We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (248)
Dining (8)
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good33%
  • Average21%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
115
150
100
67
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
115
150
100
67
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared kitchenbackpacker accommodationensuite roomself contained unitclean facilitiesliving areatown centrecabingondolaunitsloungesupermarketskylineqtremarkableslaundry
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Terrible service! The man that checked us in was super rude. He was mad at the fact that we had 5 kids we made the reservation online... He didn't want to give us more toilet paper... Worst experience ever. We checked out 10 minutes after...More

1  Thank Erica S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately the room that my partner and I stayed in (M6 - budget double room) backed on to the kitchen in our block - our bed was against the kitchen wall - so it was extremely loud. When the French guests that were making lots...More

Thank Liz C
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in a mixed dorm for four nights during the Queenstown marathon. It was the perfect location for this as the hostel is one street away from the finish and only a 5 minute walk into the main part of town. The lodge also...More

Thank Rachael H
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Good clean backpacker accomodation...not far from town and beautiful views of the Remarkables and surrounding hills. Clean well equipped kitchens and rooms. Onsuite rooms were clean and nice and worth the extra cost. Service was good to..The Hub makes for a good group meeting room.

Thank Myrtaceae19
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Very central and gives a lot of room. Beds were comfy. They were a lot of help. Not the cleanest place in the world but I wasn’t to fussed really. My only issues was how cold it was. Single glazed windows let in a lot...More

Thank Megan H
View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$55 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$55 - US$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (248)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
Amenities (23)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
zoepeterToronto
I saw this reply by the general manager below: "PinewoodRocks, General Manager at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago Hi Olivia H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can understand that the house you were felt like a backpackers as you booked a 'Backpacker double' and is priced accordingly. Yes, the backpacker units are not brand new but our standard is to have everything to be in good repair, working order and clean. To save on disappointment i would book one of our ensuite rooms or our 1 bedroom houses - these also have wifi receptors in every room to increase the strength of the service. Understandably these do cost a bit more." I booked a Standard Double Room (This heated room offers a wardrobe and access to a shared facilities: a bathroom, full kitchen and lounge). -Room Size: 172 ft² Room Facilities: Carpeted Garden view Heating Linens Mountain view Shared bathroom Shared toilet Towels Wardrobe/Closet Is my room a "backpacker room" as mentioned by the general manager? Thanks so much.
10 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Handsome S | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for reply you so late. Sorry, I lived in a dorm room so I have no idea about the room you mentioned. But I kindly suggest you that no matter which kind of room you book, the service is same. Very bad service... More
0
Votes
Siobhan P
30 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Lennoxboi | Reviewed this property |
Hello Siobhan. Yes, Pinewood does have free parking and depending on which unit you have there may even be parking right at that unit, however, be aware that parking can sometimes be busy but there is also on street parking... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room away from the facilies"
Read review
"our room was in a cottage, sharing with two other bedrooms. It was situated slightly outside the main venue..."
Read review
"no tip to offer"
Read review
"Internet site compliant with reality. Book in avance."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing