We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pinewood Lodge

510 reviews
Save
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (8)
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good33%
  • Average21%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“shared kitchen”(14 reviews)
“bike hire”(6 reviews)
“ensuite room”(7 reviews)
Free Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Rooms
Self-Serve Laundry
Breakfast included
Pool
2.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (510)Write a Review
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
113
143
94
58
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
113
143
94
58
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared kitchenbike hireensuite roomself contained unitclose to townclean facilitiesspa poolliving areafew minutes walknew zealandaccommodationgondolaunitssupermarketskylineqtlaundry
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Overall this hostel is in a nice location and came with a clean room and facilities. What we didn't like, however, was receiving a 'free upgrade' to a room with only two beds instead of the 3 beds we had booked and paid for. When...More

Thank Tim J
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in a 6 share dorm. The hostel is ok but there is nothing that justifies the price of a bed in a dorm. It’s simply outrageous. Around 45$ when everywhere else is between 30$ and 36$ for exactly the same thing,...More

Thank Ingridgig
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good location, friendly atmosphere, good and clean facilities. The room was ok, the bed and pillows could be better kept (hairs under the bed sheet). Overall the room fornitures could be refreshed, for giving a more modern style touch. We stayed over nye and paid...More

Thank Roblamb
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived, the reception seemed a bit unprofessional. We checked into our room, which was a shared living and bathroom area. We did not realize that this was what we booked, so we went to reception to change into our own room. Luckily they...More

Thank IslandWayfarer
Reviewed 18 December 2017

Great trip, most guests staying at Pinewood were awesome too, one guy was very inconsiderate but what can you do about that? The staff were amazingly helpful!!! Towels were available for hire which was very helpful!

Thank Lars W
View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345693
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free Internet
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$60 - US$322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$60 - US$322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (79)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (8)
Pool & Beach (1)
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Bathroom (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
zoepeterToronto
I saw this reply by the general manager below: "PinewoodRocks, General Manager at Pinewood Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago Hi Olivia H, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I can understand that the house you were felt like a backpackers as you booked a 'Backpacker double' and is priced accordingly. Yes, the backpacker units are not brand new but our standard is to have everything to be in good repair, working order and clean. To save on disappointment i would book one of our ensuite rooms or our 1 bedroom houses - these also have wifi receptors in every room to increase the strength of the service. Understandably these do cost a bit more." I booked a Standard Double Room (This heated room offers a wardrobe and access to a shared facilities: a bathroom, full kitchen and lounge). -Room Size: 172 ft² Room Facilities: Carpeted Garden view Heating Linens Mountain view Shared bathroom Shared toilet Towels Wardrobe/Closet Is my room a "backpacker room" as mentioned by the general manager? Thanks so much.
10 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Handsome S | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for reply you so late. Sorry, I lived in a dorm room so I have no idea about the room you mentioned. But I kindly suggest you that no matter which kind of room you book, the service is same. Very bad service... More
0
Votes
Siobhan P
30 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Lennoxboi | Reviewed this property |
Hello Siobhan. Yes, Pinewood does have free parking and depending on which unit you have there may even be parking right at that unit, however, be aware that parking can sometimes be busy but there is also on street parking... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"All very good I think"
Read review
"Get there before reception closes. Location of bungalow difficult to find in the dark"
Read review
"Choose a room with no bunk beds"
Read review
"The "N" apartments have off-street parking, separate bedroom, private bathroom, and kitchen..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Map
Satellite