Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Aspen Lodge Backpackers

common room (in private room side)
Traveller (5)
Queenstown's coziest!
Room & Suite (7)
Lodge Lounge
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#9 of 20 hostels in Queenstown
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Aspen Lodge Backpackers offers clean, comfortable accommodation in a warm friendly environment. Situated in the heart of Queenstown we are ideally located for supermarket, shops and bustling nightlife.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

11 Gorge Road, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
155Reviews1Q+A23Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 39
  • 22
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ros wrote a review Sept 2012
Alameda, California134 contributions91 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed for one night at the Aspen Lodge at the tail-end of a long road trip down South Island's west coast. As we were looking for a little comfort while not breaking the bank, we selected a private double room, which to our surprise was more like a private apartment, than a room at a hostel.

The private rooms are actually separate from the main building, which contains the dorms and common areas. While concealed from the road, they have their own driveway, which means you can bypass the hostel part of Aspen Lodge altogether as you come and go. As a result, there's no worry about disturbing anyone at night. The town centre itself is only 5mins away by foot.

While fairly spartan, the room itself was clean, modern, warm and featured a well-equipped kitchenette. We slept incredibly well the night we were there, with no street or neighbour noise. It would have been fabulous place for a longer stay.

While we didn't have much to ask from the staff, we found them to be very friendly. At check-out, they helped direct us to the airport bus stop and we departed with a warm impression of the place.

Overall, we'd highly recommend Aspen Lodge for those seeking no frills, private accommodation. A better welcome to Queenstown couldn't be found at places costing twice the price.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kazae2017 wrote a review Sept 2016
Motueka, New Zealand6 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 5 nights with my 16 year old daughter and 2 friends.
Paid $25 each a night.
Facilities great and clean!! Within walking distance to everything, wifi and off street parking.
Great for travelling on a budget or just wanting value for money.
Def recommend A+++ 😀
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ianstygall wrote a review Mar 2016
Market Deeping, United Kingdom23 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
At the tender age of 47 and my first time back packing I was a little apprehensive at the whole scenario , as always done hotels. This experience as made me regret not doing it sooner .
Yes I stayed in a room on my own (if only to spare others my snoring !!)
The room was spotlessly clean, as was the shared toilet /shower. And very spacious lounge kitchen area above with free tea and coffee , and plenty of utensils if you wanted to cook . Excellent value for money . Oh and the staff could not be more helpful , nearly an hour trying to arrange me some alternative accommodation due to fully booked !
Many thanks , for all your help and advise.
Ian. Converted back packer ;-)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Capricorn140 wrote a review Mar 2020
Sheffield, United Kingdom54 contributions40 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic location so could walk into town. Car parking was a bit challenging as there is very limited space. The room was small and basic with good kitchen facilities. We had a room with a private bathroom and toilet which was great.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rebecca H wrote a review May 2018
France9 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I travel to Queenstown 6-7 times a year and generally I stay at a fantastic backpackers called Southern Laughter - but due to booking last minute this was all I could get. The room that we were booked into had two long-term stayers and was filthy. There was dirty clothing every where and food under the beds. The kitchen was dirty with dishes every where. I am not a fussy traveller (clearly as I stay in backpackers) but this backpackers was well below the standard I've come across in NZ And abroad. The worst of it was that overnight I was bitten by fleas that were in the bed all over my feet and my ankles. I have never ever experienced this in a backpackers in NZ. I spoke to the office about it who put me on the phone to the manager/owner. The owner tried to tell me that there are lots of sandflies around Queenstown! What a joke! I travel to Queenstown all the time and you do not get bitten by sandflies in the CBD. We left and spent our second night at Base Backpackers in an 8 bed dorm which was way cleaner! They did not refund us for the night already spent. Iwas appalled that no refund was offered. I would never stay here again and I do not recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AspenLodgeBackpacker, Manager at Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Responded 22 Jul 2018
Hi Rebecca Thank you for your review. I do remember your booking as it was I, that spoke to you on the phone. We did refund you for your night that you stayed. As for the bites, we are sprayed by All Pest and have a 12 month guarantee for our beds to be clear of bedbugs etc. We called them in to check the room and no evidence of any pest was found. I can only put it down to the sand flies with zero evidence in the room of anything else. It is a share room and obviously, I can only apologise on behalf of other guests leaving a mess as we clean daily but we are unable to meddle with guests belongings.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
tropimyprzygody wrote a review Jun 2017
69 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was ok, nothing special but fine, internet ok, kitchen fine as well. Decent price + 2 showers in a bunk beds room! Lady from the reception was superb, The only thing which was really not fine in the end was a behaviour of manager/owner? of the place. We checked out but needed to wait 2 hours for transportation. We stayed in common area (only 2 ppl where there in quite large room with lots of places to sit) which is always normal and cool in any hostel who understand the ppl travelling from one place to another.
But the guy approched us saying that "it is completely not fine staying here after check out cause we're using the space dedicated to guests" even there was almost no one there. We just stayed 4 nights in this places, needed to rooth above our hads for 2 hours. In the end he said we can eceptionally stay, but we took our bag and went to bus stop. It's better to stay outside than in such unpleasent place. Shame you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jehan wrote a review Jun 2015
Los Angeles, California12 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My friend and I stayed here for a week in February and couldn't have asked for a better experience! It was more personalized than staying at one of the larger hostels and everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, including Dan who was fantastic. Very funny guy and he had a lot of great recommendations for us of what to do & what not to do in the city. Definitely made our stay more enjoyable (thanks Dan!)

