We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
109 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (197)
Room & Suite (49)
Dining (4)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#18 of 142 Speciality lodging in Queenstown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Waterfront is centrally located just a short stroll from all the action of downtown Queenstown, and unlike many other resorts is situated on the same level as the lake. The Waterfront provides spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments right on the waters edge of Lake Wakatipu. With modern furnishings, apartments provide comfortable accommodation to suite all occasions. All rooms are self contained with full kitchens and laundries, heating, DVD & stereo system, iron and ironing board, in-house movies, intercom, Sky TV and security system. Penthouse guests have the added comfort of there own rooftop terrace and BBQ. From your lakefront facing balcony you can watch the famous TSS Earnslaw head out from the nearby Steamer Wharf on its daily journey across the lake. For those feeling energetic, take a walk around the lakes edge fringed with weeping willows and pine trees. Whether you are visiting in winter for action on the slopes, or to enjoy the many summer activities, The Waterfront is perfect for couples, families and groups alike.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Skiing
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, German
333Reviews9Q+A96Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 169
  • 107
  • 38
  • 10
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Rochelle H wrote a review Jun 2021
21 contributions9 helpful votes
This place was in an excellent location, the room was excellent and beautiful, the beds were super comfortable, we had a 2 bedroom top floor penthouse and it was great, the view was fantastic and a short walk to town, the young man was extremely helpful and very friendly
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
KevinAM45 wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand60 contributions30 helpful votes
Excellent location, view and facilities. Good off street parking, and storage room for luggage. Room 8, fourth floor. Kind of weird, but the toilet in both EnSite and main bathroom have been mounted too high, so that your feet are dangling in the air. Oh dear.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Sooraj wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
It was awesome 3 nights in waterfront. Affordable price. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Clean bed room. Lake view from the window just wow and wow. Highly Recommend if you guys visiting in Queenstown. I bet your money won't be wasted.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Niraj T wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
We stayed there for 5 nights with my family. We were worried about other reviews but when we check-in to the apartment we were surprised, it was very clean and tidy with beautiful view. The Staff were very friendly and helpful. We will come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
John doe wrote a review Jan 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Absolutely disgusting premises, we booked a penthouse apartment (namely apartment 4a) for $300 for the night. We arrived, the place was stone cold, dirty fingerprints and footprints on the walls and sills, and what seemed like one billion possible children stains on the bed. All the taps were loose and flopping around. Water pressure ya could wee harder than, and the cleaners must be stoned because they haven’t even done their jobs. When we asked for a refund we were denied profusely. Staff are incredibly rude, both in person and on the phone. And owners seem to have a certain arrogance about them if they are in the hospitality industry and refuse to provide standard customer service. If you value your time in Queenstown then please don’t ruin it by staying at this armpit of Queenstown!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MickyJohn Waterfront, Owner at The Waterfront
Responded 13 Jan 2021
This is a malicious and grossly exaggerated review. We would like to respond to the authors comments. Please note there is also a review posted from ‘Georgie’. Georgie was the other guest, sharing with John doe. The guests arrived around 35 minutes after making a 'late in the day' online booking. The rate was $283.50, not $300.00. We always ensure that our rooms are warm and welcoming when we are expecting guests. 35 minutes was simply not enough time to warm the apartment to our usual standards. Our small team are accommodating and very friendly. We pride ourselves on our warm, personal customer service. many other reviews will confirm this. We absolutely refute the authors comments around cleanliness, our housekeepers hold themselves to high standards, and they do a great job. We have not had any complaints regarding water pressure. The scuff makes on the wall are from luggage. This is where the luggage rack is usually located. Granted, the wall is due for a repaint. The mark shown on the bed throw is actually a water mark left by the guests after showering. The guests used the shower and the bed, then decided to leave. Both guests were verbally abusive toward our staff, using many expletives when offered a 50% refund. The guests would have been offered an alternative room, or a full refund if they had contacted us with their concerns after checking in. The guests did not do this, and instead decided to use the showers and bed. The Waterfront is a fantastic place to stay when you are in Queenstown, this is backed up by our overwhelmingly positive reviews. Thank you
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$141 - US$368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
breakfree the waterfront hotel queenstown
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Waterfront
Which popular attractions are close to The Waterfront?
Nearby attractions include iFLY Queenstown (0.4 km), Escape Quest Queenstown (0.3 km), and Browns Ski Shop (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Waterfront?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at The Waterfront?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at The Waterfront?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Waterfront?
Conveniently located restaurants include Blue Kanu, Sal's Authentic New York Pizza - Shotover Street, and Tatsumi.
Is The Waterfront located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Queenstown.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Waterfront?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Waterfront?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (0.4 km) and One Mile Power House (0.1 km).
Does The Waterfront have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.