We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (581)
360
Panoramas (3)
Room & Suite (390)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#30 of 66 hotels in Queenstown
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Gold level
Travellers' Choice(R) 2015 Winner - Voted #3 in New Zealand. Relax in style and soak up the spectacular views of Lake Wakatipu and The Remarkables in our 1 or 2 bedroom spacious, self-contained or serviced Apartments. Each Apartment has an open plan lounge, dining and full kitchen facilities, gas fire, under-floor heating, Sky TV, ensuite bathroom with shared laundry amenities. A separate office area with computer/printer/fax. Our Studio Rooms are similar to small hotel rooms with kitchenette and ensuite bathroom (NO Views). Facilities include FREE unlimited Wi-Fi Internet and FREE local calls. Complimentary secure under cover Car Park with Ski/Golf Locker, BBQ area and outside Spa Pool. We also have a "Pet Friendly" Apartment. Sleeping configuration King Beds. Single beds can be requested at the time of your booking. Just a 10 min walk to Queenstown town centre and approx 20 min drive to the ski fields makes these beautifully appointed Apartments a must for your stay.Enquire about special seasonal rates and tempting promotional offers, and at Pounamu Apartments, be assured of a warm, welcoming visit to this 'Remarkable' region.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Bicycle rental
Skiing
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Clothes dryer
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Clothes rack
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Whirlpool bathtub
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mountain View
Languages Spoken
English
1689Reviews18Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,080
  • 352
  • 132
  • 67
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Adventure34786509113 wrote a review Feb 2024
1 contribution
Be very careful when booking here. We paid $300 a night for a deluxe room. This room was the second bedroom of an apartment of which others were staying in. Those in the apartment were really noisy. The room was small, it was pretty worn. For the price to be sharing where someone else is in the apartment is ridiculous. I would recommend checking what type of room and where it is when you book. Not value for money at all - in fact a rip off!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Way too expensive for what you get
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
TMM818 wrote a review Dec 2023
Bunbury, Australia826 contributions90 helpful votes
We loved the Swiss Belsuites. Perfect distance from airport, bus stops and a nice 10min walk into town (chose your streets there and back to avoid the big hills!). On arrival we were greeted with big smiles and Ruth (hopefully I remember right) and the ladies advised we had received a room upgrade! Well, it was fantastic, big room with full kitchen and the view to match. We couldn't have been happier. Continental breakfast supplied was also lovely. We will stay again, hopefully next year.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book in advance to use the spa. The walk into town is great too.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
lostinlosa wrote a review Dec 2023
Los Angeles, California13 contributions1 helpful vote
This place would be perfect for many people, but it wasn't exactly what we were expecting. This would be perfect for people on a ski trip and those who value functionality most. Here are the plusses and minuses: 1. We upgraded to a lake view, which was very nice - with a huge 2 floor picture window and a small deck. The room was spacious and the bedroom area was more than adequate, with plenty of built-in shelving. Good lighting. 2. The kitchen was pretty complete, with a full-sized refrigerator. You could save money on dinners by cooking a complete meal there. 3. Continental breakfast provisions were provided in the room by the staff, and they refilled anything that we ran out of or wanted more of. 4. The staff were friendly and happy to accommodate requests. 5. The laundry machines were right next to the room and were a very welcome perk. Possible minuses: 1. The room has had some hard use and is a bit frayed around the edges (e.g., the rug in the living room and curtain over the picture window were a little shabby). The chain that opens and closes the curtain simply snapped and came off in my hand, and that required a maintenance person to repair since it was two stories tall. Some people will find these kinds of things a big concern, others may not. 2. Know that the staff are not going to clean your room while you're there. They don't vacuum or dust. They clean the bathroom, replace towels and toiletries that need replacing, and restock the breakfast items. That's about it. Again, some guests may be fine with that, especially if their stay is short, but know what you're getting. 3. The office staff neglected to tell us about a problem with the city water system, which was contaminated while we were there. You weren't supposed to drink tap water, which we did not find out about until a waiter at a local restaurant told us about it. The staff member who checked us in had forgotten to mention the problem, and apparently there was supposed to be a notice in the room but it was not there and nobody brought a new one to the room during our stay. The water problem is not the hotel's fault but they dropped the ball in telling us about it and they did not provide bottled water to guests. We found it annoying that the office staff contacted us multiple times about upgrading the room but never mentioned the water problem at any point. 4. The location was good but not perfect. It was possible to walk to the downtown area (where most of the best restaurants are found) but we always drove there. But it's still relatively central and easy to get to groceries, other shopping, and nearby restaurants that are not in downtown.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wendy C wrote a review Nov 2023