We were in one of the private rooms with a shared bathroom and it felt like being at a hotel for just a fraction of the price. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were regularly cleaned. The hostel is only about a 5 minute walk to the city center which was great! Close enough to all the action without the noise of it :) If you rent a car, there is plenty of parking across the street. WiFi is not included but it's pretty cheap if you're there for a few days or more to do the weekly rate. The kitchen/lounge area is spacious as well and there's always someone cooking or hanging out if you're looking to meet new people. We booked our activities through the hostel too which was very easy!

I met a lot of people who were staying at Aspen for some time and then relocating to Base or Nomads... needless to say they were all very bummed about leaving, as were we!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
marleyhendrix wrote a review Nov 2014
5 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would recommend anyone who is visiting Queenstown to stay here. Friendly, welcoming and exceptionally comfortable - really comfy beds and lounge areas! Most rooms are ensuite too so they have their own toilet and shower, this is always a bonus.
Really great value for money, given all that you get, I was suprised that it wasn't more expensive, it's even more good value if you have BBH card as it is a BBH hostel - I would urge anyone to get a BBH card, you save so much money with one.
Awesome location too, only just over 5 minutes from the centre of Queenstown, close to bus station, supermarkets etc. Also close to all of the brilliant walks, opposite the skyline gondola.
Fantastic hostel
Read more
Date of stay: November 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hiphopapotomous wrote a review Mar 2014
Auckland Central, New Zealand21 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Came back for a third time to Aspen Lodge. We also tried other backpacker options on other nights that will also be reviewed. But suffice to say Aspen will win hands down for the friendly staff and clean and tidy facility.

We booked a twin room with shared bathroom. The sharing was with only one other room so was never an issue (unlike having to share with 25 rooms at another more expensive facility I will also review)

Our room was spacious and very tidy. The shared dining area was tidy and well equipped. The staff are always obliging and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2014Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PropMonkey wrote a review Jun 2012
30 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We only stayed here for one night in July 2011 and booked at the last minute (stranded in QT due to the airport being closed). We chose it based on the reviews here, and they didn't steer us wrong - it's a genuinely nice place to stay.

The location is great if you're after somewhere quiet - it's just outside the centre of town, away from all the noise, but only a short walk into town. The rooms are simple, clean and warm, and the beds are fairly comfy. The two kitchens are well equipped, and there's plenty of space to store food. The staff at reception were lovely, and since there were three of us travelling together she gave us a 4-bed dorm room to ourselves, which was really nice. There are two common rooms in the main building - one has several computers for guest use and is designated as a quiet room, which is a nice touch. The main common room has a lovely open fire and comfy couches, and is a great spot to hang out and chat with other travellers. It's also got a small balcony with a great view of the mountains - the perfect spot to enjoy a couple of drinks when the sun hits it in the afternoon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Queenstown area.
PRICE RANGE
$102 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
aspen lodge backpackers hotel queenstown
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ASPEN LODGE BACKPACKERS - Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison (Queenstown) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Which popular attractions are close to Aspen Lodge Backpackers?
Nearby attractions include iFLY Indoor Skydiving Queenstown (0.4 km), Escape Quest Queenstown (0.4 km), and Browns Ski Shop (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Aspen Lodge Backpackers?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
Is parking available at Aspen Lodge Backpackers?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Aspen Lodge Backpackers?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo Brazilian BBQ Experience, Bella Cucina, and Tatsumi.
Is Aspen Lodge Backpackers located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Queenstown.
Are there any historical sites close to Aspen Lodge Backpackers?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (0.5 km) and One Mile Power House (0.8 km).
All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in QueenstownHotels near Aspen Lodge Backpackers
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire