), iFLY Indoor Skydiving Queenstown (5.9 km), and Break One (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Shotover Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, self serve laundry, and baggage storage.
What food & drink options are available at Shotover Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Shotover Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Shotover Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo Brazilian BBQ Experience, Nest Kitchen + Bar, and Perky's - Floating Bar Queenstown.
Are there any historical sites close to Shotover Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (6.2 km), Historic Skippers School (4.0 km), and One Mile Power House (6.4 km).
Is Shotover Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in QueenstownHotels near Shotover Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire