We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Villa del Lago

249 Frankton Road, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (394)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (456)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#10 of 66 hotels in Queenstown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This peaceful lakeside small luxury hotel comprises one bedroom Suites and two and three bedroom Villas. Unsurpassed views of the crystal clear lake and the sparkling mountains. Only 1.7km from the bustling town centre, the Villa del Lago offers a genuine lake front setting with its own pebbled beach and jetty - a rare combination of exceptional quality and convenience.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Babysitting
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Romantic
675Reviews8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 557
  • 94
  • 16
  • 5
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
James K wrote a review 4 Feb
2 contributions
Breathtaking views and only a few steps away from the edge of Lake Wakitipu. Very comfortable suites with full, well-equipped kitchen and living room. Close to town but just far enough away to avoid the chaos of downtown Queenstown with beautiful lakeside trail only a few steps away. Very friendly staff. Quiet and sublime. Have stayed here many times. Wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Imapepper79 wrote a review Jan 2024
Boise, Idaho434 contributions98 helpful votes
We stayed here 3 nights and loved it! Beautiful sunny southern view across the lake. 30 min walk into town, but doable. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable bed. After a 3 week busy trip, it was nice to relax with peace and quiet and take out! Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Rooms higher up have the best view and close by parking
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rachael wrote a review Jan 2024
Cheltenham, United Kingdom8 contributions1 helpful vote
Brilliant views over the lake and very peaceful. Our room was missing an iron but the staff went out of their way to find me one which I really appreciated. It was very useful to have a washing machine and tumble dryer on site. There's no issue with accessibility if you are fit and able but not all rooms will be suitable for those who have mobility issues. Well stocked kitchen with everything we needed and a 30 minute walk into Queenstown which suited us really well.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose your room carefully if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AnnG wrote a review Jan 2024
Montreal, Canada6 contributions
We were awed by the amazing views onto the lake and mountains from both the living room and the downstairs bedrooms ! The unit was beautiful, clean and comfortable. It was well-equipped with a complete kitchen and washer and dryer. Great location with a practical access to a charming pathway running along the water below. We had an amazing time and would strongly recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fran J wrote a review Dec 2023
Airlie Beach, Australia23 contributions6 helpful votes
We loved our 3 night stay in one of the one bedroom lake view apartments. Great location but if we didn't have a car it would have been too far for us to walk into town (we are in our 70s) The view of the lake is spectacular. Very well equipped, very clean and spacious and the bed was really comfortable - oh so important. Great communication through booking process. Would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We used taxis most of the time to get to and from Queenstown but beware of dodgy companies, we...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
NMFC18 wrote a review Nov 2023
Gold Coast, Australia164 contributions469 helpful votes
Recently spent 5 nights with family, property is on the lake and views are amazing. The apartment itself is of a decent size and the kitchen/laundry facilities are handy however is a little tired from furniture to paint. Worth noting the position of the apartment provides amazing views from all rooms but also its challenges..the driveway is very steep, parking is tight and the apartment has multiple flights of stairs so be mindful if mobility is an issue. Overall considering cost and position would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Try and avoid the marathon weekend...traffic was a problem
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Indy wrote a review Oct 2023
Airlie Beach, Australia39 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed here for over a week and enjoyed it. Due to staff shortages our room wasn’t cleaned however we managed. It’s a nice distance from town and only a $11 Uber fee. Lovely walk to town and past the botanical gardens. Great views! Has a washing machine and you can sort your luggage
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
JTay wrote a review Jun 2023
34 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
Excellent accommodation. Before we arrived, clear instructions were given on parking and key which we had no problem following. Great contactless check in. Location is prime. Just 10mins from airport and 10mins from city center. Peaceful surrounding. We had a lake view room and indeed the view was superb. It was wonderful to wake up to. Room facilities were comprehensive. Fully equipped kitchen with all sorts of utensils, fridge, washing needs. Nice fire place that auto regulate. Bed was comfortable. Toilet was spacious. Room was very clean. In fact, the room was so comfortable that we overslept on the day of check out. Housekeeping team was really understanding and gave us some extra time to get ready. (Thank you!) I would stay here again if ever in Queenstown.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago
Responded 22 Jun 2023
Thanks for such a lovely review. We really appreciate it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul wrote a review Apr 2023
Tokyo, Japan101 contributions13 helpful votes
+1
Everything we needed for 5 days in Queenstown. A slight walk from town but doable before and after dinner (especially in the summer) with fit legs. Quiet. Stunning spot. Plenty of space and amenities were all excellent. Ventilation in the bathroom could have been better, and the steps down from the car park were steep, otherwise fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago
Responded 22 Jun 2023
Thanks so much for your review. Much appreciated.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FamilyFirst_12 wrote a review Mar 2023
Chicago, Illinois57 contributions20 helpful votes
We were very satisfied with the unit and all it had to offer. The fireplace was nice to have in the evening when the temp dropped. We emailed them about a light flickering in the bathroom and they fixed it very quickly. We also requested a late check out which they were able to accommodate which helped as we were catching a flight that day. Our only complaint was parking. It was so challenging to drive down the very tight roadway to where we had to park and the parking spots were difficult to get into unless you got the middle spots. The view was very nice and we enjoyed walking on the path below which we walked into town one day which was about 25 minutes one way. Self check in was very easy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nik Kiddle, Owner at Villa del Lago
Responded 22 Jun 2023
Thanks very much for your lovely review.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Queenstown area.
PRICE RANGE
$413 - $660 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
villa del lago hotel queenstown
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VILLA DEL LAGO - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Queenstown) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Villa del Lago
What are some of the property amenities at Villa del Lago?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Villa del Lago?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Villa del Lago?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Villa del Lago?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are any cleaning services offered at Villa del Lago?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Villa del Lago have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.