We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Heritage Queenstown

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (884)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (582)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#25 of 66 hotels in Queenstown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Heritage Hotel Queenstown is a ski lodge style building constructed from stone & Cedar, standing proud above the shores of Lake Wakatipu, with views of the majestic Remarkables Mountain Range. The main lodge building holds leisure facilities, bar and restaurant which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property also features a secure ski and snowboard storage area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Skiing
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Facial treatments
Massage
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
VIP room facilities
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese

Location

91 Fernhill Rd, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
Heritage Queenstown
2314Reviews25Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,073
  • 839
  • 279
  • 77
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Kelly T wrote a review Yesterday
Cincinnati, Ohio26 contributions13 helpful votes
Splurged for the lake view/front room according to the booking. As you can see, technically you can see the lake through the bushes, but it feels like a bait and switch and more of a garden view. Manager was unable/unwilling to move us. Very disappointing.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t bother booking lake view
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
mrnormal wrote a review Feb 2024
United Kingdom88 contributions57 helpful votes
After a long but spectacular drive from Franz Josef we arrived here. The Concierge who checked us in didnt make the best impression, being a bit surly but maybe that was a little to do with not having english as a first language. This made us slightly concerned but the rest of the time the staff were excellent - friendly and helpful. We had a lakeside suite and it was one of the best hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. Massive size ; massive, comfortable bed; kitchen area including hob and dishwasher; sofa, chairs,table and in a large cupboard, a washer/dryer. The bathroom doesnt quite match the rest of the room but its all relative. It has everything you need including a good shower but is slightly dated and lacks room to hang towels and shelf space in general. View to die for over Lake Wakatipu. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was good if the service was a bit slow. Breakfast had plenty of variety and made even better by Mitchell who welcomed us each morning and was very helpful. He was very friendly and a credit to the hotel. The pool/sauna area was clean with lots of towels and a shower area and the gym looked well equipped. The bus goes from outside the hotel - takes 5 minutes and costs NZ$4 per person. Often its the first stop from town on the way back. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and were sad to leave.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sandie o wrote a review Feb 2024
22 contributions
Our room had a balcony and a view of the lake. Room was large, great well equipped bathroom, super comfy bed and spotlessly clean. Lovely pool with plenty of sunbeds and towels, gym and sauna. Underground secure parking - always important. A bit of a walk from the main hub but we preferred the peace and quiet. Can highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you are not fit you would need to either drive or get a taxi down into the town. The hotel is...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
David B wrote a review Feb 2024
29 contributions8 helpful votes
Booked a room at this hotel through an agent over 8 months ago. With 3 days to go before our arrival they contact the agent to say that due to ‘maintenance issues’ they can no longer honour the booking. They had however booked us into another hotel. I looked at the reviews of this hotel and they are awful. I phoned the Heritage and spoke to the Duty Manager who confirmed our booking had been cancelled, but we were being moved to another‘wonderful’ hotel. I asked if she had seen the reviews of this apparent‘wonderful’ hotel, and she hadn’t. The rooms at our new ‘wonderful’ hotel are normally cheaper, probably because the * rating is lower. No mention of any form of refund for the difference, although at such short notice they probably had to pay more. Book the Heritage hotel at your peril.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid booking to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agata Kurdziel, Guest Services / Front Office at Heritage Queenstown
Responded 1 week ago
Morena David, Thank you for your time providing feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience with us. Please note that we did have a maintenance issue that affected some of our rooms in the last 7 days. This is not ideal, we would love to have you stay with us. Unfortunately, this situation was out of our control and our team worked hard to find alternative accommodation at another hotel in Queenstown in these busy times. We would not relocate you to another hotel that is not in a similar category or even higher category as we want you to have a great experience in Queenstown. Note we did not take advantage of the situation by booking you in a cheaper hotel with a difference in rate. Please kindly be advised that we have taken your feedback on board, and we will strive to make improvements accordingly. We hope your next stay in Queenstown will be a pleasant journey and looking forward to welcoming you back. Ngā mihi nui, Agata Kurdziel T.H.E. Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
