We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nugget Point

Save
Share
146 Arthurs Point Road, Queenstown 9371 New Zealand
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
travelup.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Official Site
View all 11 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (390)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (299)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#34 of 69 hotels in Queenstown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nestled at the base of Coronet Peak and overlooking the stunning Shotover River, Nugget Point Hotel is the ultimate boutique hotel in Queenstown, just a stone's throw away from shops, restaurants, bars and nightlife of central Queenstown. To complete the perfect picture, Nugget Point is just 10 minutes by car or public transport to Coronet Peak Ski Area for that very special winter getaway. The hotel boasts 36 spacious boutique rooms, accommodating up to 74 guests, and all rooms have an open plan bedroom and lounge area, ensuite bathroom, and private balcony or patio. Nugget Point Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for our discerning guests. Unwind at The Spa at Nugget Point for a truly luxurious escape, indulge in beauty and massage treatments in our beautiful spa which resembles a modern version of Roman baths whilst taking in the views of the surrounding mountain ranges and Shotover River. Then relax in the Shotover Lounge Bar for a refreshing drink or enjoy an exquisite meal
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Plunge pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Canoeing
Casino and Gambling
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Skiing
Squash
Water sport equipment rentals
Bicycle tours
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Patio
Squash offsite
Tennis court offsite
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 7 more
759Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 392
  • 217
  • 81
  • 38
  • 31
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Telford wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Would not recommend this Accommodation. The advertising sounds amazing. WE WERE SO LOOKING FORWARD TO OUR WEEKEND AWAY. Chic, Luxury, great service. The room we were put in was very dated, the bathroom vanity had as many cracks as a jigsaw puzzle. It appeared to have been in this state for sometime. The shower also had large cracks. The side mirror attachment broken. The bed was 2 levels, an inch difference in the middle. Had to go down to receptionist as no milk. The Guy kept insisting he had to hurry as was heading home to bed. 8 pm.No room service one night. Were told should have looked on website. Were going to complain on leaving but receptionist on phone. The Manager ignored both original emails. When she did email back she seemed to think the standard of the room was acceptable. It is Companies and staff like this that give Queenstown a bad wrap.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jay H wrote a review May 2022
Auckland, New Zealand61 contributions7 helpful votes
We had 3 nights here and loved it. It may be an older resort but still has a good feeling. The staff were very helpful especially Deepak Verma. Our room which over looked the river was large and very comfortable and the view was amazing. Breakfast served in the main dinning room had a good selection made to order which is a nice change from a buffet. The young woman who served us was delightful, Sanam from Nepal . Thank you we will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room with a river view
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Bevan W wrote a review Apr 2022
Auckland, New Zealand119 contributions94 helpful votes
Very poor service for a $400 per night hotel. Guy upon check in lacked even the most basic skills. Did not indicate where any facilities were or details on dining. Room serviced only once in a three night stay. Toilet paper not replenish and room only came with one and a half rolls to start with. Dishes not done and no products in room to clean them ourselves, had to ask for clean mug or cleaning items on day 3 but that never happened. Waited almost an hour for breakfast to be brought out from time of order, was under cooked and clearly done in one hell of a hurry once I complained. Pool was freezing so don’t get excited by the images, spa pool water is murky and smells, steam room not working. Reception is only manned after 10am so if your wanting something important like say toilet paper you need to go use the ones at the pool area.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Driveway is super narrow, often service vehicles block the lower driveway forcing people to drive...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lily Sharp, Marketing at Nugget Point
Responded 2 May 2022
Kia Ora Bevan, Please be advised that THC Group no longer manages Nugget Point Hotel, however the new management company is aware of your comment. Regards Lily – THC Group
Read more
Fang wrote a review Apr 2022
Auckland, New Zealand221 contributions62 helpful votes
Hotel knew better times for sure - however it still delivers an outstanding experience. We had an ultimate package and we weren’t disappointed at all. Room was great, views from our balcony spa were phenomenal, kitchen and service were outstanding. Special thanks to Aziz and Maria for going an extra mile, and a special praise certainly goes to Monique - she was fantastic. Will definitely be back again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Definitely go for romance package
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Renata H wrote a review Apr 2022
6 contributions
+1
I booked a boujee weekend away with girlfriends, and this was the highlight. Breathtaking views, superb amenities and facilities. Eight massages followed by a spa, sauna, steam room, bubbles and a delicious platter!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Mitali wrote a review Jan 2022
7 contributions
Went in Jan 2022 during summer for 4 nights Positive points: - Great view - Friendly staff - Nice and relaxing location (approx 7 min drive from CBD) - Loved the Cargo Brewery - Gantleys Pub next to this hotel. Great location for breakfast (toast and almond chai latte) Constructive feedback: - Flush wouldn't work properly (a few reviews included this but they haven't seemed to repaired it yet) - Check in was standard at 2 pm, however the room wasn't ready until 3 pm and when we walked into the room at 3.05 pm, the room was still not ready. The friendly receptionist mentioned that their delivery van for the pillow covers was late. They did give us a couple of free beers which we appreciated it (thank you), however all we expect is for our room to be ready in time and not make us wait after a long day - The couch in the room was extremely old, not in good condition and not comfortable. - No phone network. Specifically couldn't place internet calls or watch youtube/any videos online. Might be good for people who would want to go here for a retreat maybe :) - A bit disappointed as the sheets in the room were not made properly and the waiting area/lookout near the dining area was not clean and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a while. There were also no duvet covers but rather they had just put 2 sheets (1 above the duvet and one under the duvet) I hope this feedback helps the travelers and also the Nugget point staff. Cheers!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Lily Sharp, Marketing at Nugget Point
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for your constructive review. We really appreciate your feedback, both positive and constructive. It is a beautiful location and the views are incredible! My apologies about your delay in check in, and the fact that you didn't think your linen was up to par. We do triple sheet all our our beds to ensure they are crisp and polished for all new guests. I will pass on your feedback about the couches.