Scoresby, Australia44 contributions8 helpful votes
The most over priced and over rated accommodation I have ever stayed in. Whoever name rooms here "delux" needs to be given a dictionary to look up the meaning of the word. I think there a prison cells bigger than the room we had. It was small and claustrophobic. Need to have the air conditioner on to circulate air but that blows directly on the bed. We booked a room with a bath but the bath was no more than a cattle trough and too small to lie in and totally uncomfortable. With the shower over the bath, the hob is too high for anyone with mobility issues and is dangerous to get in and out of. Even if it had been comfortable, we couldn't have a bath or a shower on the day we arrived as there was no hot water. Reception was so far away that you needed to drive to get to it. There are no phones in the room to call reception so only way to contact is by mobile phone. We had to make multiple calls about the lack of hot water and just go excuses, never an apology. Room was advertised as having garden views and as photo attached shows, clearly no garden. We have just finished our trip to NZ and stayed in multiple accommodation. All were more comfortable, had better facilities and were cheaper than this place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
plwhitty1 wrote a review Oct 2023
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions
My husband I stayed at Swiss Belsuites Pounamu for 1 week in September. I was reluctant to go after reading the reviews on Tripadviser but I have to say our Lakeview Super Suite Apartment was fabulous. Every morning waking up to the view of lake, mountains and the Queenstown Golf Club was amazing. There is a main road out the front but you cannot hear the traffic inside the apartment. I would take the view anyday. The apartment was super clean and had everything you could ask for. The shower was great and we shared a laundry with the room next door which was not a problem. Our apartment was serviced every day in which they replenished coffee, laundry powder, dishwasher detergent, toilet paper etc. (We booked through Luxury Escapes and I don't think having the room serviced was included in our package, so we were lucky.) I think some of the apartments are owned individually so not all apartments are of the same standard. We plan on returning in the near future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: It is about a ten minute walk into town and quite a hill to walk back. There is also 2 1/2...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager SSPQ, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Responded 12 Oct 2023
Thank you for the amazing review! hope we will see you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kerynfoth wrote a review Oct 2023
New Plymouth, New Zealand6 contributions3 helpful votes
We should have known this was not 5 star accommodation once we saw people being escorted off the property by police as we arrived. Upon inspection of our room there was a distinctly Smokey/stale smell. Later we discovered the televisions and toaster were not working and the shower heads had to be held while showering or else they would fly around in all directions (not to mention the gross shower curtains)As we settled for the night we also discovered the loud noise we could hear was a hot water cylinder refilling in our room which did not make sleep come easily. Early the next day after discussing issues with reception, we were promised that the room would be deep cleaned and the tv and toaster fixed. Upon returning to our room we found nothing had been touched apart from the shower curtain which had been removed and hidden in the washing machine. And just to really to top things off, just before we left, the dryer in the room completely ripped the sleeve off of my daughters fav top. Definitely not 5 star accomodation in any way and will not be returning!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Assistant Manager SSPQ, Guest Services / Front Office at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Responded 12 Oct 2023
Thank you for your review. we sincerely apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Regarding the police presence onsite this was separate issue not directly related to the hotel. your comments have been passed along to our Housekeeping manager in relation to the room cleanliness and subsequent issues on this being rectified when our reception team passed this along after your visit to reception. there is a note on the washer in the room that says it is a washing machine only and not a dryer.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Siv H wrote a review Aug 2023
Oslo, Norway58 contributions35 helpful votes
