We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Sainsbury Road, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$151
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/22
Mercure
US$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$140
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/09/22
Expedia.comUS$152
PricelineUS$151
Hotels.comUS$152
View all 18 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (784)
Room & Suite (200)
Dining (106)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 04/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mercure Resort Queenstown
Updated 04/10/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#36 of 69 hotels in Queenstown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders GreenPartner
Mercure Resort Queenstown is located on a unique vantage point overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkables Mountains. The hotel features 148 spacious rooms with either Lake or Garden views. Accommodation rooms feature broadband internet, coffee and tea making facilities ,in room safes. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, spa pool, sauna and gymnasium. Vista a la carte Restaurant, the Lounge Bar, three flexible conference rooms and a winter and summer sports storage room. Complimentary car parking.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Car hire
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Lake View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese
1869Reviews21Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 623
  • 797
  • 297
  • 104
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Kirsten R wrote a review Jun 2022
Sydney, Australia34 contributions7 helpful votes
My partner and I are Accor Plus Platinum members and have been travelling NZ/Australia for the past 2 1/2 years. We absolutely loved our 4 week stay here at the Mercure in June. All of the staff at reception and at breakfast are so friendly and helpful which made our long stay extra special. We were upgraded to a King room on the 4th floor (the highest floor) with a view of the lake and everything was perfect. The room was super comfortable with amazing air conditioning and had all of the amenities we needed. The view of the lake here is just sensational, we felt so lucky to wake up every morning and take in the beautiful sight of the mountains. There are lots of birds around in the trees & bushes which add to the serenity of the surroundings. Listening to the tui bird's song every day was so lovely too! The resort is about a 20 minute walk to Queenstown CBD or a 6 minute walk to the bus stop to get on the bus that comes by every 15 minutes. We didn't have a car so we caught the bus often and it was super convenient and cheap! Thank you so much to the whole team for everything we cannot recommend the Mercure at Queenstown highly enough :-) We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The best views are on the 4th floor (the highest floor of the hotel) overlooking the lake :-)
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
SAORI Y wrote a review Jun 2022
Auckland, New Zealand24 contributions39 helpful votes
Stayed here for my son's birthday. Everything is old- vending machine for detergent in laundry room was out of order and got mould in shower room. I was about to get bathrobe as there's none in the room and i asked them and was told that "we don't have EXTRA bathrobes". I didn't quite understand but i thought maybe they didn't wash or something. Next day, i asked them again and front lady told me 'We don't have bathrobes today". I asked her back if they haven't washed and she said "WE DO NOT HAVE ANY BATHROBES" which sounded rude. I checked official website for Mercure resort qt and it says they DO have bathrobes. Building itself locates kind of central so if you have a car, there's no trouble for transport. But if you have other options to stay, you better go with it. Not really have to be this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Prasheel Churi, General Manager at Mercure Resort Queenstown
Responded 1 week ago
Dear SAORI Y, sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with the bathrobes during your stay. Mercure being the midscale brand the bathrobes are not available in each room as a standard amenity. They are available on request subject to availability. There has been few times this year we have had short supply of them due to the staffing challenges in laundry, however we will take your feedback as a learning curve and take precautions in the future. Glad to hear that our location worked for you. Thanks you for sharing your feedback and it is our hope that you will give us a chance to provide better experience in the future. King regards, Prasheel
Read more
cinnamonjazz wrote a review Jun 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand8 contributions
Have now booked two seminars at Mercure. Staff are always friendly, room is always clean and tidy and lunch is always delicious. Lots of parking available and staff were very hygiene conscious. I look forward to using them again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: It isn’t super close to the town so will require a car rental, Uber or taxi to get to the resort.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Prasheel Churi, General Manager at Mercure Resort Queenstown
Responded 1 week ago