Read more
Jaedan wrote a review Jan 2022
1 contribution
Booked a river view room for 3 nights and it was absolutely incredible. The photos online does not do it justice! Great view, great room, amazing dinner and breakfasts, private spa had a spectacular view would definitely recommend for night time! The staff were great, treated me and my girlfriend so nicely and were very helpful when we were trying to figure out what to do for the day. Plunge pool and spa was very nice to come back to after a hot day out. Felt like you were way out of town but was only a $10 Uber into town so super close and cheap which saved us having to hire a car. Will definitely be coming back to stay here in winter to see all the snowy mountains and ski.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Lily Sharp, Marketing at Nugget Point
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for your outstanding review. It is such a lovely location. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future.
Read more
Titalee wrote a review Nov 2021
Queenstown, New Zealand2 contributions
The views are amazing, as are the rooms, I'm sure, but it was the food that needs to be appreciated. The chef working on that night was Chef Ravi. I came for something sweet and he prepared a delicious pannacotta. Must go back! Thank you for an excellent dining experience.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Lily Sharp, Marketing at Nugget Point
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Thank you so much for your great review, I will be sure to pass this on to Ravi and the team in the restaurant.
Read more
Phil J wrote a review Oct 2021
19 contributions7 helpful votes
I stayed here for 1 night - having last stayed back in the late 90"s when it was one of the Small Luxury Hotels of the World. Wow times have changed - it is run down to the extreme. The room had lots of faults - gas fire front hanging off, toilet not flushing properly, lounge suite well passed its use-by date, etc. The room was lacking any love or care, probably for a decade or more. The restaurant tables had not been wiped down and the restaurant was urgently in need of maintenance. The dinner was however very nice, and the service (Tristan) very good. Breakfast was very average though - actually below standard. The cooked breakfast was not very hot and very stodgy. And the tables that hadn't been cleaned last night still had the same detritus on them this morning. It was sad to see such a good hotel take such a massive dive.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Sarah Lou wrote a review Jul 2021
Invercargill, New Zealand2 contributions
We booked a weekend getaway in the hopes of relaxing and winding down. Overall our stay at Nugget Point was a let down. For the amount of money they charge we were expecting somewhat more, the view from the room was nice and the room was warm. However the stains on the couch and the overall look of the room weren’t quite what we were expecting everything was falling apart starting from the carpet as you walked in the room. We dined on Saturday morning in the restaurant at Nugget Point, the service was flat, so to speak, we waited long enough to be seated to have to go to the bar and the waitress to tell us to find a table. Neither waitress looked like they even wanted to be there, the coffees we got were definitely not what we ordered, breakfast took a slow 40 mins and the eggs were cold. My fiancé asked for a side of tomato sauce with his full cooked breakfast which never arrived. Overall disappointing is how I would describe Nugget Point. I don’t think we would book again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
distinction queenstown, nugget point boutique hotel queenstown, distinction queenstown, nugget point boutique hotel and spa, nugget point boutique resort, nugget point boutique queenstown
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Nugget Point, A THC Group Hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
40
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nugget Point
Which popular attractions are close to Nugget Point?
Nearby attractions include Skyline Queenstown (5.7 km), Break One (3.4 km), and iFLY Queenstown (5.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nugget Point?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Nugget Point?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Nugget Point?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Nugget Point?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nugget Point?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo Brazilian BBQ Experience, Blue Kanu, and Sal's Authentic New York Pizza - Shotover Street.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nugget Point?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Nugget Point?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Nugget Point offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nugget Point?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Nugget Point?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (6.0 km), Historic Skippers School (4.1 km), and One Mile Power House (6.3 km).