stevofamily wrote a review Feb 2024
Cremorne, Australia22 contributions17 helpful votes
Attended a conference here and it was very well managed. Easy walk to town and all the staff were lovely. The conference room view was beautiful and was very distracting in a good way. Room had a wonderful view of the lake and mountains. Only criticism was the small gym.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agata Kurdziel, Guest Services / Front Office at Heritage Queenstown
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Stevofamily, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you visit us again soon. Ngā mihi nui, Agata Kurdziel - T.H.E. Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wanderlust wrote a review Jan 2024
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom240 contributions97 helpful votes
Within walking distance of Queenstown if you don't minding walking back up the big hill :o). Buffet style breakfast with something for everyone, although the selection is the same each day. Eggs can be ordered, cooked to your preferred style. Functional and clean hotel, the beds were really comfortable so we slept well. A small balcony with chairs was a nice touch although we weren't fortunate to have a lake view. Perhaps a little dated but fine for a few days.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agata Kurdziel, Guest Services / Front Office at Heritage Queenstown
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora Lovelytotravel, We appreciate your great comments about our breakfast and hotel facilities, we look forward to having you again soon! Nga Mihi, Agata Kurdziel - T.H.E. Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cathryn P wrote a review Jan 2024
Pipers Creek, Australia209 contributions51 helpful votes
Fantastic views, a scenic walk into town clean large rooms plenty of storage the staff are extremely helpful and friendly! We had a lake view room and the view was just stunning, we could have stayed in our room the whole trip. We shall be back thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Agata Kurdziel, Guest Services / Front Office at Heritage Queenstown
Responded 1 week ago
Kia Ora 659cathrynp, Thank you so much for your generous review – you are now part of The Heritage Queenstown story. We hope to see you again soon! Ngā mihi nui, Agata Kurdziel - T.H.E. Rooms Division Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Grazie I wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant, we ordered a sampler, pasta, fish & chips and ribs, and it was a feast, everything on the platter is amazingly delicious and cooked to perfection. I've been to many restaurants during our NZ travel but this was one of the best meals we ever had. We even requested to take a picture with the chefs who made our dinner in Herifage hotel wonderful. Kudos to Chef Wasim, Chef Alvin and Chef Mark.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Try the hotel's restaurant, they have amazing food and great chefs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kevin C wrote a review Jan 2024
Burwash, United Kingdom78 contributions10 helpful votes
We visited with our grown up boys and both had 2 big twin bedrooms . We had a forest room with a side view of the lake. We enjoyed our Christmas Day and evening meal here. Friendly restaurant staff and good views of the lake with after dinner drinks. Good Otago wine on tap. Short walk to Queenstown which is stunning! Memorable!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
STCGeorge wrote a review Jan 2024
Wigan, United Kingdom69 contributions28 helpful votes
We stayed at The Heritage for two nights, and we couldn’t fault it. It is on a local bus route, so no need for a car or taxis. The food both at breakfast and evening meal was just right. We would recommend it. The evening chefs, Wilson, Jusin and Ben deserve special mention, as the evening meal we had was wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is free on site.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Queenstown area.
PRICE RANGE
$210 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
heritage queenstown hotel queenstown, heritage hotel queenstown, queenstown heritage hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
175
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HERITAGE QUEENSTOWN - Now $218 (Was $̶2̶7̶8̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Heritage Queenstown
Which popular attractions are close to Heritage Queenstown?
Nearby attractions include One Mile Power House (1.1 km), Remarkables Look Out Seat (1.1 km), and Saint Omer Park (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Heritage Queenstown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Heritage Queenstown?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Heritage Queenstown?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Heritage Queenstown?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Heritage Queenstown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nest Kitchen + Bar, Lombardi, and MacKenzies Restaurant @ The Heritage Hotel Queenstown.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Heritage Queenstown?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Heritage Queenstown?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Heritage Queenstown offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Heritage Queenstown?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to Heritage Queenstown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (1.6 km) and One Mile Power House (1.1 km).