We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Milford Sound Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford Sound
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

915 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 855: English reviews
Start your review of Milford Sound Lodge
 Click to rate
Duluth, Georgia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Best (and only real) local option for Milford Sound visit. Great location to soak up the sights and nature, while avoiding a 2-hour journey in from Te Anau before your cruise/trekking. Staff was friendly and restaurant was good...but call ahead of time to set a dinner reservation if you don't want to eat at 8PM or later. We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank J S
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there - a big thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're very lucky to be able to host guests in such a remote location, but weather can make some services tricky sometimes. Sorry to hear your Satellite TV had been affected by lightning. We try to have everything repaired as fast as possible,...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My friends and I stayed at Milford Sound Lodge during our trip to NZ. The lodge has a great location with amazing views and you can walk to the kayaking tour departure point (we went through Roscoe's). In the dorm room we had it had four bunks. The sheets were clean and the bedding comfortable to keep you warm during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank globaladventures2017
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Milford Lodge and we're glad you enjoyed our backpacker-style dorm facilities. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand!

Idleyld Park, Oregon
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent 2 nights in a backpackers room and was looking forward to using the community kitchen available in a separate building. Well, we boiled every pot, pan, and silverware and went to the restaurant on the second night. This is a unique opportunity and only wished for all to respect others in regards to cleaning up after themselves in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for reviewing your experience at Milford Lodge. We've passed your comments regarding the communal kitchen on to our staff. Great to hear you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. Kind Regards.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

What a pristine location! They used the space well and have a great range of accommodation from camper van to cabins. The restaurant was wonderful and the staff were all so lovely and keen for a chat. Very nice that they supplied insect repellent too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank estheranntripp
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review

A big thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Milford Lodge. We're very fortunate to be able to offer accommodation in such a remote, beautiful place. We hope you had a great time during the rest of your New Zealand vacation.

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If there is one thing you need to do whilst in New Zealand is stay in a riverside chalet at the Milford Sound Lodge. The rain lashed down outside but to sit looking out of a picture window at the mountain opposite whilst waterfalls sprung up and gushed down to the river below was amazing. Chalet was excellently appointed, warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meljcook1
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there - we're so glad you had a lovely time in your Riverside Chalet! The bed and boat package really does offer a fantastic Milford experience. We agree - Milford is such a special place, there's no need to rush off; spending a night or two does offer a more relaxed experience.

xx
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We flew in to Milford Sound, from Wanaka, with Aspiring Helicopters. This absolutely incredible journey, over the mountains and through some of the most spectacular scenery in the world, was a fantastic precursor to our visit to the amazing Milford Sound, and the Lodge. The courtesy minibus, driven by the lovely Lauren, was waiting at the tiny airstrip to whisk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichaelDonkin
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there - it sounds you had a fantastic Milford experience! Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay at Milford Lodge. We've passed your kind comments about our staff on to the team. Great to hear you would like to return again one day. There are number of beautiful day walks dotted along the Milford Road...

Biliran Island, Philippines
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying at the Milford Sound Lodge was an exceptionally beautiful experience. We stayed in one of the six lodges that open up to waterfalls meeting the running river below making this a very memorable & special place to visit... the lodge itself was spacious & extremely comfortable... the wall size window to the mountain/outdoors allows the beauty of this location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NellyGurl01
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review

A big thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're so glad you enjoyed your time in one of our Riverside Chalets.

Los Altos, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

How do you avoid the crowds at Milford Sound? Stay at the lodge. This is the only lodging inside of the park. On our drive out we counted 48 tour busses headed into the Sound. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. What is harder to quantify is the spectacular view from the rooms. We had a double sliding glass...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChessHiker
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review

We definitely agree - staying overnight offers a more relaxed, authentic Milford Sound experience than rushing in for a day. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Milford Lodge.

Buckfastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our intention was to stay here for 1 night before and 2 nights after the Milford Track, but due to the weather we cancelled the Track and had a 2nd night here. Our first night private room was basic but OK. Bed comfortable enough, radiator worked so enough heat. The only place we could get for our unplanned / unbooked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PipPaul W
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Milford Lodge. We've taken your thoughts on the single power outlet into account. We've also passed your comments regarding the communal kitchen on to our team and are looking at ways to improve these elements. Glad to hear our reception staff were so helpful in rearranging your bookings....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Milford Sound Lodge is fantastic. I stayed in one of the riverfront lodges. They are very modern, spacious and have great views of the river and surrounding mountains and waterfalls. The lodge staff are very friendly and their is a great restaurant/dining room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samuel H
MilfordLodgeManager, Manager at Milford Sound Lodge, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Milford Lodge - a big thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us.

408 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (388)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
0:19
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (133)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford Sound
37.4 km away
Kinloch Lodge
Kinloch Lodge
#2 of 5 in Glenorchy
242 reviews
38.9 km away
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
Glenorchy Peaks B&B
#1 of 5 in Glenorchy
61 reviews
40.2 km away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#4 of 5 in Glenorchy
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.0 km away
Glenorchy Lake House
Glenorchy Lake House
#3 of 5 in Glenorchy
57 reviews
0.0 km away
Fiordland National Park Lodge
0.0 km away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#8 of 58 in Wanaka
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is simply not possible to fully experience Milford Sound in a day trip... Stay in Milford to enjoy its pure beauty after the day tripping crowds leave and before they arrive. Just 5 minutes drive from Milford Sound cruise boats, Milford Sound Lodge is ideally located. With picture perfect views of the Cleddau River and surrounding mountains, activity bookings on site, and a cafe and a shop, you won’t find a better base for your time in Fiordland. Choose accommodation that suits your needs – from award winning Luxury Riverside Chalets to cosy private and dormitory backpacking rooms and powered campervan and tent sites – and let our friendly staff help you make the most of your time in this World Heritage site.There is so much to do: kayaking, diving, boat cruises and sightseeing, or relaxing and soaking in the beauty of your surroundings. You won’t regret treating yourself to an overnight stay in Milford Sound.Pre booking is essential Nov - March and year round for our Riverside Chalets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Milford Sound Lodge

Address: State Highway 94, Milford Sound 9640, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Milford Sound
Price Range: $18 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Milford Sound Hotel Milford Sound
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Milford Sound Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Milford Sound Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“#18 was a corner and away from the bathroom traffic. Show up early to request.”
  • #18 coner room
  • Great view from the porch
 of 5 bubbles 572BillB572, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“There is a very wide range of accommodation options, from budget to luxury”
  • A view of Mitre Peak & Milford Sound
  • A view from our chalet
  • A view from our chalet
 of 5 bubbles MichaelDonkin, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The Riverside chalets are a good, if expensive, bet here”
 of 5 bubbles jerryskc, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Last River View Chalet on apex of riverbank (Number 8 or 6?) has the best views.”
  • View from River View Chalet - amazing!
 of 5 bubbles Jwatts87, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“They have campground, bunk-rooms and luxury cabins.”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5