We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences

Save
Share
377 Frankton Road Lake Wakatipu, Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
US$160
View deal
Free cancellation until 14/06/22
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Traveluro
eDreams
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1428)
360
Panoramas (12)
Room & Suite (1102)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 04/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Updated 04/01/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#17 of 68 in Queenstown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Rees Hotel Queenstown is a sophisticated five-star hotel situated right on the shores of Lake Wakatipu, in the South Island of New Zealand. The Rees offers a variety of spacious and luxurious accommodation options including 60 Hotel rooms, 90 Apartments and five private, 3 bedroom/ 3 bathroom Lakeside Residences, all with terraces, showcasing spectacular views across Lake Wakatipu to the alpine panorama of the Remarkable Mountain range.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Car park
Wifi
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Ski rentals
Skiing
Patio
Highchairs available
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Makeup services
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Minibar
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Radio
iPod docking station
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French, Chinese, Dutch and 7 more
2637Reviews47Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,834
  • 545
  • 161
  • 59
  • 38
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Eor O wrote a review Apr 2022
Auckland, New Zealand255 contributions75 helpful votes
This hotel has excellent location and amenities, great secure parking and a shuttle that can take you to or pick you up from the centre of town hourly. Be sure to book the lake view rooms because they are stunning.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Roman Lee-Lo, Other at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 2 weeks ago
Kia Ora, Many thanks for your kind words and we are glad you found the hotel superbly comfortable. We look forward to being of service in future. Kind regards, Roman Lee-Lo Hotel Manager
Read more
kim wrote a review Feb 2022
7 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We really enjoyed our stay at the Rees. Was meant to be 2 nights but we added a third as we decided our other accom option we had booked would be disappointing in comparison! Room was well appointed, bathroom was spacious, clean and the spa bath was an added bonus. Turn down service includes the most delicious chocolates too! Wifi worked well as did the TV and in room tablet that gave you all the hotel info. We stayed in an Executive Lake View room, which is a mezzanine style (up some stairs) on level 7 (the top level) so our super large balcony gave us great views. Yes it wasn’t a direct view as you look into the roof below, but we really liked the space the room gave us and it also meant we had more privacy. The balcony on ours and the room itself are much bigger than the lake view hotel rooms. Free parking in covered garaging below and also a Tesla charging station which came in handy for our rental. Breakfast was included in our rate, was a limited menu you selected from (due to Covid I suspect) and it was good too. All the staff (reception, restaurant to house keeping) we came across were fantastic - nothing was an issue - but a big shoutout to the man Jimmy who was ever so pleasant and showed us the other room type we were considering changing to (a Lake view hotel room, decided we liked the Exec room better!). It’s people like Jimmy that keep you coming back! We will be back and highly recommend the Rees to those that are looking at options in Queenstown. Yes it may be a bit pricier - but you get what you pay for in our opinion. Something to note: It is a few minutes drive from the main center which wasn’t an issue for us as we had a car, but they offer a shuttle service hourly which really makes things easy. On previous trips without a car we’ve stayed closer to town at the QT so we could walk in, but even if we didn’t have a rental next time we would stay at the Rees as the rooms and staff were that good, and the fact that you can still get into and out of town via the shuttle makes being a few mins drive out not a problem. They also have free guest laundry - 2 washing machines and 2 dryers for your use (free) which was handy as we had been away for close to a week. When you factor in breakfast, laundry services and parking, that is all included in the rate, we felt it was great value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: ▪️Free shuttle on the hour in and out of town ▪️Executive Lake view room was great ▪️Free parking...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Roman Lee-Lo, Other at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 20 Feb 2022
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our team will be delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay and that you will highly recommend the hotel. We look forward to being of service in the near future. Kind regards, Roman Lee-Lo Director of Operations
Read more
Honesttraveler813 wrote a review Jan 2022
10 contributions3 helpful votes
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Rees. We stayed a two bedroom two bathroom full kitchen room with a large private balcony. The rooms were clean, had a great view, and even a fireplace. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom had a heated towel rack. While it is slightly out of town, this helps to keep the noise down, and the free shuttle service is an easy way to access the town. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and helped us book many wonderful activities. A great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: The staff will help you, just ask + make use of the shuttle service
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Roman Lee-Lo, Other at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 30 Jan 2022
Kia Ora, Many thanks for your kind words. We are pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to being service in the future. Kind regards, Roman
Read more
Des D wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions1 helpful vote
Great service and nice staff. Great location and all the amenities were great. We had a 3 bedroom apartment and the master bedroom was very spacious. Other 2 bedrooms were adequate. Was welcomed and greeted by Sebastian - gave us great service so well done mate!. Only real but a big let down and disappointment was no air conditioning and we needed it - the fans provided is a bit tacky for a hotel of this quality. I'm sure other accommodations down the road at a far cheaper rate would have air-conditioning.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: our 3 bedroom apartment had fabulous views over the lake, including the view from the spa-bath!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Roman Lee-Lo, Other at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 3 Jan 2022
Kia Ora, Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay. Air-conditioning is currently being installed across the hotel, however we are awaiting all units to arrive out of Japan. We apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Kind regards, Roman Lee-Lo Director of Operations
Read more
Sue K wrote a review Dec 2021
Wellington, Ne4 contributions
Incredibly rude manager who cast dispersions on my character which were completely inaccurate and refused to apologise, Have spent a lot of money at this facility in the last year, supporting the South during difficult times and did not ever expect to be treated with so much disrespect. Would not stay in this establishment again if they feel it is acceptable to treat regular guests this way.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Roman Lee-Lo, Other at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Responded 11 Dec 2021
Hi Sue I shouldn't be surprised that you would leave a review even though you didn't stay with us on this occasion and given that when you have stayed with us in the past you have been nothing but complimentary! Just so that everyone is aware: 1. The NZ Govt has mandated that all guests to hospitality venues must be double vaccinated. We are both a hotel and a hospitality venue. 2. The card you emailed us stating that you are part of a worldwide control group study and that you can't be vaccinated can be purchased on the internet - the trial is not recognised by any govt authority anywhere in the world including the MOH in New Zealand. https://www.reuters.com/article/factcheck-coronavirus-vaccine-idUSL1N2P31VF 3. Of the thousands of pre arrival emails we have sent you are the only person who has either not understood or made such a fuss about us adhering to government directives. 4. We have received emails of support with many of them stating that they would not stay in our hotel with unvaccinated people. 5. Many of our international travel agents have told us that they will pull all business from our hotel once the borders open if we cannot guarantee that all people in our hotel are double vaccinated. Have a lovely Christmas Sue. Kind regards Mark Rose CE
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$162 - US$334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the rees hotel and luxury apartments, rees hotel queenstown, the rees hotel luxury apartments
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
155
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences
Which popular attractions are close to The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Nearby attractions include Skyline Queenstown (3.1 km), Break One (3.0 km), and iFLY Queenstown (2.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo Brazilian BBQ Experience, Blue Kanu, and Margo's Queenstown.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre, fitness classes, and yoga classes during their stay.
Does The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences have airport transportation?
Yes, The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Rees Hotel, Luxury Apartments and Lakeside Residences offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.