I booked this through Agoda and it was presented as much more than what it is both from the price point and images. The images makes it look much bigger than what it is and it was presented as the price is 1000 NZD, but was discounted for the booking. To be honest the room I had, which was a superior room where images presented made it look big, was nothing more than a hotel room with a small sink and a microwave. There are two and two units with a common door in to a shared hall. What I didn’t like was all the noise from the room next door; As I went to bed it was a lot noice from the bathroom next door, I could hear them showering, go to the toilet etc. Very poor insulation between the rooms. I have been traveling for several days and was looking forward to sleeping in this Sunday morning, grateful that the check out was not until 11:00. At 05 I’m woken up by the next door neighbor, using the bathroom. I manage to fall back asleep when they are finished, only to be awaken before 08 when they are leaving. They are going in and out a few times and finally they left. Phew! I turn over in bed and try to sleep a little more. Then I’m abruptly awaken again at 09 by the cleaners, who seem to be trying to scramble cutlery and glasses/cups together in a way that makes as much noise as possible (!) The cleaner have the door to the room next door wide open and seems to have no consideration for the other room with the shared hall. So much for sleeping in on a Sunday. I had intended to sit in the reception area and do a bit of work after checking out, but this place doesn’t have a reception area. It is basically an apartment complex and they use one apartment as reception. It might be nice if you take one of the bigger units and want self service, but if you’re after a nice hotel room this is not the place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jisela wrote a review Jul 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand6 contributions1 helpful vote
There’s a reason they highlight the words “non refundable” when booking. False advertisement at its finest. Dirty utensils, dirty walls, breakfast in a box ?! Cramped rooms (booked 3 separate rooms with fam, all were in same condition). Hard to access rooms esp when with big luggages (which is always the case because!). I dont like leaving bad reviews but I need to warn others of this place
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have also addressed your same review on Google
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Flemo72 wrote a review Jun 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand43 contributions7 helpful votes
The view across the lake to The Remarkables was amazing. Easy carparking - important in Qtown, however our room would not have been suitable for anyone who finds stairs a problem. The room set up was excellent and we enjoyed having a gas fire. Staff were friendly. We had a suite and enjoyed seperate lounge/bedroom. A small shub/shower meant a bath could be had by one. A brisk 15min walk to CBD. 6th trip to Qtown in 2 years and I would come back to Pounamu
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Responded 8 Jun 2023
Thank you for your amazing review Flemo72! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we agree the views are Remarkable!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elise974 wrote a review May 2023
Sydney, Australia63 contributions50 helpful votes
1. Location: It's convenient and great if you don't have a car as it's only 10 mins away from the city centre. There is a bus stop to go to the airport and city just next to the hotel. There's the Queenstown Trail track just down the road if you wish to have a pleasant walk along the lake. 2. Service: The guy who did our check-in did it like he was repeating a song that he was fed up with singing. Good for those in a hurry who like express check-in with 0 personalization or care but that was NOT a 5* check-in. 3. Room: Booked a standard room on Luxury Escapes, but I don't think the hotel should be on this "high standard" booking platform. Our room was on the ground floor, so everybody could see us and our belongings. The room was old and small. We had very little room left being 2 people with 2 big luggages. One of the two glasses in the bathroom was still dirty from the previous guests. The blinds didn't work properly and we had to find tricks to close them so people wouldn't see us get changed or sleep! Your sleep might get disturbed if passersby are loud and drunk lol. The washing machine was literally just in front of our room door (a thin door) and woke us up super early one morning. The TV didn't work. Big lack of plugs outlets. Overall, if you're planning on spending the entire day outside and getting back to the room just for sleep then you're fine but don't expect anything fancy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring a multi socket or ask one to the reception
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Queenstown area.
PRICE RANGE
$231 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
pounamu apartments queenstown, pounamu apartments hotel queenstown
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Pounamu Apartments
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionQueenstown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SWISS-BELSUITES POUNAMU QUEENSTOWN - Now $179 (Was $̶3̶0̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown
Which popular attractions are close to Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown?
Nearby attractions include Escape Quest Queenstown (1.2 km), Browns Ski Shop (1.2 km), and Lake Wakatipu (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fogo Brazilian BBQ Experience, Perky's - Floating Bar Queenstown, and Tatsumi.
Is Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Queenstown.
Are any cleaning services offered at Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Vesta Design Boutique (0.9 km) and One Mile Power House (1.5 km).
Does Swiss-Belsuites Pounamu Queenstown have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.