Dear cinnaminjazz, It is fantastic to read your comments. I am sure the team will be pleased to hear your comments. Look forward to hosting you again next time :) regards, Prasheel
Read more
Tarquam wrote a review Jun 2022
Melbourne, Australia67 contributions52 helpful votes
I think this place is something of an unfound gem. That is if you can get to stay at the hotel/resort with the view looking out of the lake. The staff are very amicable and friendly. Indeed the manager made herself known to me. Perhaps that’s not a big deal, but the personal touch does matter. I arrived late. Pradeep on reception was very obliging, across my booking, and indeed gave the Accor attention that is kind. The room was an upgrade and looked over the lake. Breakfast was easy and a full selection of continental produce to live for! The dining room was warm and inviting.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Of course it might not be possible. Maybe you have to pay a little more.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Prasheel Churi, General Manager at Mercure Resort Queenstown
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Tarquam, it is such a pleasure reading your comments. I am sure the team will be pleased to hear your positive notes. Even during these challenging times and staffing shortages, the team takes pride in looking after the guests and your feedback is another validation of that. Thank you and hope to see you again on your next trip to Queenstown. Kind regards, Prasheel
Read more
pritchard8024 wrote a review Jun 2022
Christchurch, New Zealand92 contributions73 helpful votes
We use this hotel every year for an annual seminar and it never disappoints. The staff are hardworking professionals who deliver what they promise. Excellent cleanliness in the rooms, conference and public areas with plenty of sanitizer stations and masks available. Phenomenal views from the restaurants and conference room. Excellent buffet lunch for the conference and we had 2 nights in- room dining which was high quality. Free easy parking. See you next year.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: It is a bit far from town being about a 5 minute drive up hill so if your not driving maybe stay...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Prasheel Churi, General Manager at Mercure Resort Queenstown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear pritchard8024, Thank you for your review. I am sure the team will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed your business event with us. We surely have one of the best Conference Room views in the world overlooking the Lake Wakatipu and Remarkables mountains. We sometimes have to warn the organisers that their clients might get distracted with the view :) Hope to see you again next year. Kind regards, Prasheel
Read more
Stormie C wrote a review Jun 2022
Pennant Hills, Australia117 contributions38 helpful votes
Unexpectedly had to stay another night in Q’town due to a flight cancellation, so was happy to find a room with amazing lake views at short notice. It’s an older property, but it’s clean, warm and has friendly staff , and of course stunning views from some rooms and from the bar/ dining area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Prasheel Churi, General Manager at Mercure Resort Queenstown
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you S2rmieC for your kind words. Glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your time in Queenstown despite last minute changes. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Prasheel
Read more
All_deeRN wrote a review May 2022
Auckland, New Zealand19 contributions7 helpful votes
Lake view room is awesome. But reception needs more training with customer service. Booked via travel agency. Reception said that there needs to be a 50 dollar bond per night totalling 150. Not a problem but we were not informed ahead that it was the case. Has been in a lot of hotels and motels for work but never has a bond been charged upon check in. Aware that some hotels do have a credit card hold in case of extra charges, but not an outright charge. Other personnel in reception doesnt’t care as well. Reminded about breakfast needing to be packed instead for Sat said at first not possible so asked if I would need to ask travel agent to talk to her instead. The only good thing about this hotel is the view, otherwise, nothing else. Not at par with other hotel reception. Carpet in the room is a bit old as well. Will not come back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Prasheel Churi, General Manager at Mercure Resort Queenstown
Responded 9 May 2022
Dear aldz_cocoy, Firstly, please accept our sincere apology if your experience did not meet your expectations. We have looked at your feedback and investigated further to ensure we prevent any future occurrences. It does appear that there was a communication break down that resulted in mis-understandings. Please note a bond to cover the incidental is a standard practice in hotels across the world. You may have used hotels or motels which take the risk of not taking that step or if your booking through work may be covering it on your behalf. We prefer to take a credit card authorisation however when the guests are unable to provide a credit card we seek a Cash or EFPOS Bond. A payment is taken as a security bond if you are using a Visa Debit card. Please note this is additional work and cost for our business however we take that step because of experiences. We communicate this with every partner or travel agent that we work with via an agreement and through the confirmations that we share with them when a booking is confirmed. In regards to your breakfast feedback, please note we happily do the packed breakfast as an exception even when it is booked to be consumed in the restaurant for our guests whenever possible. The only thing we are unable to do is packed hot food as it is against the hotels Food Safe Handling policy in line with the local council’s requirement. The hotel makes the hot food fresh each morning and only cooks to the standards of being consumed here on site. No addictive or additional preservatives added in hot food, which will make it safe to consume outside the acceptable timeframe. This is also in the best interest of our guests and their wellbeing. We will use your feedback to share with the wider team to provide better experience next time for our guests. Great to hear that you enjoyed the view from our hotel. Hope you had a safe trip back to your home. Take care. Nga Mihi, Prasheel
Read more
Beetravellers wrote a review Apr 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand6 contributions
Excellent value for money! Definitely upgrade to lakeview room as insane views. Notified I was celebrating wedding anniversary and received lovely sweet treat in our room. Older property, but kept clean and tidy and prices reflect this. Beds are extremely comfortable. They had windows which open, which is so nice when you want fresh air. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, working extremely hard in a pandemic, they made you feel really valued and ready to help with anything which was much appreciated. I prefer this location as it is away from the hustle and bustle central Queenstown (2 mins drive up hill).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Recommend upgrading to lakeview as insane views
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Prasheel Churi, General Manager at Mercure Resort Queenstown
Responded 2 May 2022
Dear Beetravellers, thank you so much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to host you again on your next trip to Queenstown. regards, Prasheel
Read more
Rajat A wrote a review Apr 2022
Manukau, New Zealand10 contributions
Stayed in Mercure for 3 nights. It was our first time in Queenstown. The lovely hotel team gave a dessert plate, wine bottle, handwritten card and a room with spectacular view. Special thanks to Prasheel , Gurpreet, Aaron Sanjay & Ren for their outstanding customer service. Thank you for making our stay a remarkable one. Will definitely come back next time😇.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Prasheel Churi, General Manager at Mercure Resort Queenstown
Responded 2 May 2022
Dear 850rajata, Thank you for your kind words. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you again soon. regards, Prasheel
Read more
Steve & Bex wrote a review Feb 2022
Auckland, New Zealand7 contributions
This was our honeymoon in queenstown. This hotel has the most amazing views of the lake! We had the superior king lake view and it really did not disappoint. The staff were all amazing, our room was serviced daily without fail. With a short 20min walk downhill to the city center and an $8 uber back this hotel is amazing if you just want to be close to the city but in a peaceful quiet location. There is free parking!! (About 30 spaces) a beautiful pool and two spa baths. They have a fantastic gym and sauna. I would highly recommend staying here for the view alone! We will be coming back on our next visit to queenstown.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Prasheel Churi, General Manager at Mercure Resort Queenstown
Responded 17 Feb 2022
Kia ora Escape12617633916, Great to hear your enjoyed your time with us and than you for your kind words about the staff, our hotel and your experience. See you next time. Regards, Prasheel
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$91 - US$158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure resort queenstown hotel queenstown, mercure hotel queenstown, mercure queenstown
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
148
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Resort Queenstown
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Resort Queenstown?
Nearby attractions include Skyline Queenstown (1.6 km), Break One (6.7 km), and iFLY Queenstown (1.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Resort Queenstown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Resort Queenstown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Resort Queenstown?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Resort Queenstown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo Brazilian BBQ Experience, Blue Kanu, and Sal's Authentic New York Pizza - Shotover Street.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mercure Resort Queenstown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Resort Queenstown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Mercure Resort Queenstown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Resort Queenstown?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Resort Queenstown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (1.9 km) and One Mile Power House (1.3 km).
Does Mercure Resort Queenstown have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.